We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big rip off”
Review of BlueWater Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BlueWater Resort
Ranked #125 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“A big rip off”
Reviewed September 12, 2005

The Blue Water Resort is a nice play to stay as long as they are not catering your event. The staff there made a lot of promises that they could not uphold. My family and I were in town for a family reunion. I started planning this reunion in January 2005. When I called the hotel the first question I asked was do you have banquet space that could accomadate up to 200 people. They responded with a yes. This resort had everything that we were looking for (lazy river, indoor/outdoor pool, etc.) In March we begin to book our rooms. Upon arrival at the hotel we learned that each room was individual owened by different people so everybody's room would be different. Some people's rooms smelled like mildew, mold and clorox and was very, dirty and rusty. On the other hand some people's rooms were very, nice. The indoor pool and lazy river was closed for repairs. Their is construction going on next door so at 6:00 in the morning be prepared to be woken up. We had our family reunion banquet on Saturday, September 10. The banquet room was very, cramp. You bearly had room to move around. The menu was fresh fruit salad, green salad, rosemary baked chicken, top round of beef w/mushroom sauce. rice pilaf, mixed vegetables, bread, assorted pies, tea and water. The chicken was under cooked to the point that blood ran down from it when a 7 year child tried to cut into it. The rice was so hard that you could have used it to throw at a bride and groom on their wedding day. The lettuce was brown and we were constantly running out of stuff so that caused our line to be backed up and slowed down the progress of our banquet. The hotel staff had nothing to say to us but that they bought the food at cost so they would be loosing a whole lot more if they returned some of our money. The food and beverage director came over to see the chicken for himself and still did nothing about it. Other than that the staff was friendly. The service and the food was not worth the $5000 spent. The Blue Water Resort don't have to worry about the Lowry-Barnette Family holding another family reunion at there hotel.

Sincerely,
LatoyaFreeman

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    65
    49
    40
    98
See reviews for
170
47
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 1, 2005

While we were on vacation we tried out two hotels we stayed a week at each property. We stayed in unit 413 at the bluewater this unit was very up to date and had all the amenites of home. It had a gorgus view of the ocean and was very clean. It was a one bedroom condo they had a live band every day by the pool as well as karoke at night this resort had everything a family could want. I would recomend unit #413 to anyone that want's to stay in a nice unit.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Stayed in 405 in Villa #1. Was clean and well maintained, everything worked, had ocean view. Staff friendly and helpful. Pools closed at 11PM so noise wasn't a problem. Nice family place, I will stay here again. I would advise no matter where you stay to ALWAYS view the room BEFORE you pay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 11, 2005

We stayed at the Bluewater 7/30 through 8/3. It was a decent place to stay for what you pay. The front desk clerks were very friendly. We stayed in room 901, which was very nice. It had hardwood flooring and nice furniture in the living area and in the bedrooms. It had a decent sized tv in the living area with a large stereo and a dvd player. The bathrooms were clean. The veiw from the balcony was great! The only major problem we had was having two small children under 2 and having to haul them to the car on the parking deck which is 2 streets away. They had lots of drinking at the pool side bar, which I didn't like. Overall this was a nice resort to stay at but we wont stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 6, 2005

We just got back from this hotel,WE HAD A GREAT TIME. The rooms were clean and updated.The pool had a couple of guys singing and playing music durning the day,great beach music that really made you feal like you were at the beach ,it just gave you that tropical feeling.you can buy drinks at the poolside bar/ snackbar.At night the pool had a d.j. that got the people going. we just happen to run up on this hotel,as a last minute beach trip. glad we did. we will stay here as many times as we go to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

This is not a bad place to stay for the price. We were, however, disappointed in the condition of our room. We were not told that some rooms were kept up better than others. Very old, furniture falling apart, and almost no service in the cleaning dept. Our sheets did not get changed once in a week. I had to specifically ask for the floor to be swept. Everyone at the front desk was friendly and helpful. View from the beach was great and we enjoyed the live bands everyday! I doubt we stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2005

This hotel was a real disappointment. We stayed in Room 1306 - it looked like it was furnished with Yard Sale items. A bed blocked part of the main walk-thru area, the bathroom was extremely small and dirty, two of the burners on the stove did not work and the top heating element in the stove didn't work. The elevators are a nightmare - if you stay here request to be on floors 1 - 8 - the upper floors are only served by two elevators (but they also stop at all of the floors) so you spend a lot of time waiting - and they are not air conditioned. Parking is a joke - all but three spaces on the ocean side are 15 min. parking - there is some parking behind the Villas across the street, but the main parking is in a very small (bad clearance) garage a full block from Ocean Blvd. Needless to say this hotel has been marked off my list for future stays - there are too many options for around the same money to ever stay here again. Don't be fooled by the website - this is not a plush resort.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#153 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
#58 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,457 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#71 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BlueWater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueWater Resort

Property: BlueWater Resort
Address: 2001 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BlueWater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BlueWater Resort is located in the heart of the South Strand section of Myrtle Beach. Our property is comprised of 3 buildings; our main oceanfront building with 15 floors, and two buildings (referred to as villas) directly across the street with 4 floors each. Guests have full access to amenities in either building, including 4 outdoor pools, 1 indoor/outdoor pool and 5 Jacuzzis. All rooms at the BlueWater Resort feature kitchens or kitchenettes and private balconies. Choose from studios, 1 or 2 bedroom condos, and enjoy our full service restaurant, and popular beach bar in season. In close proximity to the airport, fine dining, shopping, and movies at Market Commons, the family friendly BlueWater Resort will quickly become your preferred home-away-from-home for years to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your BlueWater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewater Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bluewater Myrtle Beach
Blue Water Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing