We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have stayed at the Dayton House every year for 13 years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We have stayed at the Dayton House every March for 13 years. We choose the third weekend in March for the PeeDee Street Rodders car show and always stay the week afterwards too. The desk staff are always nice and helpful. It is a quiet hotel catering to couples and families. You won't find any noisy high school or college kids here. The hotel has a very nice walk in heated pool and three jacuzzis. The rooms are nicely furnished. We have stayed in the suites building, and the other three oceanfront buildings as well. Our favorite are the angle view or side view rooms. The maid service is excellent. There is a great restaurant with walking distance - Uncle John's. Once you stay here, you won't choose anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrijv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
There are newer reviews for Dayton House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,610 - 1,616 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2010

Myrtle beach... what can i say. our family loves it so much we never want to go anywhere else. its the perfect place. we cry every year we leave. They dayton house just make it that much harder. With the great location, the rooms, to the beach, everything is amazing. I couldnt imagine heaven being too much better. Witth 3 pools (indoor, indoor/outdoor, and outdoor), a lazy river, and countless hot tubs and saunas, and the wonderful outside veiw of the ocean and outdoor tables that covers the outside area abou as far as you can see. I would never stay anywhere other then here. i love it so much i plan on moving there in the future. Would i recommend? You bet. Theres no other place in the world. And to the comment about bed bugs... that story is truly unbelieveable. i couldnt think that the dayton house would allow that to go on. its been very cleanly, and i never thought twice about the beds. We have stayed in over 4 different rooms in two different buildings and i have never heard or seen anything such as this. If your looking for perfection, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haleyrocks1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Stayed here during my daughter's cheer leading competition when our usual hotel was already booked up. We were pleasantly surprised. The suites were similar to those at our regular hotel but with a nicer kitchen. Indoor pool was a little small but our teens enjoyed it all the same. The internet connection was a little slow. The kids complained that the beds in the bedroom were hard as rocks (we slept on the wall bed - ocean view - and I thought it was comfortable enough). Every person on the staff that we dealt with was very friendly and helpful. Location is great: ocean front, about a mile from Broadway at the Beach, about 4 blocks from the convention center, several restaurants within walking distance. We will absolutely consider staying her again on a future visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebnJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Upon arrival for check-in it was very frustrating to find absolutely NO parking while checking in. At the time of check-in, I was not aware that there was a lot across the street. I checked-in in the evening and the staff was EXTEMELY RUDE!!! My reservation was made by my husband and a joint visa was used to hold the reservation. I did not have that exact credit card on me but offered an additional credit card to be on file but wanted to the charges placed on the joint acct credit card. I was told it absolutely could not be done and they needed cash to be paid (IN FULL) at time of check-in. UNACCEPTABLE!! I have never gone to any hotel where they have told me I can not leave the charges on the credit card that was on file. I was given my room key and the woman told me my room number. Unfamiliar with the hotel (more like cheap MOTEL), I was sent on my way. I was unsure of which bldg to go to because I was never told at check-in, just my room numbert. I was by myself and had two children with me and decided to try the north bldg (dingy) to see if the room numbers matched. I had to park my car in front and bring the kids into the bldg just to see if that was my bldg (if the room numbers matched). When we found the room, the room key DID NOT WORK. I had to drag my kids over the office again and have the cards re-activated. VERY INCONVENIENT and UNACCEPTABLE!!! I finally got into my room with the luggage to find the room very run-down and dingy!! Very disappointed! I will be placing my opinion and every website possible! It is too bad that...I....did not read the reviews of your "hotel??" before I stayed, I would have NEVER stayed there!! P.S. While we were there the next hotel had a break-in and items were stolen out of the room, someone was mugged on the street (no lie) and behind the convention center, approximately 3-4 blocks up, someone was stabbed on Saturday night. Hmmm...think twice about a vacation there, I know I will!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DittoBball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed at the Dayton House several years ago and didn't remember anything negative about it, so while planning a recent trip to Myrtle Beach I didn't feel like sorting through the thousands of hotels and made a reservation at the Dayton House.

They have at least 3 buildings, I stayed in an Oceanfront efficiency in the North Tower. The first night the bed was so lumpy and uncomfortable, the bottom sheet kept coming undone, even after we got up and fixed it. Luckily, the room had 2 beds and we slept in the other the remainder of our stay, it was better, but far from comfortable- soft and bouncy. The room is in need of updating. Perhaps it depends which building you stay in, maybe one is better.

The grounds and facilities seemed well kept, but with all the hotels in the area I'm going to try someplace else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I was recommended to use tripadvisor to find a place with a good review to travel to myrtle beach,sc because i had never been there before. We decided to try Dayton House. Despite it being an older facility, it does have mutliple buildings, multiple pools and is along the beach. The staff is pleasant, the place is larger because it has mutltiple small buildings on its grounds. I enjoyed my stay there because you could easily walk along the enormous beach without any problems. The road adjacent to the hotel is a safe thoroughfare to other delis, stores, restuarants and hotels. It is close to the downtown section where they have amusements and plenty of stores to shop at.
I haven't been able to visit recently, but the next time we go again we will definitely stay at Dayton House. We like the efficiencies which allow you to go to local walmart get your food and save on eating out all the time with a family of 4, it saves you money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gebe04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We've enjoyed Dayton's lovely green beachfront with great oceanview and umbrella tables for years--one of the finest at Myrtle. Since the original owners sold to a large chain a couple of years ago, the linens, appliances, etc. have't been updated. What was vintage 70's charm indoors has become just worn and unfresh. Ask if a newly decorated room is available and check it out Otherwise, moderate prices are still available through mailings for their nice amenities. Fairly calm area with nearby Uncle John's restaurant.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank barblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing