We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Caravelle Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Grove City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with my brother(17) and sister(23) Aug 10-16 in an oceanfront jacuzzi suite. I was a little worried when I booked because of all of the other mixed reviews. I am glad to say we were not disappointed! Everything was wonderful. From Jay at check in to Tim at check out. We had a great stay here. The only problems we had were our front door had to be slammed for it to shut and the wifi service is not that great. Also the elevators are very slow but we were on the 4th floor so we mainly took the stairs. But other than that, there were no problems whatsoever. There are always activities going on such as the luau night with hula dancers and a fish fry on fridays. There is also a lot of kids activities that we saw going on like karaoke and games on the beach. Overall we were very impressed with this hotel and would definetly return when we go to Myrtle Beach again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing accommodations with The Caravelle Resort on your recent Myrtle Beach vacation! We are so glad your family enjoyed the Ocean Front Jacuzzi Suite and many on-site activities. We apologize for any maintenance issues you had with the entry door, and we will work to repair this right away. Your comments in regards to the elevators and wireless service is appreciated, as your feedback will help us as we make decisions for improvement moving forward. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    723
    313
    240
    217
See reviews for
1,156
656
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We checked in last sat afternoon, prior to our arrival I called and asked if room could be ready at 2pm instead of 3 and Kelly said "yes, I'm sure room will be ready then".We arrived and room wasn't ready and they had us wait until 3pm.
The front desk staff were okay. During our stay we had to wait for a long time to get an elevator to take us up to the 3rd floor. Luckily, hubby and I love to exercise and take the stairs but at times mom and baby were with us and it was kind of tough.. When we had to get groceries too! On our way out today, we had to wait for 25 minutes in order to get our luggage down. While we had to make 2 trips to get all of our stuff down, my mom was in the room with our baby and the housekeeping manager went to our room and told her that she had to leave because the new person was coming in (keep in mind this was at around 11:40am). She told my mom that we were an hour plus late. She was just as rude as the rest of her staff (housekeeping).

Next: Parking!!!!!!!!! Oh my... It sucks, the spaces are small, the layout is awful, we had to go up to the 5th floor and got stuck a few times, we than had to turn around and go across the street pretty much every night there after. It was such an inconvinience coming back every night with my mom and 2 kids. Their parking lots should only allow golf carts to park, that's how small the space is while you've got traffic coming and going. It's ridiculous!!!

Food was Ok! Our daughter liked the outside bars food. The drinks barely had any alcohol in them. The breakfast was too expensive for the quality. The Santa Maria rest. nachos tasted awful. We were at Santa Maria's last night and saw cockroaches outside the restaurant.

I must say, the room we had was big, that worked for us.

Now, air conditioning sucked Bc in our room it was either too cold or warm. The living room area where my mom and daughter stay, temp was leveled.

We found ants, called front desk and all they said was that they would spray the room.

Housekeeping was rude and when I called the front desk to make a request, it wasn't granted. I guess front desk staff didn't communicate with them.

I've been going to Myrtle Beach hotel isn't worth the $. We will definitely look into another property for next year.

We went to eat at Long Bay Resort and the hotel one afternoon and it looked nice and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncogneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review in regards to your recent stay at The Caravelle. We strive to give all of our guests an enjoyable vacation, and we are disheartened that we were unsuccessful in giving you a comfortable visit. With The Caravelle being in business for over 50 years, our reputation in repairing guest issues is paramount. It is with great concern that your comments are being addressed with our staff. I wish we had done a better job in correcting things while you were here. Please know we appreciate your patronage and will work to make sure we correct these issues you have incurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Caravelle Resort main building August 13-16 2014. The room surpassed our expectations, the staff and housekeepers were super friendly. Room and bed were very clean! We loved it and will be staying there whenever we come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvester M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at The Caravelle. We appreciate your recommendation to other travelers and are so glad you and your girlfriend had a wonderful vacation getaway. We are happy to welcome you to The Caravelle family, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at the Caravelle 2 years ago and again this summer. Both rooms were rented by a private owner so I will only review the resort here. In the two years that have passed, it seems like they are not keeping up with the buildings. The elevators are TERRIBLE. be prepared to wait. There is a strong smell of must coming from the carpets in the walkways. The pool was so crowded, it was a joke. Next trip to Myrtle, we will spend more money for a nicer resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllisluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
While we are disheartened to know that you were disappointed in the overall property, we know that hearing your feedback is vital to our continued success. Your comments will be shared with our staff and the property management company as we look to make improvements for the future. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will reconsider another visit with us, so that we may have the opportunity to provide the vacation experience you desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2014

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Caravelle Resort this month. The rooms were exceptional and the staff was very friendly. In particular, our server every morning for breakfast was wonderful. Rachel was very friendly and energetic. She gave us excellent service and my family always looked forward to breakfast with her during our stay. Overall, fantastic experience. We will definitely be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickcf1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at The Caravelle Resort. We are pleased to know that your family enjoyed the accommodations and amenities we have to offer. A delicious made-to-order omelet or waffle at the Santa Maria is a great way to start your day, and we are delighted that Raquel was able to make your experience that much more enjoyable. We hope you will plan a return trip to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I was skeptical about staying at the resort because I always read a ton a reviews and some were good and some were bad. We arrived and the men working at the front desk were FANTASTIC! Super nice and knowledgeable. We checked in and checked out our room and it was everything the pictures showed. We did have some weird stain on the fold out bed sheets but we simply called and they were right up to replace them. The location was great. Loved the little bar/grill they had leading out to the ocean. Some downfalls were that the elevators were pretty slow but I'm a pretty understading person so that didn't bother me. Also, the parking garage was almost always full so we had to park across the street in the over flow parking a lot (again, doesn't really bother me). All and all, our trip was great and we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn11beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing accommodations with The Caravelle Resort and letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are so glad that your family had a fun vacation and enjoyed the accommodations, food and beverage outlets and other on-site amenities. We appreciate your feedback, as we are constantly working to make improvements. We hope you will plan to stay with us again on your next vacation to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed in a spacious, ocean view room that had a kitchen, two queen beds and a living room. The carpet and upholstery were a little dated, but otherwise, the room was fine. Overall, this was a good value. The kiddie pool was the best part - it has a water feature that my almost-3-year-old daughter absolutely loved. She would have stayed in it all day if I had let her! The sun deck (near the indoor pool) is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurants on property are decent.

The carpet seemed like it could have used a good cleaning. It was sticky, and the room smelled a little musty. My feet were black on the bottom from only minutes of walking on the carpet. Also, the parking garage leaves something to be desired. There are two garages - one Oceanside with the main hotel and the other is directly across the street. The one next to the ocean should be for smaller vehicles only, as there is no adequate turnaround spot, the ceiling is very low and spaces are tight. My Ford Explorer was difficult to navigate, and my in-laws' Expedition did not clear the height upon entrance. The one across the street is better.

Overall, this is a cute, older hotel to stay at especially if you have small children.

Room Tip: Park in the garage across the street from the main, oceanfront hotel if you have a large vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at The Caravelle Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at The Caravelle. We are so glad your family chose accommodations with our resort. We are so happy to hear that your family enjoyed the accommodations and water amenities on-site. We appreciate your feedback, and your comments will be shared with our housekeeping department as we look to make improvements for our future guests. We hope you will plan a return trip to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,388 reviews
3.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#44 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,460 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
996 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caravelle Resort

Property: The Caravelle Resort
Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Caravelle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing