We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fun Diversion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MagiQuest - CLOSED

MagiQuest
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Jackson, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Fun Diversion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I went to Myrtle Beach for our four year anniversary. As a couple of big kids, MagiQuest was right up our alley. We ended up purchasing the top of the line package, which gave us the wands, an upgraded dragon wand, some capes, and nearly two hours of play time.

The staff greeted us quickly and was very friendly. I was particularly impressed by the amount of fun the workers seemed to be having. Even fully dressed up in fantasy garb, the young staff members (20-ish years old) were definitely up to the task, and not at all acting as if they were "uncool" with their get ups. It really made the experience better.

We went through the tutorial and then were on our way to completing quests and adventures. We got quite a bit done in the hour and a half or so that we were seriously playing, and both of us had a lot of fun doing it.

The equipment all seemed to work very well, the area was very neat and clean, and it was all fun to look at. There were things everywhere that you could activate with your wand, and the quests were challenging, but with the help of the guide book everything was easily accomplished.

I would definitely go back to MagiQuest on another trip. The initial price is a bit expensive, but you are buying your equipment with that fee, and return trips would be significantly less money for just the time that you purchase to play.

Overall, a fun experience for the young at heart, and I would imagine very fun for the young of age, as well!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    198
    56
    26
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's interesting for sure. It's basically a scavenger hunt. Great place to kill some time with the kids in the air conditioning!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emjay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Fun Adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Magi QueOurst is located at Broadway on the Beach, which is a great place to take the family for the day. Our boys like Harry Potter and were attracted to Magi Quest. When you walk in the employees are wearing medieval costumes and the enterior is a castle like setting. There are different packages that you can purchase for your adventure. We purchased the 75 package which gives you 75 minutes in the game area and a basic wand. We upgraded our wands at $4 each with the total being around $115 for the four of us. We used a coupon from the Myrtle Beach Monster Coupon Book for $2 of each person. Not having a coupon would have been around $125. This is a pretty expensive outlay, but subsequent visits are much less.

Your adventure begins with a wand lesson and then you are let loose inside the game area. As an apprentice Magi you must complete a series of quests to gain runes. Each rune gives the Magi a certain power or ability. Your wand is personalized and identifies you and keeps track of your progress on your quests.

Once you accepted a quest you must located objects around the game area in order to complete your quest. A guide book is given to each Magi that has riddles that will reveal the locations of the articles you must find to complete your quest. The game area is set up in a two level format with a crypt, castle, forest, tree house, dungeon and other similar areas. You will not be able to complete all of your quests in one visit, but your wand records your progress so you can continue where you left off. There are other Magi Quest locations in other cities and your wand will work at all of them.

The initial outlay is pretty high, but once you have your wand return visits are reasonable. It is a lot of fun and if you like riddles or puzzles you'll enjoy this. The kids will enjoy the atmosphere too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank OTRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholasville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
256 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It has been a year since we visited this MagiQuest location. It is always a highlight for my kids. We have a boy age 13, girl age 11 and boy age 9. Some things have changed since my last review, so an update is necessary.

This can be very expensive, especially for first time users. Here are some hints that may help with cost and play.

(For first time users)
You have to buy a wand for each child to play. So the initial cost can be big. Toppers for the wands can add to the expense. But they are not necessary. They can make some battles easier. My oldest refuses to use them. My younger two have no shame and love them.

If you are able to, visit a Great Wolf Lodge anytime before coming here. Learn the game there. Although the layouts are very different. The adventures are very much the same. You have unlimited time there and you will better understand what is going on with the limited time here. The wands you buy at any MagiQuest are good for every MagiQuest.

You do have to pay five dollars to enter even if you do not play. At first this seems kind of ridiculous. But it can get crowded in there and they have a 250 person limit. So this can actually be benefical in reducing the number of people in there. All three of my kids can get around pretty well. I would not feel comfotable leaving my nine year though and he still needs some help with some of the challenges. So pay the extra five bucks. After two visits, you can enter for free for up to a year.

(For everyone)
You generally get two hours of play time. To utilize all your time wisely, use the restroom and snack up BEFORE you start. Your time is not activated until you actually point at something. There are restrooms inside. Before activating your wands, walk around and explore the place for a little bit. It is your wands that have a time limit, not you. Walk around through the whole place, get an idea where things are. Explain to your kids about being prepared before going on their adventure. You will have a better idea where things are located. Think of it as saving money. Even if you have played MagiQuest somewhere else, you will still need to familarize yourself.

In my past review I mentioned getting an all day rate that save lots of money during the week and offseason. They no longer offer this. Very disappointing. There are coupons in the local books that offer 2 or 3 bucks off. I'll do you one better. Check their facebook page. They have a 50% off a return visit, for two hour play. The offer comes and goes, but that is ten bucks a kid. Well worth it! You need to have a printed page to use this coupon. They will not accept showing your smart phone.

Any gold collected in the game can be use to buy things through portals in the gift shop. You use to be able to buy free pizza's at the IMAX next door till it Pizza Hut went out there. But you can use gold to purchase extra play time. The more gold you collect the more time you can play for free. You can easliy stretch that two hours for longer. There are several ways to obtain gold more quickly. But I will leave that for you to discover. Also, you can use gold to get 15% off any non-sale item in the gift shop. Save money on those toppers or other MagiQuest items. Gold does not transfer from other locations.

Finally, we have found that the best time to come is about an hour before closing time, during the week. For example, on a Monday night they closed at 8pm in October. They will accept players up till that time. So you can play till 10pm. We would arrive around 6 and use gold to buy extra time until 8 when extra time can longer be purchased. We had the whole place to ourselves by the time 8:30 rolled around. That is not the case every time, but there are definately less people around dinner towards closing time.

Most of the workers are extremely helpful if you have any questions about the quests. Don't hesitate to ask for help and enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank KentuckyDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Childrens Entertainment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

On our first and only visit, we brought our 2 nieces The place was crowded and it took a little bit of time to figure out what you were supposed to do. they do have staff on the floor to help but it was still confusing. It is better if the child can read but requires adult supervision. Also, we were not comfortable with letting our nieces take off on their own. Once they got the hang of it , the visit went more smoothly. the girls enjoyed themselves however, the costs can add up quickly..

Helpful?
Thank Placidtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MagiQuest also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing