We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“The cockroaches ruined it for us.”
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Creek Resort
Ranked #39 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guelph
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The cockroaches ruined it for us.”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I needed to write this review. I am the typr of person that spends a lot of time looking for the perfect place to stay. Money is a factor, but more important to me is that my family really enjoy themselves.
I booked online at the Ocean Creek site without a problem. The site is a realistic representation of the grounds, room etc.
Check in was not a problem. We were delighted at the condo in lodge 4 when we entered. it was a 1 bedroom and was very nicely decorated and maintained. For the $425.00 all in price for 4 nights I felt very satisfied and relieved to see this in person. The grounds are very large and a tram takes you to the beach, it is a nice short walk if you prefer.
Here is where it took a wrong turn. We came back late to our unit on the first night and saw cockroaches outside our unit, about 3 or 4 and then 1 in the hallway in our room. Now, to be fair matbe this is hard to get away from in the south, i am not qualified to say as i am from Canada near Toronto. We have cockroaches up here, but only in run down urban areas and they are about half the size of the kind we saw in Myrtle Beach. i imagine the cold winter helps keep the insect population in check up here. That being said i;m sure you can relate to the creepy feeling my wife and daughter got when they saw the roach in our unit and upon looking the roach trap behind the dresser in the bedroom.
i called the fromt desk and it didn't come as a shock to them.They were professional, but not apologetic about it. Thery moved us the next morning to a unit in lodge 2 at my request. Again we saw roaches outside of the new unit at night. In the morning following our second night a pest control man came through and sprayed the baseboards of the unit. I din't tell the rest of the family that I saw a very small roach in the bathroom.
It just felt that we had to be on guard, we slept with the lights on and always approached our entrance to the unit with trepidation.
If insects don't bother you, book Ocean Creek at a discounted rate, up to 100/night would be fair. If like our family, you want to be the only occupants of your room during your stay and you arte travelling with girls that freak out over critters, then pass on Ocean Creek and comb trip advisor for a place to saty with NO mention of bugs.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurlySalmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    336
    168
    106
    89
See reviews for
618
253
22
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We only stayed here for a weekend but wished we stayed longer. We stayed at a cozy little studio (ground floor), with so much room, an equipped kitchen, large bathroom, closet space, living room, bedroom and porch. It was perfect! Everything was clean and working well. The porch was protected to keep the mosquitoes out. We had a pool almost all to ourselves. Breakfast in the morning was fabulous and delicious. The location is great because it was right across the street from Barefoot Landing, so we went here so many times, it was so much fun! We recommend renting a car, as everything is a semi-lenghty ride away and taxis will end up costing you plenty. We enjoyed our short stay at Ocean Creek and do hope to come back sometime!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeria3984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We liked the location a lot and enjoyed the short walk to the beach, pool and breakfast room. The apartment was clean and comfortable and had everything needed for a beach vacation. The kitchen was operational with the necessary items to prepare small meals. The service was very good, but they should remember to wash towels before use!
The breakfast was reasonable in price and the service was excellent. I would appreciate more healthier food options.
Ocean Creek is very close to major attractions in the area, but it is unfortunate that you will still have to drive everywhere because crossing the street is almost impossible especially with children.
Overall we had a good time and we will stay at Ocean Creek again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I have stayed at Ocean Creek over the past fifthteen years in both the villas and towers. It's location is excellent as well it has lots of pools and the two towers are right on the beach. If you are planning to rent one of the villas they may not meet your standards. Book one of the condos in the North or South towers. The towers have great views of the ocean and most two and three bedrooms offer alot of room for kids or famlies.
Booking on sites such as VRBO.com or Homeaway Vacation Rentals.com will give you a very good price to stay in one of these towers. All the three bedroom are on the edges of the building. Thus you experience some GREAT sunrise/ sunsets or a greater spot to have a drink and look out at the Ocean.
I hope you experience of the of best places in MB to enjoy your vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g0lfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I stayed at Ocean Creek Resort in North Myrtle Beach with my husband and 4-year-old daughter for ten nights in July 2009.

This is not the type of resort that we are used to staying in (all inclusive). It is a time-share property where units are rented out when owners are not using them. There are two levels of accommodation on the property - luxury ocean front condos contained in two mid-rise towers and the more moderate lodge villas. The difference in price between the two levels for our 10-might stay was approximately $800 US. We were of the mind that we could do a lot of stuff with an extra $800 and opted for the lower level accommodations. It was our experience that we hardly spent any time in our room while on vacation anyway.

The ocean front luxury condos looked amazing. Located steps from the beach in new buildings with gorgeous open-air balconies and beautiful views. The balconies looked like a great place to have meals and just hang out in the evenings. Each condo tower has their own private pool located beach side. We didn't get in to see an actual suite, but talked to many who were very impressed and pleased with their accommodations.

The lodge villas, however, were less than impressive, but were in line with the price point. Our villa reminded me of a multi-level drive-in motel. We were located on the third of four floors so there was lots of stair climbing - often with heavy loads of beach gear. Chair and umbrella rental is offered on the beach at $30 a day which for us is ridiculous, so we always had to bring our own, plus cooler, plus boogie boards, bags, towels, etc. It is important to note that the villas are located much farther back from the beach on the property than the condo buildings so dragging stuff back and forth was a drag - especially in 90-degree heat. This could prove challenging for those who are older, young children, or just out of shape! There is an elevator in the villa, but it was located at the opposite (and farther) end of the building than our room and it was extraordinarily slow. There is also a little golf-cart shuttle that runs back and forth to the beach,but it was often full (especially at the end of the day trying to get back) or we couldn't be bothered standing around in the heat waiting for it. We ended up buying a cart from Wallmart to lug all of our gear back and forth and this was extremely helpful. The villa had a nice pool which we used quite often.

The unit itself was very dated - green shag carpeting, five different types of wallpaper throughout. We had an old 27-inch t.v. in the living room and an ancient 13-inch t.v. in the one bedroom. Our unit was located in the middle of the building and there were no windows except the sliding glass doors to the screened-in porch. The screened-in porch itself was very dark, dingy and uninviting - painted dreary dark grey with a view of the day use parking lot, scruffy indoor/outdoor carpeting, and a lot of dry leaf accumulation in and around the screening and posts. It was a depressing spot and we spent no time here whatsoever. Our unit was very clean on arrival. Maid service consisted of clean towels, emptying garbages, and new packages of coffee each day. Depending on our crew, sometimes we got the bed in the master bedroom made up and some days we did not. They never once made up the sofa bed in the livingroom where our daughter was sleeping. They did not clean our bathrooms or sweep up all the cushion floor in our foyer and hall. Since I dont go on holidays to spend time cleaning, our unit was getting pretty gross by the end of the 10 days. Noise travelled from the unit above us which bothered us on a couple of occasions.

The property itself is very nice - very clean and nicely landscaped. Located on a fantastic stretch of beach. Good location on the main strip as well right across from Barefoot Landing. Check in/check out was effortless. Free parking was a bonus. Security was very tight and we felt safe. The free breakfast we had each day was very good. The staff were very friendly. There is a big difference in culture between all-inclusive resorts and stand-alone time share properties. Since there was no nightly entertainment offered and no free bar to hang around (lol), we spent more time in our room than we expected. After a few days, we really wished we had spent the extra $800 and got the nicer room - it would have been worth it - especially for the balcony and ocean views. We could not upgrade at that point due to availability. Each day we had to walk past those beautiful condos and make the trek back to our dreary room. Our mistake.

In summary, the place was very satisfactory considering the price point - very basic and nothing fancy. You do get what you pay for. If you are looking for comfortable cheap accommodations then you will like it here.

Enjoy!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcjr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcoast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had a great experience at Ocean Creek. We stayed in the Lodge Villas which was about a 5 minute walk to the beach. A Tram, which was a large golf cart, was available for transportation just in case we expended too much energy while lying around the pool. We had a two bedroom/2 bathroom Villa which was clean and spacious enough for the five of us. My wife and I traveled with our 3 young adult children. However, the sofa bed was uncomfortable or so I was told. Our room had a full kitchen with a microwave and all of the dishes, silverware and cookware you will need. Of course, we did no cooking but did stock snacks and enough food to make sandwiches. We also stocked the refrigerator with water, Gatorade and juice. Having the kitchen helped us to curtail our daily food budget. A dish towel and dish washing liquid was also provided.

The resort is family friendly, very peaceful and the property was well maintained. The daily maid service was an added bonus which does not usually accompany weekly rentals. Our maid was very pleasant and accommodating to our erratic schedule. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. The location of the resort (directly across from Barefoot Landing) was optimal. We were within a very short drive (5 minutes) to Tanger Outlet and Restaurant Row. The drive to Broadway on the Beach and the other Tanger Outlet on 501 was a little bit longer (20 minutes). There is plenty to do in the area but certainly not as congested or busy as Ocean Blvd. I should mention that our unit did not have a DVD player. You should check ahead of time if that matters. It was not a deal breaker as we had our laptops.

There are several pools on the property for your use. Make sure you bring towels for the pool as they are not provided. The creek is nice for smaller kids who seemed to enjoy trying to catch the sand crabs.

The "fitness center" is very small and not worth mentioning. It has 2 treadmills and I believe 3 stationary bikes and no weight equipment. The tennis center is very nice but cost $15 dollars per hour for court time. Not to pricey, but we found a park with very nice "free" courts on Possum Trot Road a few miles from the resort.

We had a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayorPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom lodge villa. The room was very nice with a living room, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a bedroom. The property was excellent. There is a creek you can swim in that fills up during high tide. Hence the name Ocean Creek. Great for children too small for ocean waves. We used the main pool, lodge pool and indoor poll. All were very nice. A DJ played at the main pool Fri-Sun and did a good job. The main pool also has a bar/restaurant. A 20 yard walk from the pool gets you to the ocean. Very convenient. Plenty of activity for kids. They have a kids night out program for 5 and over from 6-9 PM. Great to get a few hours alone with the spouse. Gated community keeps the traffic to a minimum. No wait for elevator at the lodges. We will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
9.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#22 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sea Watch Resort
Sea Watch Resort
#37 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
7.3 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#26 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#31 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Property: Ocean Creek Resort
Address: 10600 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing