We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Creek Resort
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We have stayed at Ocean Creek at least 10 times over the last 12 years.. In the past it has been as nice as one could ask for.
However, do not expect that now. It begin with check in and went downhill from there. Our room was not what we reserved or what we were told we would have... and of course we could not move until the following day. The sliding glass door handle was broken, and the door required two people to open. The shower knob was broken, the air conditioner clanked like it was on its last legs... and the first room had a very suspicious looking brown stain on the bathroom wall. The overall appearance was one of neglect..and not at all what one is used to at this resort.
We will not return.. and I say that with sadness because we have enjoyed staying here for years... and the beach access has always been nice.. but hate to see what one more year under the current management brings!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank djtdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    347
    170
    110
    93
See reviews for
634
261
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

This resort is beautiful and secure. We stayed in tower North and rented the condo through vacations by owner. There is a beautiful beach, a creek to play/swim in as well as several swimming pools. The location is at the south end of North Myrtle Beach, so it isn't as crowded, yet close to everything. Barefoot Landing is right across the street with shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The resort is perfect for families looking for a relaxing beach vacation.

  • Liked — Resort atmosphere
  • Disliked — Crabby beach club bartender
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2campMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville ky
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

The condo was dirty and old. The old part, I can understand--I know everything cannot be new, but things can be clean. Dried food in the microwave and on the stove, spills in drawers in the kitchen, the shower curtains were nasty with mold and mildew, the carpet was disgusting ( I was so glad I didn't have babies or toddlers who had to crawl--I would have never let them on the floor!) The air vents were covered with a green mold--who knows what we were breathing everytime the air came on!! The fridge smelled rancid and the dishwasher leaked. When we arrived my husband and I had to clean the place. I don't consider it a vacation when I have to clean--I do enough of that at home! We usually stay at Kingston Plantation, which is much nicer. We always have rented directly thru the property and this time we rented thru an owner. I think when you go thru the property they are better at maintaining and cleaning the units. We will not return to Ocean Creek.

  • Liked — location was great
  • Disliked — unit was dirty
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank loukymomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My extended family and I had a fun week at the Ocean Creek Resort. We have stayed here many times in the past, but not in the past four years. The resort is still a great place for families. The accommodations were spacious and great for an extended family with children. We stayed in the greens this year which had three bedrooms and baths. It also had a washer and dryer in the unit. Overall, the resort is in a good location for all activities, as each family member was looking for something different. It is close to shopping, golf, and a variety of restaurants.
Since our last visit we did notice some wear and tear on the resort, such as the outside buildings, the pools and pool furniture. The accommodations are clean, but housekeeping is a little stingy with supplies such as toilet paper and soap. The breakfast buffet is fair.
Overall it is a good family resort, but I hope they maintain the upkeep on the property as it begins to show its age.

  • Liked — Spacious for family.
  • Disliked — Beginning to show age.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheetah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Stayed 5nights in North Tower condo. Rented thru VRBO.
Beach nice in this area- on quiet end. Sand nice and clean. At top end of beach there is creek where looked like young kids were having fun without worrying about waves-though current was strong in creek when we were there .Resort nice for evening walks. Restaurant on site- but didn't use it. ATM on site. Elevator always quick to get. Pool,restrooms and snack bar close to beach with boardwalk to beach. Shower rinse off at end of boardwalk coming back from beach. Loved location -direct across for Barefoot Landing. Would stay again

  • Liked — easy walk to beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dgdbloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I was assigned to be the director of Meeting Arrangements for the 2008 Annual Carolina Council Conference of the IMA held on May 1 – May 3, 2008. I have had a few years of experience in the area of “Event Planning” and have high expectations of the service that is required. In my role, I had to work very closely with Mary Hill, Banquet Manager and interact with the staff of the Ocean Creek Resort. I am writing this letter to inform you of the exceptional experience our Organization had at your Resort.
-
In the planning stages of our Conference, Mary Hill and I met in person once and corresponded mostly via telephone or email communications, primarily because I reside in the Charlotte, NC area. Mary and her assistant Judy Johnson always responded quickly to me and acted immediately on any of the changes that came up for the two day agenda. What impressed me the most during the planning stage was the “creative juices” that Mary and I shared in putting together the most basic of meals such as the Continental Breakfasts, Lunches, and Afternoon breaks. Her menu suggestions allowed for variety and accommodated two guests requiring a Vegan diet.

The Friday Night Gala was a themed event based on a “Venetian Carnival”. We introduced for the first time to the IMA Conference a “Stations Party” featuring a variety of delicacies of Italy. I wanted our attendees to experience a “wow” reaction when they walked into the ballroom. That was accomplished and the entire set-up of the event was exquisite. To highlight, the Venetian Masks that Mary decorated as centerpieces were gorgeous. The sweets table located in the center of the Ballroom decorated with the rented Roman Columns, satin sheers, and Fruit-Punch Fountain achieved that “wow” factor I was looking for.

As attractive as the room was that evening, I have to tell you that the food and the wait service are the most important in achieving a successful event. The food was delicious and its presentation was outstanding. I had numerous compliments on all the meals we had the entire weekend. Thank you to Chef Bob Coningsby and his entire staff for making it happen. I come from an Italian family and my Dad was in attendance the evening of the Venetian Carnival. He is a sort of amateur critic when




it comes to food, especially Italian. My father raved about the food and, in particular, the Minestrone Soup and Veal Saltimbocca. I personally have never had a Minestrone soup as good as that. Randy Laveno, Lanvender Robinson and the entire wait staff were friendly, helpful and always available throughout the entire Conference. It was obvious that the wait staff was happy to be a part of making our stay enjoyable and fun. Typically, in the past, the attendees would stay long enough to have some food and then leave the event to do other things that night. This year, many of them stayed to the end of the Gala and didn’t want to leave.

One hour before the start of our Friday Night Gala, the Ballroom Sound system malfunctioned. The special Italian music I provided on compact disc need to be heard in order to create the proper atmosphere of the evening. Hubert Trieber the Director of Food and Beverage, known by your staff as “Mr. T.”, came through for us. He made several attempts to fix the equipment, when that failed he took action to get us a Portable CD sound system which we were able to project the sound from the in-house microphone system. Thanks Mr. T.

Prior to and during the Conference, Patrina Riggins, Sales Coordinator, was very helpful in ensuring that our guests were accommodated properly. We had some mishaps on our end and Patrina was influential in making it all work out. The accommodations were clean and comfortable and the Front Desk staff was courteous and Professional.

I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Karen Creighton, Director of Sales. Karen was always available to ensure things were going smoothly and she was instrumental in assisting with ideas for prizes.

Your entire staff of Ocean Creek Resort knows what it takes to be successful in the hospitality industry. In true Accounting Profession lingo, they are all “Assets” to your company.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great Food, & cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IMACharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western PA
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Ocean Creek hosted a 4.5 day conference for us. The accommodations for the attendees and the conference were excellent. The food was great; staff very helpful and acommodating. Everything that we need is right there: conference facilities, pools, beach, snack bar, tennis, etc.

We will be back next year!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FarleyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
9.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,116 reviews
9.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
997 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Barefoot Landing
2.6 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Property: Ocean Creek Resort
Address: 10600 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing