We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #28 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here recently as a family of four and were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations. The resort is in a great location - right on the beach in a not too busy area that is close to the new boardwalk, SkyWheel and Broadway at the Beach. The room was spacious enough for us, with a little table for eating meals and lounge chair next to a little end table where you could read or watch TV. There was also a nice balcony with 4 chairs and a nice view of the ocean/beach. My 9-year-olds had a lot of fun at the saltwater pool - which didn't irritate their eyes so much as chemically treated ones - and appreciated the relatively shallow water. We also tried out the lazy river, which was nice. My only complaint was that there weren't many items to cook/bake in - just a couple of large saucepans, and that's it. But we still managed to eat breakfast in the room every day and lunch another day because of the microwave and full-size refrigerator. We got an excellent rate on Priceline, and would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank newsgirlSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    472
    190
    66
    66
See reviews for
700
401
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 7 nights in an OceanFront Suite which slept 6 comfortably. The amenities were excellent. The location was perfecrt. I enjoyed being close enough to the Boardwalk and Broadway on the Beach to expereince them but far away from it to be able to enjoy the quiet. There is limited parking in the suites building but we had no problem with getting a space every day. I visit MB every year and will be making Dayton House my new place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holcomb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was a great resort but beware you may be across from the beach and not on it. Web listing do not state that the West building is across the street. Web stated that we had an ocean view room. The only way we could see the ocean was by going to the very end of the balcony or leaning over it. For this reason I did not give a 5 star review. Had an efficiency in the west building, very clean. Staff was very friendly and available. Had a problem with the refrigerator and they promptly replaced it. Plenty of pools with yellow umbrellas. Easy access to the beach. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nich1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayville, new jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Dayton House was on the ocean, had read previous reviews before booking. We choose the ocean front room for 5 days. This was a great choice, we had a private bedroom with 2 queen beds, and a pull-out in the other room for our grand-daughter. The kitchen was set up well, and towels provided each day without any problems. There is a diner across the street and a discount was provided if you stayed at the Dayton. We flew in to Myrtle Beach, and of course cannot bring chairs and umbrellas, but there were plenty of "Yellow" umbrellas and tables on the property for everyone. The had 4 pools, hot tubs, and a tiki bar. We were very impressed with the hotel staff, very friendly and received good advice in January to change our room to the ocean front area. Beautiful view and the sounds of the ocean was great to just enjoy each day of our visit. We will return next year!

Room Tip: .ocean front room suite side, larger room, and a wee bit quieter at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First and foremost you can get an excellent rate on priceline, much cheaper than the rack rates. Front desk staff was awesome, very friendly and helpful, if i could remember the ladies name that checked us in i would put it on here, but my memory is slipping me...

We got a west side efficiency, although it is across the street the room was very spacious, and if you look out the side of your balcony you can see the ocean, so save some $$$ and check out these rooms. Beds were probably the softest we've slept in, kitchenette had everything you needed. Loved it had an actual kitchen table, not a small desk, etc, so cooking in the room is an affordable option.

This resort has awesome amenities, Lazy river, indoor/outdoor pools and several spas -- plenty for everyone to enjoy. Definitely will recommend, and definitely will return... Kudos all around!

Room Tip: Save some $$$ look into the west side efficiencies! Across the street with a side view! ALSO check p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmille_ky244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was on oceanfront, had a full kitchen and friendly available staff. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy. We could walk to the boardwalk and we were located across from a very affordable diner which served excellent breakfast. The hotel has plenty of tables with yellow umbrellas at the beach for their guests to enjoy along with pools for when the ocean gets too rough..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, OH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were quite large with a small, dated, but adequate kitchen. The place is older, but I think most are on the beach. Having carpet in the room is a little gross IMO, especially with all the sand likely to be brought in. Great value, pools were nice & clean.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jillamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,817 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#31 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,990 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#34 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing