We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Ocean Creek Towers, Experience the Best of Myrtle Beach”
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Creek Resort
Ranked #42 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ocean Creek Towers, Experience the Best of Myrtle Beach”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

I have stayed at Ocean Creek over the past fifthteen years in both the villas and towers. It's location is excellent as well it has lots of pools and the two towers are right on the beach. If you are planning to rent one of the villas they may not meet your standards. Book one of the condos in the North or South towers. The towers have great views of the ocean and most two and three bedrooms offer alot of room for kids or famlies.
Booking on sites such as VRBO.com or Homeaway Vacation Rentals.com will give you a very good price to stay in one of these towers. All the three bedroom are on the edges of the building. Thus you experience some GREAT sunrise/ sunsets or a greater spot to have a drink and look out at the Ocean.
I hope you experience of the of best places in MB to enjoy your vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g0lfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    354
    173
    113
    98
See reviews for
649
264
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

I stayed at Ocean Creek Resort in North Myrtle Beach with my husband and 4-year-old daughter for ten nights in July 2009.

This is not the type of resort that we are used to staying in (all inclusive). It is a time-share property where units are rented out when owners are not using them. There are two levels of accommodation on the property - luxury ocean front condos contained in two mid-rise towers and the more moderate lodge villas. The difference in price between the two levels for our 10-might stay was approximately $800 US. We were of the mind that we could do a lot of stuff with an extra $800 and opted for the lower level accommodations. It was our experience that we hardly spent any time in our room while on vacation anyway.

The ocean front luxury condos looked amazing. Located steps from the beach in new buildings with gorgeous open-air balconies and beautiful views. The balconies looked like a great place to have meals and just hang out in the evenings. Each condo tower has their own private pool located beach side. We didn't get in to see an actual suite, but talked to many who were very impressed and pleased with their accommodations.

The lodge villas, however, were less than impressive, but were in line with the price point. Our villa reminded me of a multi-level drive-in motel. We were located on the third of four floors so there was lots of stair climbing - often with heavy loads of beach gear. Chair and umbrella rental is offered on the beach at $30 a day which for us is ridiculous, so we always had to bring our own, plus cooler, plus boogie boards, bags, towels, etc. It is important to note that the villas are located much farther back from the beach on the property than the condo buildings so dragging stuff back and forth was a drag - especially in 90-degree heat. This could prove challenging for those who are older, young children, or just out of shape! There is an elevator in the villa, but it was located at the opposite (and farther) end of the building than our room and it was extraordinarily slow. There is also a little golf-cart shuttle that runs back and forth to the beach,but it was often full (especially at the end of the day trying to get back) or we couldn't be bothered standing around in the heat waiting for it. We ended up buying a cart from Wallmart to lug all of our gear back and forth and this was extremely helpful. The villa had a nice pool which we used quite often.

The unit itself was very dated - green shag carpeting, five different types of wallpaper throughout. We had an old 27-inch t.v. in the living room and an ancient 13-inch t.v. in the one bedroom. Our unit was located in the middle of the building and there were no windows except the sliding glass doors to the screened-in porch. The screened-in porch itself was very dark, dingy and uninviting - painted dreary dark grey with a view of the day use parking lot, scruffy indoor/outdoor carpeting, and a lot of dry leaf accumulation in and around the screening and posts. It was a depressing spot and we spent no time here whatsoever. Our unit was very clean on arrival. Maid service consisted of clean towels, emptying garbages, and new packages of coffee each day. Depending on our crew, sometimes we got the bed in the master bedroom made up and some days we did not. They never once made up the sofa bed in the livingroom where our daughter was sleeping. They did not clean our bathrooms or sweep up all the cushion floor in our foyer and hall. Since I dont go on holidays to spend time cleaning, our unit was getting pretty gross by the end of the 10 days. Noise travelled from the unit above us which bothered us on a couple of occasions.

The property itself is very nice - very clean and nicely landscaped. Located on a fantastic stretch of beach. Good location on the main strip as well right across from Barefoot Landing. Check in/check out was effortless. Free parking was a bonus. Security was very tight and we felt safe. The free breakfast we had each day was very good. The staff were very friendly. There is a big difference in culture between all-inclusive resorts and stand-alone time share properties. Since there was no nightly entertainment offered and no free bar to hang around (lol), we spent more time in our room than we expected. After a few days, we really wished we had spent the extra $800 and got the nicer room - it would have been worth it - especially for the balcony and ocean views. We could not upgrade at that point due to availability. Each day we had to walk past those beautiful condos and make the trek back to our dreary room. Our mistake.

In summary, the place was very satisfactory considering the price point - very basic and nothing fancy. You do get what you pay for. If you are looking for comfortable cheap accommodations then you will like it here.

Enjoy!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tlcjr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcoast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had a great experience at Ocean Creek. We stayed in the Lodge Villas which was about a 5 minute walk to the beach. A Tram, which was a large golf cart, was available for transportation just in case we expended too much energy while lying around the pool. We had a two bedroom/2 bathroom Villa which was clean and spacious enough for the five of us. My wife and I traveled with our 3 young adult children. However, the sofa bed was uncomfortable or so I was told. Our room had a full kitchen with a microwave and all of the dishes, silverware and cookware you will need. Of course, we did no cooking but did stock snacks and enough food to make sandwiches. We also stocked the refrigerator with water, Gatorade and juice. Having the kitchen helped us to curtail our daily food budget. A dish towel and dish washing liquid was also provided.

The resort is family friendly, very peaceful and the property was well maintained. The daily maid service was an added bonus which does not usually accompany weekly rentals. Our maid was very pleasant and accommodating to our erratic schedule. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. The location of the resort (directly across from Barefoot Landing) was optimal. We were within a very short drive (5 minutes) to Tanger Outlet and Restaurant Row. The drive to Broadway on the Beach and the other Tanger Outlet on 501 was a little bit longer (20 minutes). There is plenty to do in the area but certainly not as congested or busy as Ocean Blvd. I should mention that our unit did not have a DVD player. You should check ahead of time if that matters. It was not a deal breaker as we had our laptops.

There are several pools on the property for your use. Make sure you bring towels for the pool as they are not provided. The creek is nice for smaller kids who seemed to enjoy trying to catch the sand crabs.

The "fitness center" is very small and not worth mentioning. It has 2 treadmills and I believe 3 stationary bikes and no weight equipment. The tennis center is very nice but cost $15 dollars per hour for court time. Not to pricey, but we found a park with very nice "free" courts on Possum Trot Road a few miles from the resort.

We had a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayorPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom lodge villa. The room was very nice with a living room, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a bedroom. The property was excellent. There is a creek you can swim in that fills up during high tide. Hence the name Ocean Creek. Great for children too small for ocean waves. We used the main pool, lodge pool and indoor poll. All were very nice. A DJ played at the main pool Fri-Sun and did a good job. The main pool also has a bar/restaurant. A 20 yard walk from the pool gets you to the ocean. Very convenient. Plenty of activity for kids. They have a kids night out program for 5 and over from 6-9 PM. Great to get a few hours alone with the spouse. Gated community keeps the traffic to a minimum. No wait for elevator at the lodges. We will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I must admit my husband and I were leary about booking at Ocean Creek. However, for the price and on a fixed budget we just took the plunge and reserved a room. We (us + two children age 12) just returned from a 4 day/ 3 night stay (8/20-8/23/09) at the Lodge Villa West II. We had a 1 BDR villa with 1 1/2 BA that accomadated the four of us nicely. The condo was clean and we give it a two thumbs up. Yes, it is true that the resort has a little wear and tear but for the location, great price, and friendly staff....we will stay here again. We have stayed at numerous properties along the myrtle beach strip, and find that we prefer North Mrytle beach over South. And most of the properties have wear and tear, unless you're willing to pay top dollar for one of the newer properties.

Ocean Creek = Great Price, Great Stay, & Happy Kids!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We usually stay in the Lodges, but this year we thought we'll stay in the towers to be close to the beach because we were traveling with four of our grandchildren. We were told only rooms available were in the North Tower. We looked at four rooms before we finally agreed to stay! The room we had, you couldnt open the door from the master bedroom to the terrace and the door from the living to the terrace was so cloudy you couldnt see through it, had no screen and no handle to open the door from the terrace. The kitchen was dirty. When you opened the cabinets the doors fell off in your hands! We paid for an oceanfront and were told they only had ocean view. My daughter and son in law and their three children stayed in another room. They told the front desk they needed a lower floor and when they looked at the room the tackless was showing and the rug too worn to cover it and the railings on the terrace were like ladders for the three year old. They were told that children stayed there and never had a problem. They also have a one year old that would fit through the opening on the bottom! I wonder what the laws are in Sourth Carolina as far as how much space is permitted between the slats on the railings?! They asked for another room which they were given.

The beach is good, but we remember it being much much cleaner! We have been going to Ocean Creek since our girls were in junior high and they are now parents, sadly we say good by to Ocean Creek this was our last stay!

They need new management and need to put some money into some of these units which are absolutely disgusting! The lodges I think were in better condition than the North Tower! We spoke with one condo owner who was surprised to hear from us that you cannot request a unit. She was under the impression that people could request the same unit that they stayed in. We were told you can't request anything!!!! Im sure the homeowners would love to hear our reviews.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandson
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

It was perfect. Spacious condos, just off the beach, nice pools, nice people, clean, great breakfast. We just went the two of us, but kids were all around. And there's so much space, that everybody can find what they're looking for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KP6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Barefoot Landing
9.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,864 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Watch Resort
Sea Watch Resort
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Property: Ocean Creek Resort
Address: 10600 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing