We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, Dirty, Must have changed management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
A TripAdvisor Member
“Disappointing, Dirty, Must have changed management”
Reviewed August 17, 2004

We have stayed at the Dayton House many times. We have recommended the hotel to our friends and family. I have always told people the most important thing about Dayton House was not that it was fancy because it was not fancy but the important thing was it was clean and comfortable. We arrived July 31, 2004 and stayed to August 7, 2004. We stayed in the suites building. We had family with us and had three suites. It was so embarrassing. The windows were dirty, the air conditioner filters were filthy, behind the Murphy bed was unbelievable. Dust was thick on the air conditioners. I know the dishes are not to be washed by the maids but they should be clean when you arrive. They were in the cabinet dirty. Each day as we received the towels and wash cloths we would discard the stained wash cloths. The linens should be clean and if they can't be cleaned new ones should be supplied. Is this hotel under new management????? Try moving the loveseat and cleaning, it can be moved by one person. It is very light in weight. Don't lose something and move the loveseat to look for it. The dirt will gross you out.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    562
    250
    89
    89
See reviews for
859
496
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 11, 2004

Stayed @ Dayton House July 5th - July 10th 2004. Our experience with the resort was excellent. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. We stayed in side view room, South Building and still had a good view of the beach and ocean. We traveled with two other families, and we all enjoyed our stay. The kids enjoyed the pool area, and the grass area with tables and umbrellas between the pool area and beach is a nice extra touch. It provides a nice place for kids & adults to get into some shade for a break. This hotel is conventiently located within walking distance of several restaurants (California Pizza;seafood- Bennetts & Dirty Dons are good, ice cream) and Starbucks and Krispy Creme. We definitely plan on staying here again when we return for future dance competitions at the convention center, which is only three blocks away. I understand the comments about the "pool bracelets"; however, this does keep kids from other hotels invading your pool. Our daughter lost her bracelet in the ocean riding her boogie board; the hotel replaced free of charge. I recommend only wearing the bracelet at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2004

My family of five stayed @ the Dayton House Resort for seven days (6-23-04 - 6-30-04). We had a wonderful stay and would highly reccomend this hotel for families to stay at. Our room was very clean and the daily room cleaning service was excellent. We stayed in an ocean front suite on the seventh floor. We had a great view of the ocean and were able to overlook the lazy river pool area. Parking at this building was very limited but there is adequate parking areas one block away. The hotel offers a wide variety of pools(kid /adult/indoor/outdoor/heated), hot tubs, lazy rivers, and saunas for you to use. They also have a workout room but we did not use it. A laundry room with approx. five washers and dryers is located in one building that was one block away from us. They also have a large grassy area with tables and umbrellas to use. Checking in and out of this hotel was easy. One item, at the hotel, we did not like was the bracelets the hotel made us wear when we were using their pool facilities. They were bright colored bracelets that kept falling off. If you loose one you have to get another one and pay ten dollars. All in all, excellent place to stay for families, we will stay there again if we return to Myrtle Beach in the future.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2004

was going to stay there but the people that work there are not nice, my family has stayed there two other time and every time we have this. i would tell you to go to the best western they are so much better

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2004

Stayed three nights and would have gladly stayed longer. The accomodations were very nice, no surprises - we got the room we requested. The entire staff was very pleasant, from the front desk to the maids to the men cleaning the pools every morning and doing the yardwork. Excellent location as well, far enough from downtown to avoid the crowds and noise, but close enough to walk to. Also noticed a real drop in the crowds at restaurant row - looks like everyone is going to Broadway at the Beach now. We didn't have to wait in line for dinner, even at the best places on restaurant row.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2004

Stayed at Dayton House 6/3-6/7 and had a great time. Went for the Sun Fun Festival and chose the Dayton House because it is close to the Pavillion where a lot of events take place. However, it is far enough away that you're not stuck with all the noise and cruising traffic. Two adults/one child stayed in the king end suite. Very clean, great view, and a $100/night special! For non-swimming and smaller kids they have good pool options. The hotel is within walking distance to some good restuarants. We will go back!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal Township,PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2004

We just got back and would have loved to stay. Dayton House is quiet and clean and I would go back in a minute. The only problem is parking, which is not a major problem because they have many parking lots to choose from across the street from the hotel, but if you want to park in a parking garage you might be upset. If you are looking for super fancy, this is not for you but if you want a clean, quiet hotel for a good price you can`t go wrong with Dayton House.

Helpful?
1 Thank collegefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#12 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,228 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing