We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,476)
Filter reviews
2,476 results
Traveler rating
1,251
605
254
175
191
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,251
605
254
175
191
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslazy riverocean frontparking deckbreakfast buffetliving roomhot tubseveral yearskiddie poolfull kitchenthe past yearsgreat vacationfamily vacationwasher and dryergreat resortoff seasonoceanfront roomfreddie
Filter
Updating list...
2,140 - 2,145 of 2,476 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed here with my college senior son for a week. We had actually stayed here many years ago as a family and I remembered the oceanfront rooms. The rooms were older, but spotless, and the well supplied kitchen had everything we needed. Service was quite good and, in the case of a problem TV, excellent. They replaced it in an hour so as not to miss a special sporting event for my son.
The beach is lovely, but why is it more expensive to rent umbrellas/chairs here than in Hilton Head? It is kept clean and well-guarded and had a mix of people. The bar is pleasant, but not a hangout. The restaurant only serves breakfast and the buffet was a greasy waste of money. But I can do without that.
The biggest problem this hotel has is the terrible parking garage! It is a nightmare to drive through and, even with a tiny Honda, rather unpleasant to navigate. One must constantly use mirrors to see around corners in order to prevent crashes. Also, only three floors of the garage cross to the hotel, then one must find a cart and transport in elevators located on blasting hot halls (the A/C units from the rooms exhaust into the hall).
Ah well, it was that way 20 years ago, but there seemed to be fewer idiots with huge gas-guzzling SUV's then.
This isn't a place for kidfun (except the little ones), but I would love to return on my own or with a friend. The room was quiet, clean and had a great view. All in all, pretty darned good.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmsgreyhnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tess P, Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about your resort experience. We sincerely appreciate the stars you have given us. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed over Fourth of July and the hotel seemed full...but the service was impeccable. The breakfast buffett and cafe are great with reasonable prices! Great resort with all the amenities such as lazy river, kids activities (many require additional fee, but worth it) and pool-side bar. Great place for family with young kids. Staff was helpful and super nice. Rooms were super clean and the view from our oceanview suite exceeded our expectations. The eating area in the kitchen was on the small side but otherwise a super hotel that I would return to. Amazing stretch of beach...very family friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tess P, Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about your resort experience. We sincerely appreciate the stars you have given us. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Our first Myrtle Beach vacation. My family found Beach Colony on the internet and thought we'd give it a try despite mixed reviews. We had an ocean front room on the 15th floor with awesome views! The room was a bit dated and in need of some repair which the condo owner acknowledged with plans to update in a nice guest book. The microwave might be one of the first models to hit the market (but usable once figured out). The bathroom tub/shower unit is in desperate need of replacement as the finish is pealing away. However, the water pressure was great for showers. The room was very clean and we had a very nice/friendly housekeeper who maintained the room daily and kept us in clean towels. The complex (elevators, stairwells, and pool areas) was very clean and maintenance people were busy throughout the day to keep it that way. I loved the grassy area where the lounge chairs and hammocks were located. There were more palm trees than the 2 facilities next to us which made it nice to get out of the direct sun at times. Beach access was great, a brief walk from the complex. The parking garage was tricky but with a little caution and attention to the mirrors, it was not as bad as some reviews have stated. Overall we would rate Beach Colony a 7 (1-10). We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lookin4relaxin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tess P, Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about your resort experience. We sincerely appreciate the stars you have given us. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I took our 2 young children to the Beach Colony for a week in July. We had no expectations going in and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The rooms were clean (although a little dated), the facilities were well kept and we were right on the beach. There were beach lifeguards on the beach in front of the hotel as well. The staff was friendly and helpful. The kids loved the lazy river. There were restaurants and mini-golf near by. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coffeequeen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tess P, Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about your resort experience. We sincerely appreciate the stars you have given us. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We were there with extended family and teenagers this past week during the hottest summer in quite some time. We stayed in an oceanfront Executive Suite, Rm. 1707. It had a lovely view of the ocean and it was a very clean, well decorated suite. Parking was a bit of an issue, but nothing that couldn't be dealt with provided you were patient. We had family that stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit on the 7th floor, so connecting with them was a bit of a pain because of the odd elevator situation, but we got use to elevator hopping. There was wi-fi available, but trying to print boarding passes for our flight was a disaster! The printer was out of ink, paper and then didn't have the updated software needed to print out passes and only the administrator had the ability to do update the software...maybe they seriously need a real business center and someone at the front desk that knows a little more about computers. The teens loved the beach, my husband and daughter loved the shuffleboard and racquetball courts, so we would definitely, DEFINITELY plan another stay at the Beach Colony.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tess P, Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting us know about your resort experience. We sincerely appreciate the stars you have given us. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews