We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,513)
Filter reviews
2,513 results
Traveler rating
1,123
743
359
146
142
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,123
743
359
146
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuites buildingyellow umbrellasyella umbrellaacross the streetsouth buildinglazy riverjohn's restaurantocean frontgrassy areazero entrylawn chairsmain pooloceanfront efficiencyoceanfront roomsky wheelhot tubmurphy bed
Filter
Updating list...
2,043 - 2,048 of 2,513 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This resort is so nice! Our room has everything, beach front, stove, refrigerator, microwave. The staff is very friendly. The people who stay here are lovely, nice older crowd. If you are looking for a clean place close to the action without being a "party place", this place is perfect. It is our new annual destination. I will not stay anywhere except the Dayton house. Thanks for a great time!

Room Tip: Choose a ocean front room 2nd floor or higher to get a good view of the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tracy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

A couple of our friends go to Myrtle Beach once a year and this year we asked if we could join them. Our son has been wanting to go to Myrtle Beach but not knowing the area we have been skeptical.
Going as couples we decided to drive from Niagara Falls, NY to Myrtle Beach, SC. We stopped about half way in West Virginia to relax, then continued to the Dayton House Resort. Making our reservations in advance we saved 30% off of our 7 Day package. 7 Day Ocean Front Efficiency cost us about $745.00, which included IN/OUT parking, King Bed, Kitchen and utensils, towels, etc…. . I’ve spent more on two day hotels with a lot less to offer.
Dayton House has four hotels together, 3 of which are on the ocean so there are plenty of ocean front rooms to choose from. If you want Ocean front make sure you ask for Ocean Front not Ocean View. Dayton House has Three Pools (no life guards), one of which is an inside/outside pool, a sauna, Three hot tubes one of which is inside, a kids pool and a lazy river. Walking the Ocean I noticed that we were really the only hotel that had a grassy area between the hotel and the ocean which they supplied Tables, umbrellas, loungers and chairs for guest only. Bring a Cooler because Beer is cheap as well as liquor and your allowed to bring your own onto the grassy area. Beer Stores just down the road with a liquor store attached.
No need to pack food for the trip either, the grocery stores are near by and are relatively cheap. We were actually walking distance from any thing we needed or wanted to see. Two Boardwalks to fish from, a boardwalk with attractions and shops. Landshark Bar, Dirty Dons Bar (x2), Seafood Restaurant’s, Plenty of souvenir shops and stores, Sky Wheel and so much more.
Their was public access along the ocean so yes they had life guards on duty.
Staff Wonderful, Resort Affordable, Plenty of things to do, A Lot and Lot of attractions to see and things to do in the area.
So Next Year, Yes the Whole family is going, hope to see you there.
If you do plan on going, Myrtle beach has about 30,000 year long residence. On some of the holidays and events such as bike week the population can reach around a million, so advice – May weather was beautiful, prices are cheap, no lines for restaurant’s or attraction’s and you get a lot of attention where ever you go. So make sure you call and ask the front desk about events. Dayton House does not allow motor cycles or pets.

Room Tip: Ocean front - Your rooms Balcony is on the ocean side of hotel Ocean view - From your room you can see the ocean Some of their rooms have muliple rooms, some don't ask for what you want Safes are in each room but you have to ask for the key, its free - but if you don't return the key you may be charged $95.00. Tip your maids, it'll be worth it. Park in ramps when you can, keeps the car cooler ( they have two). Lower floors may be noisy due to pools, and you can not hear the surf
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SuzieandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Got this hotel on priceline for 60 a night not bad for one or two nights. Looking for a clean place on a budget this is it

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumpoff05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Have stayed here for 20+ yrs. NO MORE. My 2011 stay cost $700. For the same period in 2012 it was priced out at $999. Same exact dates during shoulder season.
And this is with a supposedly 30% discount. Good Bye Dayton House. Corporate greed has hit the beach.

Room Tip: Look for better value as it's not here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busdriver28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Had a great time. The room was little bit dated but clean and tidy. My only suggestion would be to bring your pillow from home, if possible. My pillows were a little flat. Great pool and amenities. Great location in Myrtle Beach close to Broadway at the Beach and the Boardwalk. The beach in front of the hotel is perfect. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhondaWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews