We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Always enjoy staying here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Forest Dunes Resort
Ranked #41 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is my 20th or so trip to Forest Dunes while staying in Myrtle Beach. Once again, I enjoyed it greatly and was very happy with the apt/condo I stayed in. The big improvement is a 50 or so inch HDTV in the living room area. I took a chance and brought my Blu-Ray DVD player and now there is a TV for which it can be used. You also have to bring your HDMI cable to utilize it.
The full kitchen is a big selling point for these units and most include a plastic drink container even though I continue to bring one. This unit had a microwave, toaster, and dishwasher, all of which I was grateful to have available.
I ran into a small problem with the wi-fi. I called the desk and they gave a phone # to call a help desk. There was no response from this outfit even though I left a message on a Monday afternoon. I was able to resolve the problem by first using Internet Explorer instead of Google Chrome as I normally do on my laptop. Basically, you connect to the wireless for Forest Dunes but then must start up IE to get the internet access. It worked fine every time I started that way. I was puzzled since my IPhone was connecting effortlessly.
I also recommend the Flamingo Grill for one night's dining. I go there every time I go to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 712 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have stayed here for the past 4 visits to Myrtle Beach. I find every room I have stayed in has been great. The 3 bedroom is really spacious with a master bedroom w/king bed, 2nd bedrm with queen bed, 3rd bedrm w/twin beds. Great kitchen area and spacious living room area with balcony. The pool area is great in location with the fitness room, hot tub and lazy river. The balcony from the room will overlook the ocean if oceanfront room, and oceanview will will have a view of the ocean at an angle. The 1 bedrm unit also has 1 1/2 bath which is great. The only dislike was in the 1 bedrm oceanview, the bedroom is at the front entry door and the window looks onto the front walkway entry balcony, so you have to keep the curtains drawn for privacy. The oceanfront room design is differant. The bedrrom overlooks the ocean. This has and will always be my 1st choice in my visits to Myrtle Beach. The location is away from the hub of action and a more quite area with the beach a short walk across the street. You will need a car to get around if you plan to venture out. It is in a great location for a more relaxed laid back stay. You are close to Kings Hwy which will take you to Restaurant Row and shopping at the Mall and Outlet Mall. I will be going there this October and already have my reservation. Forest Dunes Here I Come!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveling1mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We decided to take a last minute vacation before school starts back for our kids and my husband starts medical school. We found Forrest Dunes on-line and the prices were definitely right and with an ocean view even better. When we checked in we were greeted with a very friendly and helpful staff. We went up to our room 602 and we were very impressed. The room was very clean and spacious, the views were awesome and our twin 7 year old sons just loved sitting out on the balcony to eat lunch. The beach is just a little walk across the street and in a very family friendly area. At night the resort was very quite and peaceful and that was great for getting two excited little boys to go to sleep at a reasonable hour. I wish we could have stayed longer. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a family friendly place. If you are looking for top of the line luxuries you may want to try some of the more pricey places but we have stayed at more pricey places and weren't as happy as we were staying at Forrest Dunes. We loved our stay and hope to get to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ruthiefitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay this week. Our grandson was scared on the 5th floor and the staff was very helpful and found us a room on the second. It was a very enjoyable stay. The room was clean and our grandchildren enjoyed the pool and lazy river. They also had a great time with the staff activities leader. We will defintely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charlotte1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had a great time and really enjoyed ourselves and we'd love to do it again soon!
The beach was quieter and less crowded than other parts of Myrtle Beach so you feel a lot more comfortable, especially with younger children. And the older kids thought it was excellent having the indoor as well as the outdoor pools. They also loved the lazy river.

The room itself was nicely decorated and freshly painted and the ocean view room is on an upper floor which provides a fantastic view!

Relaxing and fun (even with the kids in tow!)

Also, Buckets was a great restaurant -- reasonably priced food & tasty too!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank PirateFangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

stay in room 102 upon my arrival i encounter many problems in my room. First thing was the bedroom windows were dirty and under the blinds was spiders and black dirt where it hadnt been clean for a while. And behind the nightstand there was candy and water bottle cap on the floor where nobody move to vaccum. The hallway closet floor was full of dirt. And the balcony door no screen and bugs in between the cracks. And cob webb on the ceiling in the bedroom. Sofa bed was very uncomfortable to sleep on microwave was dirty on the inside then it broke. A new one was brought in and iron malfunction so a new one was brought in. Feels like no one took the time to clean the room rush job.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmie726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We booked this hotel through their website before reading the reviews on here. Needless to say, after reading the reviews we went back and forth on whether or not to keep our reservations...In the end we decided to just go for it and I'm so glad we did. Our 3 bedroom condo was suite 1204. 1204 is an ocean view room, although the views are much better than any ocean front hotel we have stayed at before. Our room was extremely clean, fully furnished, and the owners even had beach chairs for you to use on your trips to the beach so you don't have to rent the ones from the hotel...

When we arrived our room wasn't ready yet, so we decided to have lunch at Buckets bar and grill. A small but friendly grill located on the first floor of the hotel. It even has outside seating that looks directly at the ocean. The food was good, and 40 dollars fed 6 people, including drinks.

The reviews about the small pools are true. The pool is very small and so is the lazy river and hot tub. However, this wasn't important to us because we would much rather spend time in the ocean than the pool...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMHoltCombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Forest Dunes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2016

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Darby Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
Ocean Forest Villa Resort
#118 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,952 reviews
1.7 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Dunes Resort

Address: 5511 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $96 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forest Dunes Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique oceanfront highrise resort in exclusive Cabana Section, close to everything. One of only a very few non-smoking resorts in Myrtle Beach. Quiet, open beach along residential "Golden Mile". Expansive apartments in cozy complex, amenities of larger resort, stunning Grand Strand views. We enjoy and are proud of our condo's, so you'll find true vacation homes, not sterile rooms. Lots of little extras, with attentive, friendly, full hotel service. Easy parking, excellent bar and grill, exercise trail, year round vacation enjoyment. One and three bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Forest Dunes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest Dunes Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing