We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Excellent Weekend at Beach Colony Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Colony Resort
Ranked #24 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend at Beach Colony Resort”
Reviewed November 10, 2007

Our family is spending the weekend at Beach Colony Resort in Myrtle Beach. We are very pleased with Beach Colony. Typically, we come to the Myrtle Beach area 3 or 4 times a year for long weekend getaways. This is one of the nicer places we have stayed at.

Our room is an ocean view, 2 bedroom, on the 5th floor. It is very spacious and extremely clean. The hotel is located in a quiet strip in Northern Myrtle. The bathroom towels are above average and the front desk offers towels for pool use. We have a full kitchen, though we won't be here long enough to use anything other than the fridge.

The children have spent a good deal of time at the indoor pool, and were even able to play in the outdoor lazy river for a while.

The hotel breakfast buffet is $6.50 per person and excellent. They have a huge variety and everything was very fresh and well prepared. It was well worth the money. In fact, we ate so much, that we skipped lunch and will be going out for an early dinner.

I highly recommend the Beach Colony Resort. I cannot think of a single negative thing to report.

  • Liked — Very clean and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Beds are rather hard, but alright
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AndeeDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    508
    217
    147
    153
See reviews for
1,023
386
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

The girls and I decided to go on holiday to Myrtle Beach and this location was great! It was about 10 minutes away from the nightlife (About $10 bucks on a cab to Broadway by the Beach) and the condo that we had was able to fit all of us and more! If you count the sofa, you could camp out 7 people in that condo. 2 bedrooms, one with a king, one with 2 queens, and of course, the sofa. 3 TVs made it convenient when we all wanted to veg out. It is RIGHT next to the beach. All you have to do is walk downstairs and there it is! A good price for a group of people or a family. The lazy river is nice, but compared to the hotel next door ( Dunes Village) It was nothing. If you have kids, they might like the Dunes Village better. They had a huge indoor water playground, lazy river, etc. However, it looked like a pricier place. My theory is, why go to the beach when you're going to stay indoors? Note to people who value style: This place is clean, quiet, and a good place to just relax and crash. But if you value style, this is not the place for you. It is still stuck in the 70's beach decor. I personally don't care about what it looks like, but some people do. This was a good, clean, quiet place to stay and the kitchenette and all the amenities of home were convenient. Would recommend to others!

  • Liked — The spacious rooms, able to fit a lot of people, clean, quiet.
  • Disliked — The young crowd might not like it because it was mostly inhabited by families and older patrons.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EmjayM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Our stay was great! We had gotten a suite it was arranged very nice and spacious. The hotel staff was nice and the hotel has lovely landscaping which is a plus, it really makes you want to be outside. There are lots of pools and you have your choice of indoor and out.
The area is also nice, away from the hustle and bustle but close to Broadway and Barefoot Landing.
We will definately stay here again.

  • Liked — The room layout and landscaping
  • Disliked — Breakfast, 6.50 not very good, lots of better places to eat out cheaper
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kshorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ky
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We took our 2 girls down here for spring break (4 and 9). We wanted a place that wasn't in the midst of all the spring breakers and found it! We rented a nice 2 bedroom condo here. It had the full kitchen, 2 baths, and a oceanview balcony that that you could enter off of the living room or master bedroom. Also, the washer/dryer combo was great. There was a little beach bar outside that was nice while the kids were playing in the lazy river. All in all we had a wonderful stay here.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms were very large.
  • Disliked — There were no restaurants in the area to walk to
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aerisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We was very surprized by the 2 bedroom oceanview condo we booked online, loved the whole lay out of the condo, it came with a full kitchen including full size fridge/freezer, dishwasher, micro, stove and even a garbage disposal. We had 2 full baths with a stackable washer/dryer in one of the bathroom closets. Also came with a dvd/vcr player and 2 TVs (one in living room, the other in the master bedroom) including HBO. We was very pleased with the firm beds and the plush pillows. The sofa also let out into a bed although we never used it. We loved the glass/wicker dining room table. The central air made each room very comfortable with one thermostat to control it all so we had it nice and cool. It was decorated very nicely, we were on the top floor of the ocean view side which is 12th floor (the ocean front rooms go up to 22 floors). We had room 1211 which probably had the best view on the side (top floor) so we could get a great view. I'm sure the other rooms on that side had a good view but we wanted the best possible view of the ocean from the side. If you look straight down off the balcony you will see the whole lazy river. The Dunes resort is next door (another nice looking one). Our room was very quiet at night, we all slept great.
The pools were nice and warm including the lazy river, we loved the 2 jacuzzi's also. There is a bar outside/inside by the pool and a Cafe which serves breakfast near the rear of the building. If you go inside the Cafe doors toward your left you will see 3 computers with internet access, I got online daily to check my email (free of charge). There is a nice boardwalk leading to the ocean with a device you step on to rinse your feet off. We was real impressed with the lobby, it was beautiful and the staff all treated us well and spoke to us everytime we passed in the halls or outside. Maid service was great, we had more then enough towels/wash clothes, even had extra ones below the bathroom sinks in the cabinet. We also had nice size soap bars (white rain), and small bottles of shampoo (panteene pro V and/or Proterra juniper conditioning shampoo). Plenty of water pressure:) Everytime the maids would clean the rooms, they smelled so fresh as if they scented them with something. The only minor complaints experienced was when we washed clothes it wouldnt spin the water out until was put a one time pressure on the lid, then it worked fine. We also had to plug the DVD/VCR unit into another outlet near the TV before it would work but then it worked fine. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We started going here when it opened in 1986, ran across it by accident. It has become a almost yearly visit since then, however, over time, it has not kept up with all of the hotels directly next to the BC. The units are privately owned, some have been updated since we first visited, but many remain the same and are dated as would be expected over 20 years. The location is what makes it so great, in a residential area, so it is quiet and sometimes even secluded. Fusco's restaurant on site, used to be great too, but has declined as well. However, their Italian Wednesday buffet is great. If you do decide to stay here, make sure you ask for an updated room.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Harmony_peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed here the first week of Aug, 2007. It was a good hotel, and there was plenty to do for my 3 year old. The only problem was that when I booked, I booked the Angle oceanfront because i thought it would be neat to see the ocean and beach, but to also be able to see down the side of the hotel. Well, thats not exactly how it works out, the room was set back about 50 foot from the front of the hotel, kind of like an annex. The "oceanfront" was only about 100 foot of ocean that we could see between the rest of our hotel, and the high rise next to us that didn't show on the website or pictures on this website. The room was full of floor to wall sliding glass doors, but all it looked at was the balconies of the high rise next to us. So if we opened the curtains, we were opening up to the people sitting on the balconies looking in. We paid the oceanFRONT price for an oceanVIEW room. Other than that misunderstanding, the room was wonderful. We had a full size fridge and even a dishwasher! There were mixed reviews from the downstairs restaurant, so we cooked in most of the time. The parking deck was a challenge because we had a truck that couldn't fit into the upper decks, so it was a constant worry as to if we'd have a space when we came back. There were a few cars who didn't understand the "oversize" part, but we only had to park across the street two times... I probably won't be going back to this particular hotel because there were a couple more high rises going up and i'm looking for something lower key, but it was a nice time. Pools were wonderful, so were the cleaning staff.

  • Liked — pools and access to the beach
  • Disliked — angle oceanfront had no ocean front view
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaybird302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,406 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#11 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
5.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,971 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Colony Resort

Property: Beach Colony Resort
Address: 5308 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#41 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Colony Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Colony Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Beach Colony Hotel In Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing