We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation - Hard to Complain about Anything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #28 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Dayton House makes the most of what they have. Not the newest hotel - but they maintain it very well. Stayed three nights after Memorial Day - oceanfront room in South Building; 9th floor. Great view. The fridge and kitchen came in handy. Nice pools and hot tubs. Plenty of area to relax in front of the beach.

They seem to have plenty of staff cleaning and maintaining. I also had no trouble calling to make a reservation or double-checking it just before I arrived.

I was unsure about wireless Internet. I didn't bring my computer, but they had a couple of computers in the main office you could use to check e-mail and such. I never waited to use one.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CRW9242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,718 - 1,724 of 1,962 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

My family and I have stayed at the Dayton House since 1998. Quality service from all the staff. Clean comfortable rooms. Very aforable with great amenities. The pools and the lazy river are wonderful. You have a great grass area with umbrellas and lounge chairs to relax or just a few steps to the beach. Dayton House is close to the down town but not in the beach traffic. The staff, from check in to check out is there for you.All staff members are friendly and are ready to make you stay a pleasent one. We have stayed in many differnt rooms and can say, there is always a good view. We have been staying about 3 times a year, and will not stay anywhere else. Try the Dayton House. You will love it. You will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRFD106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Just got back from bike week and I loved this place. The rooms were so crapy that you could not tell that we trashed it even more. Everyone was in and out of our room and plenty of people around who would rather fight you then to look at you. My kind of people.

It was great how everyone who came near the hotel got pelted with water ballons and what ever was not tied down in the hotel room.

I guess this is the last year for bike week but we made it a great one!!!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank southernbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

This was the first time my family stayed and loved it. My 2 girls want to go back. We love the many pools they have and everything is so convenient. The aquarium and children's museum are not far from hotel. The staff were so nice. Rooms are not updated but it was very clean. Great Family hotel. Will stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The hotel is adequate and I consider it a great value. The staff is friendly and maid service efficient. Pools and facility in general are clean and well maintained. Relaxing under the umbrella's was very enjoyable however, caution is due. The area is located next to a public right of way leading to the beach so be aware when taking valuables to the lawn/table area. As we sat reading with our backs to our table, a man came up from the beach and stole our bag containing valuables. So be alert, theives may be lurking.
Other than this unfortunate occurance it was a great, relaxing place to stay. This hotel is very quiet and geared toward mature adults. I would not recommend it to younger couples looking for a lively crowd.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeemerTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

The location of this "motel" is great! I didnt pay over $60.00 a night, and very glad that I didnt! It is great for a family on a budget who will stay on the beach for a number of days, but not for a choosy traveler who prefers a more modern hotel. The outdated furnishings didnt bother me, but the standing water that surrounded my feet as I showered most certainly did! Loved the microwave, large fridge and stove. The room was clean, but smelled dank. Great view of the beach, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrettyInPink18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We revisited the Dayton House for our 45th ann. It had been 43 years since we had been there.The rooms were not fancy BUT the cleanest that I have ever stayed in.Our room was next to the elevator but very quite.All of the staff was very nice. My favorite part was the lawn between the pool and the beach,with FREE umbrellas and tables and chairs. The only thing that was not my favorite was the parking across the street but the trade off was worth it.This place is great for people of all ages.I will be back next year!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyonthebeachSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#14 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,079 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $54 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing