We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #25 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We had an ocean view with a small kitchenette. The room was very clean which is very important . The bathrooms are tiny and the vanity lighting is poor. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were hard as rocks. The air conditioners are very loud.
The grassy lawn area was set up with lounge chairs , chairs, table and umbrellas which was nice , but wear flip flops on the grass because it has some kind do briar thorns in it. I learned that the first day.
Parking is not the greatest. They have several lots available, but the most convenient one is always full if you get in late. Therefore you have to walk a block and when it is pouring rain you tend to get soaked. They should offer a shuttle service on rainy days at least.
All in all it was okay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    525
    224
    79
    71
See reviews for
772
461
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

If I know I'm not going to be in the room much, I don't need a fancy hotel. If you are looking for a luxurious spa resort, this isn't it. But if you want a pre-season bargain, Dayton House is perfect.

I came here looking for a cheap beach vacation, and that's exactly what I got. I flew in, rented a car, and booked an efficiency in the West Building.

The staff was friendly, especially at the Yella Umbrella (hotel bar). Drinks that normally cost about $12 in Philly cost $6.75 here, so the bartender did learn my name rather quickly.

The room was clean and well stocked. The west building needs some minor cosmetic work. I had a room that was meant for 4 to myself. The bathroom is tiny. It worked well for me but may have been a problem for a larger group. I was fine with my view and location, given the price. It meant an additional distance of about 100 feet to the beach.

The property had plenty of free parking. I didn't make it to the gym-I preferred to walk the neighborhood-but I saw most of the other buildings and pools. The zero entry pool and the lazy river were the best options for children. Although there are lots of kids in the area around the zero entry pool, they all seemed to be well behaved.When I wasn't on the beach, I spent time in the hot tub near the bar.

I was in Myrtle Beach from May 12th-May17th which is during bike week. The noise didn't bother me because I live a block away from a major interstate, but it's something to consider. Everyone was well mannered, but do watch for the bikers if you're driving.

All in all I enjoyed myself. I would certainly recommend this to those who don't require fancy accommodations!

Room Tip: My pictures are of room 215 in the West Building, which is across the street a bit quieter. If you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean, the staff courteous. The hotel wasn't what I expected for the price though, I had much better. The rooms were small, the bathroom even smaller. The pools aren't big, kind of felt like you were on everyone. I would stay again if I got the room at a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadaaskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I went for a weekend getaway. We were met with friendly staff and a clean room. Check-in was quick and easy. My request for an oceanfront room 4th floor or above was done. I was on the 6th floor with a clear view of the ocean. LOVED IT!! The location is great because you are in walking distance of plenty of great restaurants and entertainment. We would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for new year's eve with my boyfriend and it was great! The rooms are spacious, beds are comfy, and it even had a balcony with a view of the ocean! Only downside was that the hotel is a little outdated and the elevator was pretty old which was kind of scary

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My golfing buddy, John and I stayed at the Dayton House for 4 nights. We found the Resort Office to be very friendly and very courteous. The room we stayed in was clean with a partial view of the ocean. The bed linen was changed every day and fresh towels were always provided.
The room was an efficiency with refrigerator, stove and microwave. Dishes, utensils, and pots and pans were also provided. everything appeared to be clean and ready to use.
There is a restaurant across from the Resort called Uncle John's. It serves breakfast and lunch. We went there for breakfast each day and the food was good and served in a timely manner.
My partner and I believe that Dayton Resort was a good value and we would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Conveniently located to most attractions including the boardwalk, it was much better than many of the other hotels we had stayed at in Myrtle Beach, and cheaper too. Rooms were clean, ocean front with pools AND a lazy river. Plenty of lawn chairs for sunning and FREE hot breakfast each morning. We really enjoyed it and will return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side are quieter and have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing