We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for our first trip to Myrtle Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #27 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our first trip to Myrtle Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stay at the north building. The hotel is clean and the room is not too small. We stay in the angle ocean view room and it is nice view. The kitchen has everything that I need for cooking. The dining table is perfect for 4. The front desk was very nice and very quick. It is very quite building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momoftwo2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    469
    186
    65
    65
See reviews for
695
396
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay as a couple or as a family. Location is perfect......close to Myrtle Beach Boardwalk and also Broadway at the Beach. Hotel staff was very friendly! Has such a great time that we didn't want to leave. Will be returning in August for a family trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandvballer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First let me say that I am not a hard person to please. However, after paying $230 per night for a suite with kitchen I am very disappointed. When first arriving the hotel staff acted as if it was a bother to register me as a guest and talked to me as if I had trouble understanding their directions even though I hadn't asked a single question. I felt as if I was being questioned a little much about the # of guest in my room. Like they have trust issues with past guests so they needed to take it out on all new guest. Bad way to start our stay. We made it to the room after reading good reviews I was floored. We stayed in room 665 and there were large brown water stains all over the ceiling of the living room as if there was a water leak previously in the room above us and the ceiling was never repaired. The carpet was really dirty and wet which made the room have a bad odor. When we checked the kitchen we had three very small and very cheaply made pots to cook with and no baking sheets or way to cook a meal large enough for the six people staying in our suite so needless to say I ran out to buy more inexpensive cookware since we had brought groceries. They did have plenty of plates, bowls and silver ware. Do not expect a well equipped kitchen. The fridge in the room would not stay closed. The furnishings were very outdated with new granite put on top of outdated cabinets to give the illusion of the room being worth what we paid. When we went to the three pools the hotel has to offer we followed directions and wore our bracelets to prove we were guest and the entire day met with an older guy smoking cigarettes and repeatedly asking people who were wearing bracelets to show him their bracelet. For ones who left it in the room he made them return to the room to get them. For a family resort the cigarette smoking of the employee was just plain in poor taste. On a good note my kids had fun swimming in the pools and the cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking at this hotel is a hassle because they have about four lots and the garage under our building had very small spaces so even for my compact car I had a hard time fitting in and no room to open the doors to unload the car. So for the rest of our stay I parked in the lot across the street and had to walk. But the spaces were larger and I didn't feel like I'd leave the hotel with dents all down the sides of my car. As you can tell I do not recommend you stay here and I know that I won't be staying here again if ever I should visit Myrtle Beach again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLBG582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was my first trip ever to Myrtle Beach, so I had some very high expectations. Dayton House did not disappoint! We arrived June 8 and departed June 13 and had an oceanfront king efficiency room in the main building. We were on the second floor right above the pool area and were a little concerned about the noise of the pool. But since the pool doesn't open until 8:30 a.m. and closes at 10:30 p.m., there were no problems. I was a little mystified at the "no motorcycles on the property" restriction but understood it completely when I heard the motorcycles racing up and down Oceanfront Blvd during the day. The kitchen area is a tad on the small size, but it was perfect for what we needed it for. We had breakfast and lunch in the room most days, and the little sink was perfect for washing up cups and plates. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful - especially when The Boyfriend accidentally lost the room key when we were walking in the waves one morning! They replaced the key promptly and with a smile. The housekeeping staff did a great job keeping the room clean and we had more than enough towels and other necessities. I would get up every morning and watched the grounds crew cleaning the pool and getting the Yellow Umbrella area ready for the day. It was fascinating to see how much care went into making the day perfect for the Dayton House guests. The pillows on the bed were fluffy and the bed itself was very comfortable. We had no issues with the AC and kept it at the same temperature the 6 days we were there. The view from the balcony was awesome and so close to the beach. We did have to park in the outlaying parking lots, but it's not a far walk back to the hotel. We didn't make it over to the little restaurant across the street, but we did make it to the Ultimate California Pizza restaurant the first night we were there. Honestly, I didn't want to leave to come back to Ohio and I'm counting the days until I can go back. Thank you, Dayton House for making my first trip to Myrtle Beach so memorable. I promise I'll be back soon and often!!

Room Tip: Ocean front view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdogmompam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Checked in late (almost midnight) on a Sunday after traveling a long way. Room was not quite ready, as there were no pillow slips on the pillows. The decor is dated, the appliances verging on antiques. The shower has an ear-splitting whine when on, and you can hear this from your neighbor's shower when it is on as well. The A/C unit either blasts icy cold air or none at all and when it turns on it sounds like a freight train.The pillows are old flat and hard, and should be replaced. The location is great, but when you are poolside, you have one option for a restroom and that is to travel to the main building where the office is, and ask for a key to a single bathroom (one for men and one for women) and that's that. The restaurant across the street is okay, very kitschy diner food, with a lovely waitstaff. Nice TV but no TV guide so you get to flip endlessly. A movie option would have been a nice touch. It was cheap, and a good location but we won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenmum1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

First time visiting this resort from June 14th through the 19th. The rooms are outdated, and we saw bugs(roaches) in the bathroom. The location was great, located right on the beach. I give this a 3-star rating because of the location of the resort, and the staff was friendly. So overall, it was a great stay besides the roaches.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassett, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and My Family stay here every year, It is clean and we never see bugs in our room. The pools are very clean. There is plenty of chairs for laying out and plenty of umbrellas for shade. They also have swings. We wouldnt stay no where else. Very good prices also.

Room Tip: We have stayed in all buildings and no complaints. We stay ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#22 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,976 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing