We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a deal!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a deal!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2005

We received a deal through Travelzoo for the Dayton House. The room was 59 a night. So we took off for a quick weekend getaway. It was well worth it.

The room: Was clean and larger that I expected. We had 2 queen beds with a small kitchen area. There was also a sitting area and a table with 4 chairs. The cooking supplies are limited but we just used it for breakfast and sandwiches at lunch. I would not want to cook a meal in the kitchen.

The pool: There were many to choose from but the kids liked the gentle entry pool. A tip: make sure you wear your braclets there is someone walking aroung looking for them.

The grounds: They were nice with the tables and unbrellas on the lawn. Parking was tough to find but it was there you just had to walk a block or so sometimes.

The hotel is in a great area and we had a nice trip. THe staff was very nice upon check-in and check-out and we even received a free gift when we arrived.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank off2ctab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    562
    250
    90
    88
See reviews for
857
495
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
medina, ohio
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2005

our stay at the dayton house was fantastic- all the staff were very helpful and extremely cordial- the room was nice and cozy- we really liked the wrap around balcony. we also liked the grassed in back yard to lay out and the swings. When ever we come back to myrtle beach will definitley be staying at the dayton house resort. thank you all so very much

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tbird143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 3, 2005

The staff was very nice. The service was good. The room was clean. The view was great!!. The property was well managed.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2005

The hotel is actually many buildings. It is old but clean. We had the golf package and found the staff helpful and eager to assist. The room was small but adequate, although a little "tired" looking and feeling. The breakfast included in the package was served in a restaurant across the street. Although a little inconvenient in the rain and cold, the staff there also made us feel at home. If you are looking for a modestly priced, utilitarian place without any glamor, it fits the bill. There were alot of families there with small children and it appeared that they were thoughly enjoying playing in the pools and on the beach. It is convenient to all the attractions in the area and is within walking distance of restaurants and bars.

Helpful?
5 Thank SwedeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2005

Our family just got back from spending spring break at the Dayton House. I would definitely go back there again. The room was adequate and clean. The nice thing about the Dayton house was as far as I could see had the nicest grounds of all the hotels. It has a beautiful grassy area with many tables with umbrellas so if you did not want to sit in the sand or by the pools, you could sit under one of the umbrellas on the grass. The grounds and pools were also very well kept. Every morning the workers were out cleaning and getting ready for the day. The staff was also very accommodating. It is in a very good location with a good breakfast place nearby and a pizza place within walking distance also. I would highly recommend the Dayton House.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Magster6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 5, 2005

We stayed in an ocean view room in the North Building at Dayton House. We were there for five days at the end of March, 2005. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. The view of the ocean was awesome, and the hotel was clean and well maintained. There were many pools, and we didn't find the wristbands to be a problem. The grassy area worked well for laying in the sun. It is centrally located, in a quiet part of town with plenty of available parking. Thanks, Dayton House! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2005

I had never been to Mrtyle Beach, till late Sept. 2002, was looking for something different, other than Ocean City Md. Went on the internet and started looking at where to stay, and came across the Dayton House, looked like a nice place, had many different value packages, so I choose them, had really great stay, room very clean, staff friendly, and grounds clean. Went back in late Sept. early Oct. last year another great time with same results from Dayton House just a little noiser this year caught Fall Bike Week, made it interesting. Going back this year first week in October and again the end of November and already have my reservations booked for the Dayton House, would'nt stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,225 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing