We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed February 10, 2006

My son and I have stayed at Dayton House Resort for 3 years now. I keep going back for the affordable rates, nice hotel and great staff. I have not found a hotel even half as nice that is as inexpensive as the Dayton House. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
There are newer reviews for Dayton House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,768 - 1,774 of 1,892 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Mooresville Indiana
111
Reviewed February 2, 2006

I have been staying at the Dayton House for 12 years..(13 this year) and Im only 15..This place is great, if your looking for good clean family fun. If you want a five star resort then you have came to the wrong place. With the 3 pools, 3 hotubs, 2 saunas, and a lazy river it is the ultimate relaxation plce. The staff at the Dayton House are always friendly and keep a clean place. All rooms have a balcony which is very nice at night to look at the beach and such. When I have a family someday this will be the place I keep coming back to.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Monroe,NC
18
Reviewed February 1, 2006

We stay at the Dayton House every year,several times in fact.This is the cleanest and friendliest of all the places we have ever stayed. It may not have the most glamorous of furnishing,but I will take clean any time.We have never been disappointed in our visit.

Stayed: January 2006
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

My family of four stayed at the Dayton Inn January 14, 2006 in a king suite (bedroom, galley kitchen, bathroom, and living room with wall bed). The room was clean but very sparse. The furniture was old and outdated, but again, clean. Nothing fancy to this place at all. I was a bit disappointed, I have to admit, after reading the rave reviews this hotel received here and it certainly did not live up to them in my eyes. We used the indoor pool and hot tub, but you almost felt outdoors--it was cold in the room it was in and you had to brave the outside to get to the elevators, so be aware of that if you plan a winter trip and an indoor pool is important to you. The halls to the suites are sort of indoors--they are enclosed but wind still rustles through the plastic coverings over the "windows", so I would almost call it an exterior entryway to your room. Check in was easy, I guess, but I had "the new girl" and she gave us the wrong room number (we didn't just hear her wrong, she wrote it incorrectly on our paperwork). A maintenance employee radioed the front desk and found out our true room number and took us to our room, making sure we made it in with our room card--definitely friendly and helpful staff.

So, overall, this hotel does NOT live up to its rating here and I would only consider it average at best. Cleanliness is certainly important and it does at least meet that standard, but it lacks in atmosphere, environment, furnishings, etc. I wouldn't want to spend more than a night here.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank llfmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pulaski, Virginia
14
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We only stayed Sunday through Wednesday so it was a short inexpensive get-away trip before our daughter starts back to school. When we arrived in Myrtle Beach we walked through several of the motels we had looked up on tripadvisor. We chose Dayton House based on its ranking and the cleanliness, quantity, and quality of its indoor pools and amenities. We were also pleased at check-in to be paying less than $60/night total for our stay. The room was terrific. We were top floor oceanfront in the suites building. It was great for watching the birds,snowbirds and relaxing waves. The room was spacious, had all the amenities needed, and most important provided privacy for both my wife and I, and our daughter. It was clean and seemed up to date. We had the indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna to ourselves. We had never been to Myrtle Beach because of the crowds. We figured January was a good time to come for economy and solitude and we were right. The biggest drawback was that many attractions, shows and restaurants close for winter or a portion thereof.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Laurinburg, NC
115
Reviewed January 8, 2006

I stayed at the Dayton House after searching many hours for a hotel in Myrtle Beach with an oceanfront view and handicapped accommodations, most importantly, a roll-in shower. Being ranked sixth by Tripadvisor, Dayton House seemed a good choice and, after staying overnight, it was. . .sort of.

The service was very good and friendly--hotel staff helped with raising the bed height for my needs. On the other hand, within minutes after entering the room, a half-used bar of soap was found in the bathroom, two empty beer cans were in an empty drawer, and a half-eaten cookie was under the bed. In addition, the diagram of the room located on the hotel's website is not realistic. The actual room is much smaller and cramped.

Overall, the trip was great, but the Dayton House was just okay.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2005

Dayton House provided our family a nice, clean, affordable fall vacation destination. The grounds were immaculate and the staff were wonderful and efficient. Dayton House is nicely located. Just 2 miles east of Broadway at the beach and about a 20 minute drive to either Murrell's inlet or N. Myrtle. The parking garage in the building we stayed, which was the Suites building, was small and would never be able to accommodate large vehicles. Even though the No vacancy light was on, it never seemed crowded, but that was probably due to the fact that it was fall and there were more Couples than Families. Housekeeping was exceptional. The rooms aren't "glamorous" but it is MB, not Manhattan. The resort doesn't have common areas like a large lobby, etc or an onsite restaurant, but many were within walking distance. We had a suite with 2 double beds, small galley kitchen with full size fridge and stove and a living area with dining table, love seat and dresser/tv. There was also a wall bed, but we didn't need it. The bathroom was large for a MB hotel room. We would stay here again if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pitsypits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,183 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing