We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Terrible”
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Creek Resort
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed first week of Aug. '13 in the "lodge" rental units. The decor is very outdated as if from the 80's...from the furniture, fixtures, cabinetry in the kitchenette...everything. The first thing you will notice is that the alarm clock in the master b.r. is BROKEN. Then, the light switches on the wall to turn on the den lamps did not work nor did the switch in the master b.r. Even worse, the wall outlets throughout were so old they would hardly hold a charger in them. Mostly just fell out. Not good. Worst of all...COCKROACHES...and evidently this has been a problem as there is a dated extermination sticker inside the kitchen cabinet that tells when extermination has taken place. However, we saw 3 in various areas of the apt...kitchen, and both bedrooms...not to mention huge ones crawling around at night outside on the sidewalk. The safe in the master b.r. closet was also broken and the metal door on it would not even close. The apt. was not cleaned at all the first day...had to wait 3 HOURS after my calls to finally get clean towels from "housekeeping" (after I finally had to go out and track down housekeeping girls). This is not a good place if you are looking for something modern, clean or with good services!

Room Tip: Call a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trekkingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    347
    170
    110
    93
See reviews for
634
261
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a condo in the South Tower. Let me say that this was the worst maintained room I ever stayed in. The price of the room in comparison to the condition of the room was enormous. I can't speak for all the rooms because they are individually owned, but ours was in desperate need of repairs and upgrades. Small ancient TV's were in both rooms. The rug was filthy and very old. There was mold on the bathroom ceiling. The walls need painted. It was a shame because the grounds were well maintained and it was a very lovely complex. The location was great also. Nice beach area. We were pleased with the speed in which the maintenance staff arrived to fix our broken toilet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pab49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a last minute trip and found Ocean Crest on Tripadvisor. We asked for an upgraded unit and found ourselves very pleased with the charming level of comfort in a less "touristy" setting. We came in for a show at the HOB and the location was perfect. Only downfall was that we were only there one night. We definitely would have made use of the kitchen if we were there longer. Very cozy place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We rented a condo South Tower from a friend and came down early and stayed at a room for one night in the Lodge area. The room was dated, ugly, small 80s model tv, and just overall disappointing. The room was not very clean, the shower was rotted and the floor was "squishy" when you stood in the tub giving the sensation of falling through the floor at any moment. We moved into our friend's condo South Tower the next day (after being fearful that our entire week would be comparable to this room)! The room here was also dated, but better than the first by a landslide. This room was actually the responsibility of the owner, so not really the resort's fault. However, the resort is responsible for the cleanliness of the room, which again was very lacking. For instance, we were told that the first roll of toilet paper would be provided, yet none in the restroom. There was a dead roach under my vanity. There were hairs in the shower. The shower curtain was so disgusting with mold and dirt that I bought bleach and soaked it overnight before I would even shower in there. We were very disappointed in the pool having NO SHADE whatsoever. There is no where to even hide under a tree for a break. I've never been to a resort where there is not even one umbrella! We were just plain miserable. The last night, we also had to move to a different room. This room was a Tennis Villa. We were so pleased when we walked in and noticed the updated and nice décor. My friend and I found 3 dead roaches on the floor but cleaned them up and went on. There were also hairs in the sink, on the toilet and in the shower. We looked over all of this due to the fact it was a nicer looking room and our last night here. That is when we were sitting on the couch, watching tv and a roach crawled behind my friend's head on the wall. As she went to throw the dead roach in the trash, she spotted a larger one in the hallway. Now we are completely grossed out and paranoid, considering sleeping in the car! I've sprayed 100% DEET around our bed and will likely have to take a pill to sleep tonight!!! Bad news at this resort all the way around!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed on the 10th floor of the North Tower. The view, the beach, pools, and grounds are really wonderful. The location in North Myrtle is directly across form Barefoot Landing with lots of other dining, shopping, and mini golf very close. The creek is a fun and interesting addition to the beach. Also an easy ride to all the attractions in Myrtle Beach. Condo was very spacious with 3 bedroom 3 bath, but also quite outdated. It was "cleaned" before we arrived but carpets needed some work and the bathrooms had some mildew. Under the sink still had some debris from last occupants and the garbage disposal needed to be run. I am admittedly VERY PICKY when it comes to cleanliness so these were non issues to the rest of my family.The elevators, parking, and outside access were all in need of a good cleaning, painting, and some maintenance. I did not see any roaches/other bugs as other reviews have stated. Having the amount of room we did, a full kitchen, and washer/dryer helped make the cleanliness/outdated décor and popcorn ceilings more bearable. The game room, dining area, fitness center, and putting green are in name only, not true amenities. Tennis court fees not included. There are a lot of resorts in the area, next time a might look around for a more modern option.

Room Tip: The towers are closest to the beach. The resort is big so if you stay in other areas plan on a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Leighann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautiful outside areas. Condo old and stained and torn drape. Found 1 inch bug crawling on me in bed during the night and had to take apart the entire bed with mattress and box spring off frame to find it and killed it with bedspread. Asked for new bedspread and front desk said they would replace it but same one put back on the bed because I put a mark on the tag to identify it. Finally housekeeping put another bedspread on the bed. They sprayed for bugs the next day. Housekeeping took all the bath towels one day and did not leave any clean ones as they are supposed to. It took a while to get bath towels, front desk slow to supply towels, and we used our beach towels to dry off after showering. Almost missed dinner reservation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed three nights in Townhouse #2731. It's a decent place for a family of six. However, the owner needs to give the place a little TLC. The carpeting needs to be cleaned, the vertical blinds in the living room and guest bedroom need to be replaced. We had a minor problem with the handle on the toilet, but they sent a maintenance guy over the next morning to fix it. There's a large TV stand in the living room which hides the fireplace and takes up way too much room for a smaller space. There are about 15 stairs to go up to the bedrooms. The mattresses were ok, but should be replaced in the near future. There were no bugs. The resort is nice. I like the fact that there was security at the entrance of the resort. It took about 10-15 minutes to walk to the beach. We liked North Myrtle Beach better because it was less congested. It was about a 25 minute drive to Myrtle Beach - less traffic on King's Highway than Ocean Drive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debradale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
9.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,822 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
9.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Barefoot Landing
2.6 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Property: Ocean Creek Resort
Address: 10600 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing