We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“October Get Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #26 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“October Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I have stressful jobs in education. We love our jobs, but it is so nice to get away. We have never taken a vacation in October as this is during the school year but we decided we just needed to get away. What a great decision it was. We loved relaxing by the pool. And, in October, we were delighted to be able to swim outdoors. We live in Frederick, Maryland. Swimming in October outdoors does not happen in Maryland.

We also love to read. During the school year there just isn't enough time to devote to our reading passion. On this trip we enjoyed reading by the pool or out by the ocean. We also loved reading on the balcony.

Sleeping in was great but we always went to Uncle John's for breakfast. You can get the best breakfast there and at prices found in your hometown. The waitress staff was all excellent. They are all so happy to take care of you.

We caught several entertaining acts while at Myrtle Beach. We loved the Pirate show and One, the show. We also enjoyed the comedy club that we went too.

It was such a treat to rest, read, eat, and enjoy shows. The view from the oceanfront room was wonderful. We really hated to leave. Every day since we have been there I get on the Myrtle Beach Earthcam to check on conditions at the beach. You can see the vacationers walk by and you can hear the ocean. I take time out of my busy day to visit the website and it has a calming effect on me. I can't wait to get back to the Dayton House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    501
    208
    72
    69
See reviews for
735
431
41
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

For the last three years, we have spent parts of October and November, then January and February at The Dayton House, so now it is becoming our home away from home during the cold weather in the north. The staff, the accommodations, the location, the cleanliness, the beautiful beach ---- everything is top notch. Since we do almost all of our meals in-suite, the kitchen is of utmost importance to us, and it certainly fills all of our needs. Because we are retired and are careful with our funds, we appreciate that The Dayton House is also reasonably priced when we prefer to visit during the off-season. We never dreamed that we could spend part of our retirement in such a wonderful hotel, so we feel very fortunate to have found The Dayton House. Yes, we do love retirement!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Manager at Dayton House Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay...Happy Retirement and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have been staying at the Dayton House for at least 15 years. We would stay no where else. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The Dayton House is convenient to Coastal Grand Mall, Broadway at the Beach, restaurants, and various other attractions. I love to walk to the Pavalion from the Dayton House and the new boardwalk is just great! For your money, you can find no other accomodating hotel as the Dayton House!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul G, Manager at Dayton House Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the positive feed. We strive to give our guest a great place to relax and enjoy Myrtle Beach. Thank you again and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

For third year stayed at the Dayton House to attend the Bluegrass Festival at the Convention Centre. We have an angleview king efficiency in the South Building on the 7th floor and the view of the surrounding areas is great. We leave our vehicle and walk to the convention centre so parking is not a problem late at night. Everything we need is within walking distance. All staff we had dealings with were friendly and helpful, we would not stay anywhere else, will be back again next November. This hotel offers an excellent package for the bluegrass festival

Room Tip: Have stayed in the same room so cannot comment on the other buildings but I am sure they are all as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
611 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were in Myrtle Beach for a trade fair and stayed at the Dayton House mainly for the location plus the price...the room was great ..good beds, clean room & bathroom..nice kitchenette we didn't use but was nice to have fridge & coffee maker plus enough coffee to make 4 cups a day.
we had a angle view room but could see the beach from the bed and the balcony was great..faced west so got afternoon sun which was great on a 70 degree day..but maybe not in summer!..there was about 6 non handicapped parking spaces under building and more across the street but we always seemed to the the last close one each time we came back.
We had a 9th floor room which let us see the beach over the nextdoor bldg...all of this for $44 a night too.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor in either the North or South tower for best view of beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Location is perfect for the convention center. They also live up to their "family" message. As i get older my taste for a more "mellow" place to stay has changed (note to under 30 readers i would have avoided this place when i was going through the 70's if you know what i mean) Great little internet room,great staff and clean clean clean everywhere. The back is beautiful with lush plants andoveral just a very nice place to camp out for a few days. The only tiny teeny negative is that with aproximatly 4 or 5 building combining to make up Dayton House- thats a lot of rooms and people and with them they have cars.Parking is everywhere but it does get a little hectic late and you may have to park as far as 2 blocks away.But nothing is always perfect i guess

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had an oceanfront room with 2 queens and kitchenette. The view was beautiful, overlooking the pool area. The office staff was very personable. We have stayed there before a few years ago and would stay there again. It is family oriented, and close to the convention center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fngrpikker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing