We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Fun, and Near Everything in Myrtle Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dayton House Resort
Ranked #25 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, Fun, and Near Everything in Myrtle Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Dayton House. This is an budget-friendly, older, family run resort well located on a beautiful stretch of Myrtle Beach. The resort seems to be well-kept and the friendly management seemed to care a lot about both the resort and their customers. Very different from my experience with some larger-chain resorts! We really appreciated how the manager (John) helped us with a tiny issue with our room. He was wonderful, (thanks!). The rooms were a little dated, but clean and well-maintained with small kitchens, great for fixing lunch and storing cold drinks! The ocean views were as good as it gets!! We loved all the different pools attached to the different areas of the resort. As others pointed out, this resort is really a series of different buildings close together. Perhaps we're used to living in a big city, but we didn't find the parking to be a big deal at all. If you have a big SUV, you might have to park in a lot adjacent to the building, but is that really a big deal? Not to us!

There's a lawn area with umbrellas and comfy lounge chairs too. We found ourselves spending a lot of time just hanging around the different pools, hot tubs, and walking on the beach. On a rainy day--we went up to Barefoot landing and Broadway at the Beach for some shopping. Broadway is a short drive up the road. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. In fact, we ate breakfast every morning at Uncle John's--a down-home type diner/lunch spot with great service, very affordable prices! We also recommend: Dirty Don's (awesome bartender), River City Cafe (great burgers/veggie burgers), and Bummz on the Beach for the live music. We'll definitely be back to Dayton House!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoofington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    525
    224
    79
    71
See reviews for
772
461
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

This resort is so nice! Our room has everything, beach front, stove, refrigerator, microwave. The staff is very friendly. The people who stay here are lovely, nice older crowd. If you are looking for a clean place close to the action without being a "party place", this place is perfect. It is our new annual destination. I will not stay anywhere except the Dayton house. Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: Choose a ocean front room 2nd floor or higher to get a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tracy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

A couple of our friends go to Myrtle Beach once a year and this year we asked if we could join them. Our son has been wanting to go to Myrtle Beach but not knowing the area we have been skeptical.
Going as couples we decided to drive from Niagara Falls, NY to Myrtle Beach, SC. We stopped about half way in West Virginia to relax, then continued to the Dayton House Resort. Making our reservations in advance we saved 30% off of our 7 Day package. 7 Day Ocean Front Efficiency cost us about $745.00, which included IN/OUT parking, King Bed, Kitchen and utensils, towels, etc…. . I’ve spent more on two day hotels with a lot less to offer.
Dayton House has four hotels together, 3 of which are on the ocean so there are plenty of ocean front rooms to choose from. If you want Ocean front make sure you ask for Ocean Front not Ocean View. Dayton House has Three Pools (no life guards), one of which is an inside/outside pool, a sauna, Three hot tubes one of which is inside, a kids pool and a lazy river. Walking the Ocean I noticed that we were really the only hotel that had a grassy area between the hotel and the ocean which they supplied Tables, umbrellas, loungers and chairs for guest only. Bring a Cooler because Beer is cheap as well as liquor and your allowed to bring your own onto the grassy area. Beer Stores just down the road with a liquor store attached.
No need to pack food for the trip either, the grocery stores are near by and are relatively cheap. We were actually walking distance from any thing we needed or wanted to see. Two Boardwalks to fish from, a boardwalk with attractions and shops. Landshark Bar, Dirty Dons Bar (x2), Seafood Restaurant’s, Plenty of souvenir shops and stores, Sky Wheel and so much more.
Their was public access along the ocean so yes they had life guards on duty.
Staff Wonderful, Resort Affordable, Plenty of things to do, A Lot and Lot of attractions to see and things to do in the area.
So Next Year, Yes the Whole family is going, hope to see you there.
If you do plan on going, Myrtle beach has about 30,000 year long residence. On some of the holidays and events such as bike week the population can reach around a million, so advice – May weather was beautiful, prices are cheap, no lines for restaurant’s or attraction’s and you get a lot of attention where ever you go. So make sure you call and ask the front desk about events. Dayton House does not allow motor cycles or pets.

Room Tip: Ocean front - Your rooms Balcony is on the ocean side of hotel Ocean view - From your room you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SuzieandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Got this hotel on priceline for 60 a night not bad for one or two nights. Looking for a clean place on a budget this is it

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumpoff05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Have stayed here for 20+ yrs. NO MORE. My 2011 stay cost $700. For the same period in 2012 it was priced out at $999. Same exact dates during shoulder season.
And this is with a supposedly 30% discount. Good Bye Dayton House. Corporate greed has hit the beach.

Room Tip: Look for better value as it's not here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busdriver28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Had a great time. The room was little bit dated but clean and tidy. My only suggestion would be to bring your pillow from home, if possible. My pillows were a little flat. Great pool and amenities. Great location in Myrtle Beach close to Broadway at the Beach and the Boardwalk. The beach in front of the hotel is perfect. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhondaWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at The Dayton House Resort while visiting family in Myrtle Beach. It's so close to the ocean. The pools were nicely heated. The hot tub was very relaxing. The rooms were very nicely sized with comfy beds, a flat screen TV, full sized refridgerator, stove, microwave, granite countertops, dishes--- the whole package! We were not expecting to have all of those things at our disposal while we were there, but it sure was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. It was close to everything (within walking distance of the beach, restaurants, and an Eagles beach shop). We had a great stay. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
3.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
3.8 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayton House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayton House Resort

Property: Dayton House Resort
Address: 2400 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3243
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayton House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dayton House Resort has been creating generations of family fun for over 50 years and counting! Located oceanfront in Myrtle Beach, SC, the resort offers guests a relaxed, uncrowded, family atmosphere. The most popular amenity is a two-acre oceanfront tanning and picnic lawn filled with yellow-umbrella covered picnic tables and lounges. Other amenities include two indoor pools, a large zero-entry outdoor pool, lazy river tube ride, three Jacuzzis, John's Restaurant open daily for breakfast and lunch, the Yella Umbrella poolside bar and grill (seasonal), business center with computer access and coffee service open 24 hours, guest laundry, fitness room, ATM, vending machines, and complimentary on-site parking. The Dayton House is also centrally located in walking distance to the Myrtle Beach Convention Center, the Myrtle Beach Sports Center, and one mile to Broadway at the Beach and the boardwalk attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dayton House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayton House Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton Hotel Myrtle Beach
Dayton House Myrtle Beach
Dayton Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing