We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #30 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed August 30, 2008

This was our second stay at the Dayton House in the Suites building. Our first was 2 years ago. The rooms need are hurting for renovations and updates. In just 2 years we noticed a difference. It also was not as clean as we remembered. Housekeeping was not up to par. I'm not sure they own a sweeper or washcloth. Also the resort is non smoking including on the balconies - HAH! If you are a smoker, you should stay there and smoke on your balcony. Even when reported, the staff did nothing about it. Oh, we also booked under the "stay 5 nights, get 2 free" deal. We were overcharged. Luckily my husband caught the error.

On the upside, the location is great. The best feature of this resort is still the lawn area conveniently located between the beach and the pool areas.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MKGPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,892)
There are newer reviews for Dayton House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,663 - 1,669 of 1,892 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2008

I agree with the reviews indicating the place is starting to look long in the tooth and showing heavy signs of wear and tear everywhere. This was our second year here giving them the benefit of the doubt after being told the place was being spruced up. Last year, our room had a stain in the ceiling and we woke to flaking ceiling paint on the beds every morning. Staff was not at all appologetic but they were very creative with explanations. We tried to book out earlier than we had planned and when we asked for a nights refund the desk staff (Owner?) was beyond rude...he was downright hostile. This place boasts internet availability, however, what they don't tell you is that the rooms do not have an internet connection, you are relagated to going into an open air "lobby" or thru-way to get a signal...entirely rediculous. One would think that the number of people in this lobby trying to check email would be a signal for the Owners to jump right into the 1990's and provide internet service in the rooms. The cleaning staff has always been very friendly. It's a quiet place for older travelers and young families. I think this place is hit or miss with emphasis on the miss.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mbinmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I often read the reviews and wonder if there are competitors who write reviews. I saw so many bad reviews on this place but was told it was nice. Well maybe it was nice 30 years ago but not so much anymore. First, the enjoyment of your visit greatly depends on which building you stay. Fortunately, we stayed in one of the 3 partial ocean view room areas. There are two or 3 full ocean view areas and a whole building across the street from the main resort. Our party was spread out and some stayed in the full ocean view and one couple stayed across the street. Across the street was not so great. The room was tiny, the view was terrible. The room was a mess. The Sea Echo Motel behind it looked like a "no-tell-motel". It just wasn't very nice. Even our rooms weren't cleaned very well and the rooms are BADLY in need of rennovation. The Fridge, stove, oven and microwave were nice though. Some complained about the street but it looks like most of the resorts require crossing the street. The grassy area out front was nice. You could sit and watch the ocean above the sand line. However, though they require a wristband, it seemed loosely enforced and with the public beach access running right through the middle of the resort, it seemed a lot of non resort guests used it. This public beach access made the safety of property a bit suspect too. Additionally, the port-a-potties for the public access made for an oh so pleasant smell especially every couple of mornings when they emptied it. I feel like for the money, there are a couple or three better places to stay from what we saw. Rather than state them and look like a competitor, I would say, just do your research. I wouldn't say don't stay here, but I would say, you might be able to find some better spots for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hattrix1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

This resort was perfect for a family that likes poolside and ocean fun all day and a quiet restful night.Lots of parking,clean environment and helpful staff. We will be returning.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank AccfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I was kinda worried after reading some of the reviews on here. But after my stay I will have to say that those people that said the hotel was bad were wrong.
I am single mom and I took my two boys. We had a wonderful time. My oldest son said he liked it and he don't like much this days.
The walk in pool is great for little kids to adults. The ocean front is nice. But if you want one of those tables; you will have to get up before dawn. I stayed in the south tower. It was nice, I really liked the clean room.
I liked that they had a restuarant a block away.
But I did not like having to park in the parking garage. That is a long walk with a tired 2 yr old.
My over all exp. was great; the staff where great. I will be staying there next year too.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosecarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Don't go expecting anything great. This place really needs a good cleaning and updating. The first room they put us in had a large stain and part of the ceiling was flaking off, also had a strong musty smell. The desk said the room should have not been booked as it was "under repair". We were moved and at least this room did not stink. The bedspreads are faded and everything is old and dated. The bathtub would not drain well and by the end of a shower you were ankle deep in water.
The pool area was clean and there was a good amount of seating. The staff were friendly as were the housecleaning staff.
I will not go back with my family, we can live with dated but not dirty and smelly.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank druggist87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Great place for a family to stay. Great security, everyone who is a guest must where a wristband when at the pools, keeps people from off the beach from walking up, this is strictly enforced. Not overcrowded, we left the day before July 4th. Everyone was friendly. We did not have reservations, we just walked in and they found the best rates for us, which was a 25% discount for a last minute special. We had a room with 1bedroom, full kitchen, living roon with a wall bed and it was ocean front. The house cleaning people were extremely friendly. I would defintely recommend this place for a family.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank null4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,183 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing