We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #26 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I will start out by saying that I am a bit on the high maintenance side so when my husband vetoed the pricer hotel I found Dayton House. I was very pleased. Yes, it's a 3 star hotel, however the scenery was beautiful, the pool was like bath water and the service was friendly and most important to me, my room was clean and up to date! I will say The maid service was a bit hit or miss- sometimes my bed was made and the room was tidied, other times not so much, but Really this was a non-issue for me.They were also updating the lobby area when I arrived and I was pleased with the upkeep of this older establishment. I would definitely come back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    545
    232
    82
    81
See reviews for
805
480
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was disappointed with how old the hotel was. We stayed in a two room oceanfort. The room size was also small. It was clean and the staff was pretty friendly. I was expecting it to be a "Resort" that is not the case. I think the price was to high for what you get. It was not a horrible place to stay. The location is good along with the pools and grounds but overall I was disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were only one night at Myrtle Beach. Our room was clean, large with a beautiful view of the ocean. Location was great. We were able to walk to restaurants, mini golf etc. The staff was very friendly. The weather was cool but many kids were using the heated pools. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The ocean view was definitely worth the extra money. Standing on the balcony listening to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kapt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night trip to Myrtle Beach. We stayed at the Dayton House because of the great deal we received as well as all the good reviews. We were not disappointed. Dayton House Resort sits right on the strip but it's away from the noise and crowd but within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc. There were four of us (parents, 2 teenagers) and the angled ocean view room was perfectly fine for us. We had a kitchenette and 2 queen beds. The housekeeping staff kept our room clean, our towels were always fresh and they even cleaned the tub each day - what hotel does that? The beds were soft, comfortable and clean - very important to us! It was a little cool for swimming while we were there but the pools looked to be clean, the hot tub was in use daily, and they have a lazy river. Nice chairs and lounges in the lawn area and right on the beach. What more could you ask for? We will definitely stay here again. Management was very friendly and helpful as well. Very nice place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LF3245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our group recently stayed at the Dayton House for our cheerleading competition. Although this is a slightly older hotel please don't let the looks deceive you. This hotel was amazingly clean, updated and the staff was very amazing! Our group was extremely pleased with both the accomdations and the location and will definately return. If you are planning a trip to the beach I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Beachview was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

we always stay here. they are so friendly and the place is clean and quiet. i had asked them to save me a sunday newspaper (for the coupons) and Tasha was kind enough to go out of her way to do that for me. I was impressed that they did this request for me. they are very family oriented. pools were clean. grassy area was neat and clean. they even mowed while we were there. that is why Dayton House is our "home" when we travel to the beach.
We have stayed at some rather unsavory places in the past. So glad that we discovered the Dayton House. the location was great. we were there the weekend of a classic car show and it was only two blocks walking distance from the hotel. Great fun, can't wait to go back again!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in what I believe they called an angled ocean view efficiency. This room reminded me of the type of rooms I would rent back in my college days (the 80s). The room was quite small and the bathroom was claustrophobic. I would find it very trying to spend more than a weekend in the room.

The place was clean except for a bit of mildew around the edges of the tub. The carpet was new. The view was fine. The pool facilites were very nice...a big, warm pool and more. The grassy area was lovely and I spent some time sunning there. The location was good, too.

Room Tip: Our room, #627 in the north tower, had nice sun from early afternoon on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
983 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,056 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing