We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Thanksgiving Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dayton House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #27 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Thanksgiving Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had an oceanfront room with 2 queens and kitchenette. The view was beautiful, overlooking the pool area. The office staff was very personable. We have stayed there before a few years ago and would stay there again. It is family oriented, and close to the convention center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fngrpikker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    484
    196
    67
    66
See reviews for
716
411
39
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had an extremely satisfying stay at the Dayton House Resort. My first recommendation is for people to plan their visits in the off season, because you will enjoy the best parts about an oceanfront hotel with none of the crowds and excessive heat of the summer season. I stayed there with my boyfriend for a wedding and an extended visit in November; there were sunny 65 degree weather days and refreshingly cool evenings.

The hotel room itself had plenty of large windows and balcony doors with views of the ocean. The balcony was a treat for sunrises and listening to the ocean waves at night. The bedroom and living room were furnished with comfortable beds, lots of sitting and table areas and two televisions. Enough closet spaces throughout the entire suite. The bathroom and kitchen might be smaller than you'd expect, but you wouldn't want to spend too much time there anyway, when you can relax on the murphy bed or sit out on the balcony, or lay in the main bedroom and gaze out the window.

I was really impressed by the layout of the hotel rooms, and they maximize their buildings to give every guest as much view of the ocean as possible, and to take advantage of their great oceanfront location. I've read about people complaining of the parking areas, but I'm not sure what people can expect given how crowded the entire oceanfront of Myrtle Beach is, and how the trade off is that you can have a great room with a great view and stroll right onto the beach. Don't be afraid of some exercise and walk one or two short blocks if you must visit your car.

I recommend this hotel, not only for the location and room quality, but also for the very kind and helpful staff and cleaning crew. I never had an issue, and the rooms were maintained on a regular basis. There were great recommendations for where to eat and visit in Myrtle Beach from the staff. A truly great vacation experience indeed. Bonus: fast elevators!

Room Tip: Try to request a corner room in the suites building; you will have a bonus window in your bedroom, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess13323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm City, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I decided to go to Myrtle Beach for the Christmas Program at The Carolina Opry. This trip was to celebrate her 65th Birthday. I asked the customer service rep if there were any special offers. She explained that there was a package available through The Dayton House Resorts. We had a favorite hotel where we usually stayed, but decided to try something new. Really glad we did !!! Top notch view from our 6th floor balcony. Room included a kitchenette. Every resort employee we encountered was top grade. Very friendly and offering assistance should we need any. Most comfortable hotel bed I have ever sleep on. Our room was first off the elevator...NO NOISE! I now have a new hotel preference in Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean View 6th floor or above. Great view, very litte noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is the place to stay for the best vacation you will ever have.We have stayed here at all different times of the year.Some years we stay twice a year.The place is the cleanest and most accomodating hotel on the beach.Other members of our family have stayed here at our urging and have become returnees just like us.Staff members from top to bottom are great.We are looking forward to our next stay and can't wait to head south from New York again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have been staying at the Dayton House for many years,and have loved every trip.You have have everything you need there or in walking distance.Great place to stay.We have also told our friends and family members how nice everything is and they have started staying there also.Great views of the ocean in the angleview rooms,the kitchenettes are very nice.The only thing I can think of they need to change is to put bigger coffeemakers in the the kitchens.

Room Tip: We have stayed in allot of the rooms and they have all been very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We discovered Dayton House 4 years ago and now it is our place to stay. This last trip our AC went on the fritz and it wasn't more than an 1/2 hr. and another AC was in place. The room never had a chance to warm up. Then 2 days later toilet problem and within another 1/2 hr., all fixed. Water float decided to let go. What better and faster service could one ask for. We've had the same room for 4 years and this was the 1st time we have ever had a problem, and it was taken care so fast, could you really say it was a problem? The front desk, maint. people, room service lady are all great. You are really welcomed. We will continue to come as long as our health holds out. We are from Tampa ,FL. Thank You Dayton House for a great vacation.Ray and Connie

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have been coming to Myrtle Beach for 12 years. The past 11 years we have been staying at the Dayton House. It is very conveniently located to everything , including the Malls and top shows in the area., We come the same time every year.

Room Tip: We always have an ocean front room except one year we had an ocean view. We love to sit out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,881 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,805 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing