We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Oceanfront Hotel with Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #28 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average Oceanfront Hotel with Great Service”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The building itself could use some renovating due to age and wear and tear. For instance, there was rust on some parts of the shower and the carpet and bedspread had an overall musty smell. The room set-up was crowded with two beds and the rest of the furniture. However, the room was clean and the location is great and centrally located for beach time, food, and entertainment. In addition, the customer service quality and friendliness of the staff was excellent except for the cleaning crew.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEK0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    558
    239
    88
    85
See reviews for
835
490
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Johns , Florida, USA
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Located right on the ocean front! Great Views. Staff was friendly and would help at anytime! Look forward to a return visit. Although it did not rain on our trip, in was nice to know that the indoor pool was there if needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been to the Dayton house on three different occasions and have always enjoyed it . Service has always been good and everything is so convenient the pool , ocean and food court. Rooms were clean and everything you could ask for . We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic Beach, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Dayton House for several days in June. We had a great time, we loved all the amenities especially the pool bar and outdoor pool areas. The staff was great; they were friendly and very helpful. We had a great time, and are currently planning our next stay here. We also enjoyed the convenience of the Uncle John’s Restaurant, the food and service was awesome. We can’t wait until our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at Dayton House for years and frankly don't want to even try any other place. We have always stayed in an oceanfront efficiency on the 8th floor. This provides us a perfect view of the ocean, down the beach and even to the boardwalk. The staff, from reservations, check-in, guest service providers for the pool and rooms, have always been friendly and helpful. The grassed area with tables, chairs and umbrellas is the best. Everything is so relaxing, just what a vacation is for. The central location to Broadway, the boardwalk, both outlet malls etc make this the perfect location. We will book for next year.

Room Tip: If you choose oceanfront you will want to have a room on the 5th floor or above to avoid pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Vanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel has great location, walking distance to SkyWheel and shopping/dining. Room was cleaner then I expected, staff was nice, right on the beach, pool was nice. parking was a tad bit annoying, but nothing that would ruin my stay. I requested highest level on south building and ended up on 2nd floor north building - was bummed about that. but as you can see by the picture we still had a nice view. Lots to do in the area, 3 nights were not enough! :) would stay here again

Room Tip: would choose south building or even suites building and higher floor, for west building you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Checking in was fast and the ppl in the front desk were nice & kind. We were in the West bldg and we weren't to happy we had to cross the street whenever we needed or had questions for the front office. When I walked into the room, I automatically felt that the rooms weren't clean enough.I found hair in the tub, the 1st night was horrible my lower back hurted from the mattresses. I called and complaint and they switch the matresses for us and also to fix the handle on the toilet because it was hanging out. To apologize for my convenience they gave me a free voucher (a free breakfast meal) to "Uncle John's" It was ok too. Overall not happy for the amount of money we paid. The West bldg needs updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JESSICA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,956 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing