We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff--Not a Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Colony Resort
Ranked #23 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We booked this hotel based on the high review it had with trip advisor. When we arrived, the door to the balcony was off its track. We notified the front desk since we have small children and they fixed it within minutes of our call. Then the water heater in the unit overwhelmed the circuit breaker resulting in no hot water. We had to move to a different room since it wasn't an easy fix for the maintenance guys. Again, the staff was very friendly and helpful and made the inconvenience of moving more bearable. Although the room we moved to was a non-smoking unit, it was next door to a smoking unit. Smoke from chain smoking neighbors could be smelled easily and aggravated my allergies. We had to air the room out about every hour. Not a great experience. Rooms are fairly nice although some updates are needed. Anything with an ocean view is always great.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cleaninnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2017

I apologize that your past experience at our hotel was less than ideal. Many things have changed since your last stay including our entire management team. We are confident you will be delighted with the wonderful changes here at Beach Colony Resort in 2017. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Sincerely

Darby Davis
General Manager
Beach Colony Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at the Beach Colony during the New Year's Holiday. All units in the Beach Colony are privately owned. The owners placed many amenities in the room you are able to use...dishes, pans, dishes, glasses, etc. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath on the 6th floor number 617. For the pros of the stay, nice size room on the end with a side oceanview. The unit has a TV in each room, with plenty of chairs in the living room to sit. It was quiet...we could not hear any noise even from the street. The inside pool and whirpool are is small but it will do the job it is intended for. The cons, the parking garage does not have alot of room for traffic...only one car can come down/up at a time and it is not made for large size cars/trucks. The elevators are a little slow. The hot water takes a few to start in the room attempt to wait until after 9-930am for a shower. This worked for us.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. It was intended to spend time with friends and family and celebrate the New Year together. So it worked for us.
The resort is located within a residential area, so you definately have to drive for local attrations, food, etc. We did have the breakfast buffet located inside the resort one of the mornings. It was good... selection of eggs, pancakes, french toast, sauage, bacon, make your own waffles, and it does not include drink.
I will return to the Beach Colony in the off-season again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beach88bum70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We have been staying at the Beach Colony for over 20 years and it keeps getting better. We last stayed during Thanksgiving and had a wonderful time. Certainly our favorite destination in the Myrtle Beach area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gms1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

My husband and I always take at least one trip to Myrtle Beach a year to golf. We've stayed at several locations, North, South and Central, but were very pleased with our last stay at the Beach Colony Resort. Our prior hotel that we normally stay with was unable to get us an ocean front room, so I started searching for a different place. Beach Colony had all the amenities we were looking for, plus a great golf package as well. I called the hotel and we were booked for an ocean front suite within minutes. I was able to get the golf courses and tee times we wanted, plus our package was cheaper than the prior hotel's! Our room was big, clean and I would say one of the nicest we've been at!! We usually pick at least a 3-4 star hotel and this one beat them all with excellent customer service, meals, bar and maid service. Our room was very quiet as well, which makes for such a pleasant stay. We will definitely go back again!!!! Well worth the money.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank OhioGolfer90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We loved staying at the Beach Colony. It was a very lovely hotel with exceptional staff. The housekeeping was great. Not only were they very friendly, they were fast! In the time it took us to eat breakfast, they had already cleaned our room. And every morning when we saw our housekeeper, she would speak to my son, by name and give him a high five. The rooms were VERY clean. THe only thing that I can say about the rooms is that every room has a step down into the living room. Which for small children or older adults could be a problem. THe pools were great. They had 1 indoor pool and jacuzzi. THen they had 3 outdoor pools, 1 outdoor jacuzzi and a lazy river, if im not mistaken. Its also on the quiet residential end of myrtle beach, on the northern end.

If I could say one negative thing about this place, it would be the parking deck. It was very cramped, and very dark. Not to mention the fact that there were only 3 elevators to the deck, which was on the 3,4,5 decks, i think. So if you parked on the 1,2, or 6 decks, you would have to take the elevator down to a floor then walk up to the next floor. It was very inconvienent when you have luggage and a 2 year old.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again. Not to mention, the fact that its clean, and definitely AFFORDABLE. We stayed for 3 nights, and it was only $150 bucks. Some other places we checked cost that much just for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gcgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

This is our 5th year going to Myrtle Beach, SC and our 5th year staying at the Beach Colony Resort because we would not even consider staying anywhere else!!!! We have a FAMILY away from home every year we go for our GREAT ESCAPE!!! We are greeted by our first names and welcomed with open arms. Our condo overlooks the ocean and is rated #1 in my book.
Kathy runs the front desk and we started dealing with her when we started coming there 5 years ago. She takes such great care of us from booking the condo to meeting all our needs during our entire visit. My sister and her husband go with my husband and myself every year and we rave about our stay from the time we leave there until we walk through the front door of the Resort the next year.

If you are looking for the BEST...a great condo...beautiful pools...friendliness that can not compare to other resorts...
you will find it all at The Beach Colony Resort.!

ENJOY!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PaterFluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Location: Beach Colony in Myrtle Beach, SC.
Our 7 days and 6 nights there in mid October 2008 were great. The accomodations were exceptionally clean and well maintained. The view from the condo balcony was exquisite. Awesome beach front location and only minutes away from tons of restaurants and shopping up and down the Grand Strand.
The suites were well furnished and maintained ,pool, sauna and lazy river were also excellent. The onsite bar and restaurant were nicely furnished, well run and had good breafasts and drinks!
Going in the off season we found the rates to be exceptional and most attractions were not overly crowded as in the summer time.
The staff was attentive and very pleasant to work with.
We have absolutely no complaints and will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 53buick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,230 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,209 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#8 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
6,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Address: 5308 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $83 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing