We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$79
$48
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$206
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Strand a Boutique Resort(Myrtle Beach)
$89
$71
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$74
$59
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$89
$71
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$109
$87
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Crest Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)
$214
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,377)
Filter reviews
2,377 results
Traveler rating
1,076
697
341
134
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
697
341
134
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuites buildingyellow umbrellasyella umbrellaacross the streetlazy riversouth buildingocean frontgrassy areazero entryoceanfront efficiencylounge chairsoceanfront roomsky wheelhot tubmurphy bedparking garagebeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
2,281 - 2,286 of 2,377 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2005

The Dayton House has a great family atmosphere!!! The price of the rooms really can not be beat, however, you get what you pay for. Our room was somewhat clean I agree with the review about the bedding I am not sure if it was changed daily. We stayed in the older building with the outdoor pool in front which was very nice. The outdoor pool was very clean!!! The staff was very friendly!!! I am really not sure if my family and I will stay again but we really did enjoy are stay. One other thing our shower did not drain very well but I think it is due to the fact that the hotel is older. If you are on a budget this is the place to stay!!!! We got it for 108.00 nightly so make sure you ask for the specials!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Porgie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Harrison, Ohio
114
Reviewed July 16, 2005

We just got back from a wonderfully pleasant stay at the Dayton House. When we arrived, it was around 11 in the morning. Their check-in isnt until 2 in the afternoon, but after drving over 10 hours and being tired, we thought we'd check anyways and sure enough, our room was ready for us and we were able to have an early check-in. The staff was extremely friendly and explained everything we needed to know. The room was on the 5th floor and was oceanfront with the best view! The room was fairly large and you never felt cramped in it. It had everything you need for a fantastic stay and made you feel at home. The maid did a wondeful job keeping the room clean and always gave us plenty of fresh towels and such. The wristbands for the pool area are a good idea, it keeps out unwanted guests from other hotels. The hotel has a yard full of tables with umbrellas right in front of the ocean available for your use at no cost during the day and at night. There were always grounds-keepers out picking up trash and straightening the chairs and keeping everything well-maintained. This is the best hotel we've ever stayed at and will return. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation just like every one should be!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2005

We stayed at Dayton House for our family vacation. It is a great area to stay in. Not too far away from the fun, but far enough to enjoy some peace and quiet on the beach. The staff at the Dayton House were very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very clean and maid service brings fresh towels, empties trash, makes beds, and vacuums daily. They do a wonderful job. The rooms have hairdryers, irons, and ironing boards. They also have dish soap provided so you do not have to bring your own.
The swimming pools and hot tubs were great! My son had us try each one on the very first day. They have a great ocean front walk-in pool that increases in depth as you walk into it. The deepest point is the middle. Both ends are shallow. The deepest point is only 5 ft. It was my favorite, but the other pools were great, too. They have an indoor/outdoor pool, a lazy river, a large indoor heated pool, the walk-in pool, a 1 ft. kiddie pool, 3 hot tubs (that are super!) and a sauna. There is a gift shop located within the resort also. The items are fairly reasonable in price unlike most hotel gift shops. We forgot my son's swim floaties and we bought some there for less than $2.00.
Dayton House is very family oriented. Staff continuously walks around making sure things are taken care of. You also have to wear snap on bracelets in the pools, but these were not a problem at all and it made me feel secure that they do not allow just anyone to use the pools, you must be a guest staying at the Dayton House.
There is an ocean front lawn with tables and chairs to use throughout the day. It is well kept and very clean. A small trash can is even provided at each table for your own personal use. There is a bathroom located near the walk-in pool so you do not have to go all the way back to your room.
Parking was the only thing that could've been a little more convienient. You can load and unload at the building you are staying in, but it's very rare to find an empty parking space on that side. Parking is available across the street or in the parking garage. The parking garage is 6 levels so there is plenty available in there. The spaces are rather small in the lot and work best for cars. I would recommend the parking garage for trucks and SUV's .
Dayton House is not a fancy place with satin sheets and white carpets. If you want that the you need to look somewhere else. If you want super clean, super affordable, and super family fun then look no futher...Dayton House in the ONE!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank scj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2005

We stayed at the Dayton House during our summer vacation in Aug 2003.
Our room was in the middle building, and it was very clean! The staff was very friendly and considerate (no door knocking at 7:00 am). The pools were great and so was the lazy river. We didn't feel crowded like we have in the past at other resorts. There was plenty of parking and the location is close to everything without being right in the middle of the crowds and the traffic. They also have a very family-oriented atmosphere, which was nice considering we had our 2-yr old daughter with us. We look forward to returning to the Dayton House every time we visit Myrtle Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SutherlandClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2005

We recently returned from our vacation at Myrtle Beach and picked the Dayton House as our place to stay because the reviews sounded great and the price was right. The room was an oceanfront efficiency and was the building that has the half indoor half outdoor pool. Upon entering the room it was nice...nothing fancy but the beds were made and it was stocked with towels and the cupboards had dishes in them. The view from our room was nice too and we did enjoy sitting out on the balcony. (We stayed on the 6th floor.)

The only minor problems I had was with the bathroom and the bedding.

In the bathroom the toilet was not secured to the floor and would jiggle and you had to hold the handle down when flushing. The floor didn't look very clean and there was a dead bug on it. It had a urine smell too which could be from the toilet not being installed correctly.

The bedding often appeared dirty or just stained. I wasn't sure if the beds were just made each day or if they did actually put on new clean sheets.

The housekeeping people would restock the towels each day, make the beds, and I think they would vacuum too. The staff was very friendly.

Overall it was okay but not sure if we would stay there again or try something different.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Andi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews