We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a short getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Caravelle Resort
Ranked #24 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Have no complaints about anything. If you can get a package deal that includes breakfast do it. No continental breakfast here!! Made to order omelets and waffles plus everything else you could want or think of. Even if you pay for the breakfast it is well worth what they charge. Nice quiet place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,463 - 1,469 of 2,582 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Caravelle. We stayed in a jacuzzi room on 3rd floor, last year we stayed on the 1st floor in a jacuzzi room, which is great if you have small children for the ease of access from your balcony/porch. The view was great and the room was nice, clean and comfortable. We used the stairs most of our stay so we can't really comment on the elevators. We only used the indoor pool at the main tower 1 time and we had it all to ourselves. Other than that we were out on the beach most of the time. We arrived at 9:00 PM so we were able to check in very quickly. Both Heather and Donna at the front desk were great! They have express check out, so you just drop your key cards in the basket and you are done, no waiting in line at all. The only reason we did not give a "5" rating is because prior to our visit we had a few questions and it took several phone calls, leaving messages and a few e-mails before we FINALLY got a return call from someone. I will say she was very apologetic that no one had contacted us earlier and she immediately answered all of our questions. Will definately be returning!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I chose to do a family trip with our 2 boys, ages 8 and 5 instead of the "typical" adult vacation for our wedding anniversary. We spent Saturday, Sunday and Monday at the Caravelle the weekend of September 21st, 2013. Upon arrival, we were able to check into our room a little early (around 1:30). Although it was said that housekeeping had already prepped our room, it was not the best. We had no shower curtain, the balcony was dirty and the toiletries were VERY minimal. That being said, housekeeping arrived very shorty after with a new curtain for us and cleaned off the outside balcony. My husband and I were very happy with the crowd at the Caravelle. We stayed at a similar resort (I won't name names...) in May with our kids and the atmosphere at the Caravelle was MUCH better than the other hotel on N. Ocean Blvd we stayed in. In the other hotel, there were beer cans floating in the pool and lazy river and the crowd was VERY noisy at night, doors slammed all night/morning long and it made it difficult to sleep. At the Caravelle however, the people were friendly and much more family oriented. The only thing I have to say about the pools/hot tub was that they were cold. :/ The hot tub, especially. On a weekend where the wind is whipping and once the sun has gone down, the pools really need to be warm....especially the hot tub. There were no towels any of the times we went to the pool area, whereas the other comparative hotel had an ongoing supply and we never needed to worry about towels for the pool. (We had brought our own for the beach, obviously). I love that they have the Marco Polo bar right outside the pool, on the way to the beach, just wish it and the little store inside the hotel were open more hours. There is nothing over-the-top or elegant about Caravelle, but it is a nice place to vacation with our kids. Loved the access to the pool and beach and the fact that we had a separate place for the kids to sleep and hubby and I could still look out at the ocean. Shower does not drain well at all and we showered with a LOT of standing water in the tub. View of ocean was breathtaking.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view rather than ocean front and still had a great view of the beach. We stayed in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent place with great service. However I would suggest staying in the actual resort side (not the St. John's side it doesn't even look or feel like part of the actual Caravelle.) But overall, a great stay. Johnna @ the front desk was very helpful in resolving our issues. She was courteous and very prefessional...Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The property needs to be updated.It doesn't seem like money is put into fixing things.I wondered if they had maintanence on the property because there was too many broken things and rusted and stained places.The unit I stayed in was old fashioned,it had broken and stained things.If things are not working in a unit people need to report or housekeeping needs to be checking to make sure everything is in working order for the Guest.The household appliances and cookware should be updated and working properly.Didn't feel safe using the bathroom in the indoor pool area door wouldn't lock since the lock is broken,no towels in the pool areas.Just an ok place to visit very nice area being close to the beach

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quita_skeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the week of September 15th. We had an oceanview efficiency double. Even though we got a great deal through Groupon, I most likely would not return to this hotel. First the good: internet included, breakfast buffet was also included (in our deal) and had decent food. Easy and included parking. View from the oceanview is pretty good. You could see a large portion of the ocean. Wouldn't see the point in paying extra for ocean front. Having full fridge, coffee maker, microwave etc. is nice. The bad: rooms are dated and old. Housekeeping really left something to be desired. They skipped us all together one of the days and the other days they just made the bed and changed out our towels. I know they didn't vaccum since there was some sand on the carpet and it was there untouched all week. I never heard a vaccum the entire time they were on our floor so I am sure they didn't vaccum any of the rooms.The shower was terrible. It didn't drain and you had an inch or so of water in the bottom the whole time you were in there. Internet was spotty the whole week. Ironing board but no iron in the room. Also, it may be the age of the hotel but there was only 2 available outlet spots in the entire room. This is tough for those that have cell phones, laptops, ipads etc. The pool area was not that great. They have a large pool, a kids pool, a lazy river and a kids lazy river. There were a lot of children here even though school is back in. The pool was freezing and is not heated. They also do not have staff walking the pool area enough in my opinion as kids were putting the lazy river rafts in the pool and no one said a word. I was disappointed that even with the volumn of people that still go in September that their beach bar was only open on Saturday and Sunday.

This was a great deal, but I would stay somewhere else next time that has a little more attention to detail. It just seemed dirty overall. Tiles in bathroom were not clean and it just gives the impression of an old tired hotel.

If you have a family and are looking for a cheap no-thrills place, this is your spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had 7 guest. 2 adults and five teenagers. We all had a great time. Our rooms were clean and we did not experience any problems that some of these other guest say they experienced.
For the money thsi was a really great deal.

Room Tip: If you do not like to walk to the beach make sure you stay on the ocean side. We stayed one block o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkhuff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,249 reviews
3.5 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Colony Resort
Beach Colony Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caravelle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caravelle Resort

Address: 6900 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3640
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#42 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $79 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caravelle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 574
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Message from TripAdvisor: Condominiums at the Caravelle Resort Hotel are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Caravelle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myrtle Beach Caravelle Resort
Caravelle Resort Myrtle Beach Sc
Caravelle Hotel Myrtle Beach Sc
The Caravelle Golf Family Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing