We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT COULD BE SO MUCH BETTER....”
Review of Ocean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Creek Resort
Ranked #51 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Ocean Creek Resort for more than 20 years. We are now both retired and spend 3-5 months in the Myrtle Beach area. We are currently wintering at the property until the end of January, 2013. Despite the properties age and the issues that brings, Ocean Creek remains our favourate place to stay in the Myrtle Beach area. Ocean Creek Resort is close to great restaurants, bars and shopping. You can rent anything from an ocean-front unit or many other types of units.

What has most disappointed us for the past 4-5 years is the poor quality of the service we receive from Ocean Creek's staff when we try to book accomodation. Phone calls and email messages are ignored. We have been treated like mushrooms. This year we booked an ocean front unit directly from an owner. Our unit is fine and we are very happy with it. The owner has been accomodating and easy to deal with in all respects. We have the satisfaction of knowing that all of our rental payment is going directly to the owner rather than having a portion clawed back by the rental office.

Our wish would be that owners of other properties who are dealing directly with Ocean Creek Resort could understand that their unit will possibly be empty because of the poor service provided by the rental office. We have friends who have experienced the exact same problem and they have chosen to either stay elsewhere or book their unit with another rental firm.

We will never book directly with Ocean Creek Resort again and we would suggest that others do the same.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for sharing your concerns and I am very sorry to hear your dissappointment wiht our staff. I would love an opportunity to speak with you further to discuss the issues you have had in the past that are preventing you from staying with us directly. I assure you that we have our guests and owners best interest at heart and although I am new to the property, I am not new to our company and any feedback you can provide would be great for me to have to help our staff move in a positive direction. If you would call me I would love an opportunity to speak with you. My direct telephone number is 843-361-6010.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

872 - 878 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ocean Creek is a WONDERRFUL place to stay ! The staff are very helpful & friendly. The rooms from the lodge to the villas, to the towers are great. Very clean. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. The location is great & close to many shops & restaurants. I've been coming to Ocean Creek since the mid '80's & would not stay anywhere else !!

Room Tip: The south towers are the best ! Of course all of the rooms are great though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much not only for your warm words but for your recommendation. We appreciate you and your family very much and we are honored that you took the time to share with everyone about your many stays over the years. We are so glad that you are a part of our Ocean Creek family and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We loved the park like setting of Ocean Park. So peacefully tucked between a busy highway and the ocean. Very clean, well maintained, friendly employees and friendly guests. Our room, at our request in Lodge 2 was more like a small apartment ( complete with dishwasher, individual heat/cool system, individual hot water tank ) well decorated and furnished, we enjoyed the screen porch so much, for coffee, dinner one evening and the squirrells playing outside it were fun to watch. Our room was a couple minutes walk from the fish friendly creek and an easy and pleasurable 4 or 5 minute walk to the beach. Walking paths were plentiful and well kept. We've been staying ocean front on the south end of Myrtle Beach at a much pricier resort for over 25 years, we wanted to try someplace new, we did and it was Ocean Creek Resort and we won't return to that other resort on the south end of Myrtle, from now on we are Ocean Creekers and plan to return for a winter break in a few months.

Room Tip: If you like high rise, fancy and ocean front/ocean view the South and North Towers are lovely. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing with everyone how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so excited that you not only enjoyed for first stay but have planned to stay with us again the next time you come to our area. We love that you refer to yourself as Ocean Creekers! We appreciate you very much and look forward to seeing you soon!

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

For fall of the year and my needs, which were simple (inexpensive relaxation and beach time) this resort can not be beaten except perhaps by hotels catering to those who would like to have 5 star accommodations. I had an efficiency which was bordered on one side by a view of the pool and the other by the breakfast facility. I suppose I could have rented a condo in one of the towers on the beach but I did not desire such. I simply walked to the beach. I knew what I wanted and OC delivered. Perfect match.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing with everyone about how much you enjoyed your stay. The unique part about Ocean Creek is that is has something for everyone. We appreciate you and your family very much and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked this hotel the night before we arrived as we where road tripping. This room was amazing. We stayed in Lodge II on the first floor. The screened in porch was nice to sit out on for coffee and the room was spacious and had a kitchen with a full size coffee maker. The price was cheaper than the hotels on the beach ( off season). We stayed 2 nights. Myrtle beach downtown is about 15 mins away. Their beach is about a 8 min walk from our room as you can not drive down to it. Our building was one of the closest ones. The property is super clean and the room was very clean. The staff was nice and we will stay again if we come back to Myrtle Beach. It was also bike week and I was glad we didn't stay downtown Myrtle Beach as it was a party every night and Noisy. My 4 yr old loved the beach at Ocean Creek.

Room Tip: Buy some coffee,sugar and filters for your room. Units on the southside are shaded more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stojonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your awesome recommendation and for taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are so glad that your family found us and we hope that you will think of us again the next time you visit the Myrtle Beach area.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Tennis Villa we stayed in was beautiful. Very clean and equiped with everything we needed for our weekend stay. Only concern was that we checked in after dark and it was difficult finding the correct condo that was located upstairs. Rate was great for a two night stayed that was booked the same day as arrival. Will stay again in the future.l

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with everyone about your recent stay with us here at Ocean Creek Resort. We are so glad that you were pleased with your room and we hope that you and your family will stay with us again when you visit the Myrtle Beach area in the future.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The accommodations were wonderful (spacious and clean) for a reasonable price. This resort has great location close to everything and the beach is great. Staff was very friendly and always helpful. I definitely plan to come back and recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceancreek73, General Manager at Ocean Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us about how much you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to having you and your family return soon and thank you so much for your recommendation. We appreciate it very much.

Thank you so much,
Sabrina Hilliard, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Barefoot Landing
5.4 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#15 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,470 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
5.4 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#52 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
704 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sea Watch Resort
Sea Watch Resort
#37 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Creek Resort

Address: 10600 N Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#15 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $82 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Ocean Creek Resort are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Creek Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Creek Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing