We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pretty good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #9 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here as part of our Hilton Grand Vacation time share. Check in was a breeze and you get free valet if you're with Hilton Grand Vacation. No problems with room - we had 2 bedroom. Everything was clean, kitchen/living room/bedooms and bathroom were all nice. Terrace was huge and overlooked a decent beach. Beds comfortable. Hotel pools good but nothing special. Lazy river pool seemed kind of silly considering size but it's something that a lot of hotels have in Myrtle Beach. Only issues we had were some of the appliances and furniture could use updating and wi-fi is medicore. That said, we're on vacation so wi-fi not that big a deal and you can always use smartphone cell service. We usually waited no more than 5 minutes for car and location is convenient to top attractions. I should also add that I've never stayed at another Hilton time share property before - only used RCI points until now. I've read a few reviews saying this is not up to "Hilton" standards but we all were pleased with experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank klebbeck236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 3,070 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

It gets a two for location, I have to give it that. This was a last minute reservation for only one night for a birthday trip with my daughter. Starting with the arrival, you pull into the garage with narrow limited space to manuever. You pull up to a cheap outside desk for valet where you unload your car. Since we were there for only one night we had minimal bags but did have beach chairs so needed the rolling luggage trolley. We were told we could not use them, that a bell person had to help us. Ok this is a little crazy so thus this means you HAVE to tip. Another vehicle unloaded all their bags on the bench there and went up and down until they had all their luggage taken up. That policy is crazy!! Next, if you don't valet park, parking is across the street and the second block up so for $12 we did valet. There are only two doors into where you check in from this valet desk, it is very crowded and the hallway is very narrow. Upon check in we were given no wristbands for the pool. Went up to our room, very small for what is advertised. The kitchen is very narrow but is a full kitchen. The balcony has 2 chairs and a small table which the balcony was not big enough for because when you would slide the door, it would catch on the back of one of the chairs so if someone was sitting there they had to get up to open/close the sliding glass door. We were on the 12th floor and di have a nice view. The room was not clean. There was cleaning spray visably left on the glass on the pictures as well as the telephone. I did take pictures of this if the hotel wishes to contact me and see them. There were large nics in the wall from where the backs of chairs had hit against them so much. There were large black marks on the walls. The washing machine was broke and we did call. They sent maintenance who said it was going to be a 30 minute job. My daughter was already in bed so I said forget it. Our room was righgt beside a model where tours went on nonstop during the day and lots of talking. It sounded as if the people were right in our room they were so loud. We called down for a pedicure and were told oh, we aren't a full service spa we don't do manicures or pedicures. This was a disappointment given it was raining and looking for something relaxing to do. Also, the massages were $100. Sorry, I have paid less at Boca Raton Florida and this is certainly not Boca!! Unbelievable!! LJ, our bell person was very nice and accomodating. He actually was the other positive along with the location. I did make this reservation through booking.com but that does not mean my room should be lesser quality and not clean with working appliances. Tip to you there, my room was $100 less on booking.com than through the hotel and still paid $339. Not worth the money at all and again cannot believe it's affiliated with Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to be on the north side. If you are on the south side you have a view of an older hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Bankerchic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, Marketing Coordinator at Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Anderson Ocean Club and Spa.
Feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met. We apologize that the room you were given did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness and are disappointed that our commitment to these items was not evident during your stay. We have shared your comments and concerns with our managers and staff and do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

As a Hilton Honors member I was disappointed in this property. It's really a condo and not a hotel but the amenities are lacking. Our studio with kitchen was really nice and well done, except for the tiny balcony. We were on the 10th floor corner so there was barely room for two chairs and a small table so it wasn't useable. The staff is nice and helpful. Did not enjoy the $12/day valet parking plus tipping every time we needed the car. There is free parking across the street in the garage but it's a schlep. The walkway to the pool area is thru the valet area and very dangerous to cross with cars coming and going. Pool area is all chopped up with lazy river, smaller pools, spas -- poorly planned and we couldn't enjoy it. The beach chairs and umbrella were $35/day -- usually free with rentals in my experience. We were packed in and couldn't move between the umbrellas. The 'free' internet barely works; their explanation is that the building can withstand a cat4 hurricane --okay but I still needed to do work while there and it was always going in and out. There is a small bar and a coffee bar on premises but didn't visit either. For a restaurant they direct you to Magnolias across the street. Had lunch there and it is a big southern fried buffet -- food was okay but did not return. Hilton usually does a great job but this place needs some work if it is going to carry the Hilton Brand.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have stayed here before. We (2) checked into a one bedroom suite. it seemed not as quite kept up as some of the other units I have previously stayed in. It had one queen sized bed, sofa sleeper and Murphy bed. Queen bed was quite comfortable but the other two get a thumbs down. next day we moved to a 2 bedroom suite on floor 20. It seemed to be in better condition but the living room furniture was definitely showing wear and tear. For a resort this expensive, I expect better in furnishings. Balcony was great, bedrooms were spacious and nice, and the ocean front view was gorgeous. Staff courteous, kitchen well furnished. Handicapped parking almost non existent except in parking garage which is across the road.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank REGENA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We were trying out the HGVC. We were satisfied with the hotels in Las Vegas but was very disappointed with this one. The rooms and the building itself looked dated. Lobby looked like a motel lobby and the amenities seemed to belong to a 2-star hotel. Will never go back to this hotel again...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ampyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We took our two kids (7 and 9) to the beach for a week and stayed in a 2-bedroom condo on the 19th floor towards the far right of the building (as you look at the beach). The room was incredibly spacious and we loved that the dining table could fit 6 people. We enjoy having breakfast and lunch in so the full kitchen was a huge asset. The downsides about the room are that there is no standard size table on the balcony (it would have been fun to have breakfast outside) and that you could hear some serious traffic noise from the strip on the other side of the building below. There were plenty of chairs and side tables though for cocktails out on the balcony. The kids spent a lot of time in the pool too. The lazy river is very small and extremely lazy. They loved the covered pool though and spent a lot of time playing there.

The location is fantastic! It was very convenient to be close to Broadway at the Beach where the kids loved going to MagiQuest. We also saw the Dolly Parton Pirates' Voyage. The food was awful there, but the entertainment was fun. We loved eating at Rios - a Brazilian steakhouse, but be prepared for a wait. We also like the pizza place across the street from the Sky Wheel. It is a total dive, but delicious. Mini golf at Captain Hook's golf was fantastic and the place right across the street was fun and challenging too - definitely better than we expected for being so close. We'll be back next year!

Room Tip: 1906 (?) the room to the far right on the corner as you face the ocean was nice because the room nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VacationRules1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

. We have stayed at many Hilton resorts with our points including some RCI and this was in no comparison. We arrived on a late Saturday night about 8pm. We checked in and the staff was great and we went into our room.We were on the second floor, ocean front above the pool. This was our honeymoon and we were excited about relaxing and enjoying the beach. However the night was filled with screaming children from the pool that we were right above and the music from the pool was playing until 11pm. We called the front desk and asked to be moved to a different room but there were none available. So we turned up the TV and tried to ignore it. The next few days were alright, the lazy river that were described in the resort turned out to be a very small oval, and there were several other very small pools in the same areas. One morning we were awoken by a drum band playing by the pool for a 15-20 minute drum show. I can understand how this can be fun and entertaining but why so early in the morning. There were also a few people who knocked on our doors in the morning, guests that were visiting other guests but were at the wrong rooms.

We were just disappointed that we had chose this resort as a Hilton and for our honeymoon and we would probably never go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank rauxjm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.7 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#7 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts

Address: 2600 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $95 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We feature luxurious-, two- and three bedroom condominiums with room service and other amenities including a day spa with hair and nail salon, flat screen TVs, fitness center, indoor & outdoor pools, lazy river, Jacuzzi, oceanfront bar, wireless internet and valet parking. Our full service spa offers massages, facials, men’s spa services and more. Close to many nationally recognized golf courses, restaurants and area attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Anderson Ocean Club And Spa, Oceana Resorts
Anderson Ocean Hotel
Anderson Ocean Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing