We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Colony Resort
Ranked #24 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Prestonsburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

I have to write my view of room 702. We stayed from July 13-17, 2008. I had heard such great things about this place. The minute we opened the room the smell reminded me of a garage bathroom, you know the smell of one of those things you hang in a commode. The couch smelled of body odor, the beds were the most uncomfortable things I've ever slept on, the bathroom, well, good grief! It needs updated badly, a lot of mold and there was a huge stain where a bathmat had been in place at one time. The first night I was still awake at 2:30, I sat and cried, I hated this place so bad, but as I said I toughed it out. Luckily my daughter was really sick so we cut our trip short. I've never heard of a hotel that didn't use any type of clorex to clean a room, I just didn't feel clean at all, I will never stay at this place again, EVER! I was really surprised at all the people who stayed hope their expereince was better than mine. Like I said, whoever the owner is of room 702, please go there and take a look at the room, smell the couch, look at the bathroom, I would be ashamed.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Smell, the furniture
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PippyLePeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    509
    217
    148
    156
See reviews for
1,028
388
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
waltdlove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed at the beach colony resort mid July. We had room 402 and it was lined with mirrors. Each room is individually owned and each owner can decorate as they please. this room was wonderful. If you get a chance to stay here do so.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank waltdlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2008

My family ended up staying at the Beach Colony Resort last minute when we wanted to extend our Myrtle Beach vacation and there was no vacancy at the resort we had already been booked at next door (Dunes Village). We were NOT HAPPY for several reasons. First, a person working at the front desk when we personally booked an overnight stay said that we would be able to check in early, yet that was not even close to the case. Second, when we finally got to our rooms, we found all of them to be very outdated. Coming from the Dunes Village Resort where we were VERY HAPPY, this paled in comparison. In addition, when we opened the refrigerator at the Beach Colony, we found opened bottles of tequila that were left behind (we were traveling with young children). The most disgusting part, however, was that our children found bloody cottonballs on the floor from previous guests. If that was not enough, there was a major leak in the bathroom that was causing the entire floor to become quite wet and again unsafe. To top off our dissappointment, the manager did not seem at all sensitive to our concerns and never even apologized. I would never go back to this establishment again...I recommend the Dunes Village Resort next door!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DetroitApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darby D, General Manager at Beach Colony Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2017
I apologize that your past experience at our hotel was less than ideal. Many things have changed since your last stay including our entire management team. We are confident you will be delighted with the wonderful changes here at Beach Colony Resort in 2017. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Sincerely

Darby Davis
General Manager
Beach Colony Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

This was my second stay at Beach Colony Resort. I was told that the condos are privately owned and furnished by the owners. My first stay was on a golf trip in October 2007 and I would consider our stay as average. However my second stay, a family vacation in June 2008, was quite a pleasant surprise. The condo was decorated in a tuscany style that my wife loved. Our two bedroom condo was roomy, clean and well furnished. On our next vacation to Myrtle Beach we will stay at Beach Colony Resort, expecially if we can the the same condo. The only thing keeping this review from being Excellent is the parking garage. I did not like the two way traffic in the parking garage.

  • Liked — The condo deocr and furnishings.
  • Disliked — Parking garage.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdbeverly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

My friend and I were looking for a nice quiet getaway for a few days and we found it at the Beach Colony. Although it was just the 2 of us, we do have families and it was very family friendly. I would have returned this July with my family, but they were booked. Great location. We had an oceanfront guest suite, it was perfect, great amenities, plenty of room. Overall, I would highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — Room was great, great location, beach not too crowded.
  • Disliked — Parking wasn't the best.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wveers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Beach Colony Resort is an excellent place to stay while visting Myrtle Beach. Our family of four usually stays twice a year here. Its very family oriented and clean. We stay in the two bedroom ocean view room whenever possible. This allows us to watch over our children as they play in the lazy river and pool area. The kitchen area allows us to cook and not have to eat out all the time during our stay. I would reccomend the Beach Colony Resort to anyone looking to vacation at Myrtle Beach.

  • Liked — Price,cleaness,on the beach, pool, tiki bar.
  • Disliked — The parking a little tight but it work fine once you get used to it.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dailrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I have been staying at this resort for the last 15 years and have never been disappointed. The staff is very helpful and friendly, and the ammenities are wonderful.

The location of the resort is very convenient, because you can easily access Myrtle Beach proper, or North Myrtle Beach. Restaurant Row is also easily accessible.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone visiting the Myrtle Beach area. It is great for couples or families.

  • Liked — Convenience of getting around the Myrtle Beach Area
  • Disliked — Slow Elevator time
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachL0ver1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,409 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Property: Beach Colony Resort
Address: 5308 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing