We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive, boring!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of MagiQuest - CLOSED

MagiQuest
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Crumpler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Too expensive, boring!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The price is WAY TOO EXPENSIVE! You don't get much time, and it's not much of an adventure. You get a "wand" and about an hour to complete the course, which is around $35.00 per person, then you have to purchase more time if you don't finish the course. It's very dark in there, all you do is run around waving a wand from clue to clue. BORING!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank enlighteneddecor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    198
    56
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wizards on Riddlin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Need to go in mind knowing that you are paying for the time in the Quest. It will take time to figure these riddles out. The staff is not the most helpful. Our wands would quit working taking up time, but we were not reimbursed for lost time. Kids are running everywhere. Like Chuck E Cheese, but no food and everyone has a wand. Can work your brain and your nerves at the same time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca7573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good idea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The concept is a really good one, but the wands seem to be temperamental. Sometimes they work and sometimes they don't. Plus, it can be hard to tell if you're doing it right. They should work on limiting the number of people playing at a time, because it can get very chaotic. There were not enough people on the floor to help. The young woman who explained the game to us had obviously run through the spiel too many times, because she sounded and acted very bored. My kids want to go back. I don't, but I get the appeal. If they could work out the kinks, there's a lot of potential for this to be very fun. It would be great if Magiquest expanded to other cities. Right now they are in places that I don't foresee visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“In the words of my kids "awesomeness!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

It's was really fun and challenging for those kids that enjoy riddles, reading and solving puzzles. Love of Magic is a plus. The package price includes the reusable wand and the prices are very reasonable if you avoid the unnecessary add ons. We returned a second day when it was raining and it was more crowded and there was a bit of a wait so go early if its poor weather in Myrtle Beach. The ages this activity is best for is 7-13.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravlinATVmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Staff were not engaged and were unhelpful. A confusing, over priced game with outdated technology. Kids were perhaps too young at 7 and 4. immature teens seemed to be the right target audience. This was disappointing and a waste of money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MattRRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MagiQuest also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing