We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anderson Ocean Club and Spa, Oceana Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$83
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,146)
Filter reviews
3,146 results
Traveler rating
1,674
1,027
268
118
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,674
1,027
268
118
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetvalet servicehilton grand vacation clubfull kitchenlazy riverself parkingpool areawasher and dryerliving roomgranite countertopsmini golfmurphy bedthree bedroomoff seasonfitness centertime shareflat screen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,198 - 1,203 of 3,146 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at Anderson Ocean Club as deeded owners in the Hilton Vacation Club. Our first stay was in the off season during early fall, this latest visit took place in August peak season and both were frustrating because of similar issues. Problems start as soon as you arrive given the poor driveway layout, lack of traffic control and having to hunt down bellmen. During the fall my wife and her guest's attempts to schedule a massage went on for two days until complaining to the manager, poor service during that trip was blamed on it being off peak. During our August trip, poor service was blamed on it being peak season. While the rooms are well appointed and beds are comfortable (living room furniture comfort is ridiculous), they didn't seem to be anything special. The pool facilities are small and were very crowded. If planning to sit on the beach, bring your own equipment or you'll need to pay @$35/d for city chairs/umbrella as the hotel has a very limited number of chairs/umbrellas of a quality similar to what you find in a drug store or big box chain. During our most recent visit we also had at least a half dozen small maintenance items which were readily addressed but should have been noticed by the service staff (ie light bulbs not working) prior to releasing the room for occupancy. Management and operation of this property is a bit unique in that its a joint facility of condos under AOC Oceana and HVC, not an ideal service business arrangement. In summary, most issues during our stays pointed to a lack of management, supervision and training. It took 2 days for the manager to contact us about our concerns and that contact came after providing feedback to the HVC sales staff. There are many detailed concerns in other reviews here that we also noted and while there were many apologies and excuses, the management of this location simply seems missing in action.

Room Tip: It's no guarantee you'll get accurate information but calling the staff with questions will help set your expectations and help you plan on what you'll need to bring. Higher rooms have better views, ask about your proximity to the elevator lobbies which can be noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Anderson Ocean Club and Spa, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your opinion is extremely important to us. We regret that your stay was not what you expected. Please be assured that any issues you mention have been addressed accordingly. We do hope you'll visit with us again soon, allowing us to provide you with an even better experience, on which we pride ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location of this "resort" was perfect, however the building and other qualities were sub-par. Our room was a 2 br, 2 ba condo style room, complete with a kitchen and washer/dryer. The bedroom that held two full beds near the main hallway didn't have a fan, but what annoyed me the most was that there was a window to the hallway. Bright lights were on all night long without proper coverage to block out all the light. The bathroom shower kept backing up so that you were standing in water up to your ankles, and it kept rising as you showered. The kitchen was fine with newer appliances, but the washer/dryer were so loud. The cleaning service was great, the women were very nice and polite.

On to the rest of the building...
The fitness room was small, but it had everything you needed to workout with. The spa was excellent, atmosphere was amazing and massages were even better. I came out very relaxed. Every time we went near the mani/pedi place, the door was locked and reading other reviews about it, I'm glad I didn't waste money there.

It surprised me that there was no restaurant in this hotel, no gift shop, no snack store, and no breakfast. It did have a small Starbucks coffee shop, but according to my mother (since I don't drink coffee) she ended up walking two blocks down the road to an actual Starbucks to be able to get lattes and a full service barista. We went to the restaurant across the street that the hotel staff recommended and it was terrible. Magnolia's was $$ for the crappy, buffet food you get, definitely had better.

The bar was small and awkwardly placed, but the bartender and drinks were amazing. The pool area was divided up in numerous small pools and was constantly crowded with people. What was more awkwardly placed was the unloading/loading/valet area. You walk out the back of the hotel, across a two-car-wide area (the loading/valet section) to a door and down some steps to get to the pool. It was very dangerous, especially with all the small children. The valet people were very nice and quick about getting our car, which happened to be in a parking garage across a main street and across another small side road. It did tend to smell like trash as well since that was where they kept it.

All-in-all it wasn't terrible, but there just wasn't as much to do inside the hotel when the weather got bad. It just all felt very awkwardly placed to me, but all the staff was friendly and nice. I didn't have anything to do with check-in or checking out so I have no opinion in that matter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rreed827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Could not ask for more from the staff, they were as professional as they come. It seemed like they knew my questions and needs before they could be voiced. Would recomend this hotel to any traveler. The quality of the rooms themselves was so good, we rested in comfort and felt pampered from head to toe. Anyone in the area that heard we were staying at the Anderson was immediatly filled with envy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I visit Myrtle Beach every summer, and practically always have...even growing up as a child. I must say (hands down) that this is the nicest hotel that we have stayed at while in MB--and I have stayed at another nice one, but this tops it. The condo was beautifully laid out and quite spacious for our group of 5. Okay, the actual check-in can be overwhelming since the space is small; however, the guys at Valet are more than helpful. The bellmen will load your luggage on a cart and take it up to your room. They will do the same when you leave. They are quick, too!! Don't even attempt to stay here without doing Valet. It's $12 per day and very well spent! As far as cleanliness, I gave the hotel a 4 only because in the Master bathroom I found one long strand of brown hair in the shower and some soap residue on the side of the tub. Picky?? I didn't think so since I was greeted by both while in the shower. I was able to get past that and enjoy the room. There were no bed bugs, roaches, or rodents---so my family and I were okay! Other things to note: save your $8 per day for The Anderson's beach chair/umbrella rental. Though they charge it to your room, you have to lug it down to the beach and back by 5. Just splurge a little and buy a $25 rental per day one from the lifeguard on duty (which we typically do--the $9 difference would have been worth it). We rented 2 from The Anderson and the five of us could not fit under the umbrellas--one of the five was a 6 yr. old child, just to put it in perspective. The only drawback to this hotel is that there is no room service or restaurant. Just prepare in advance. For snacks and water/juice, there are two grocery stores on Kings Hwy---driving distance. For the best meal that you will ever eat, try the Captain Benjamin's Calabash. It's a few miles a way and $30 per adult, $12 per child, and drinks are another separate fee---but it's good! We have eaten there about 5 times. The jury is still out about whether or not it's worth your money, but you can't beat the variety and it's an all you can eat buffet!
My family and I really enjoyed this hotel and plan to visit it again very soon! Oh and as a bonus for staying at this hotel, you get FREE miniature golf (across the street before 7 PM) and FREE admission to a water park! Nice perks!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5star5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Overpriced for what it is- older units, not very clean. Housekeeping did a poor job every day.
Ugly properties near it, valet parking was a hassle, very small pools, no restaurant on site and the one across the street that they recommend, Magnolia's, is terrible. No lobby or entertainment at hotel. No breakfast at hotel other than Starbucks. Just not worth it.
Beach is okay- gets crowded. Prefer Outerbanks or Hilton Head. Would never visit again.
Strip is very tacky, bad restaurants. We did go to northern Myrtle Beach and had nice dining.
Waste of $$$$

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roseannHudsonValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanaResorts, General Manager at Anderson Ocean Club and Spa, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Your opinion is extremely important to us. We regret that your stay was not what you expected. Please be assured that any issues you mention have been addressed accordingly. We do hope you'll visit with us again soon, allowing us to provide you with an even better experience, on which we pride ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews