We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveler rating
288
171
68
47
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
288
171
68
47
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking garage bedroom condo lazy river pool area washer and dryer hot tub flat screen full kitchen large balcony the penthouse three bedroom across the street paper towels north myrtle kiddie pools clean towels up to date
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 614 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2008

Well, we were pleasantly surprised by this place. It was all we could get at the last minute to accomodate our family.......2 BR, 2 BA with full kitchen.

We were on the 21st (top) floor, and had an awesome view of the ocean. The rooms were clean, and even though it's an older hotel, they have updated it with modern decor, furniture and appliances.
The King bed in the master bedrrom wasn't as comfortable as I would have hoped, but it was very big.....must've been a California King.
Housekeeping did an adequate job.....not really anything to rave or complain about.

The hotel does have it's own 7(?) level parking garage, but it is EXTREMELY tight, and when you pass another vehicle in it, it can be kind of hairy, as there's not much room.

The hotel has 2 "adult" pools, 2 kiddie pools and a very short Lazy River. The covered kiddie pool's water has a strange smell to it. My kids literally stunk after swimming in it. But, nothing that a quick shower and soap wouldn't fix......they loved the pool.
Although, I would prefer staying more towards North Myrtle or Cherry Grove, I was pleasantly surprised by the Grand Atlantic, and wouldn't mind staying there again.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank elabron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, Property Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to let your fellow travelers know about your visit to the Grand Atlantic Resort. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed at the Grand Atlantic the week of 8/9/08-8/16/08. There were 10 of us in our 3 bedroom condo. We had an awesome stay. The condo was clean, the pools were clean, the beach wasn't too croweded. It was just great. I would highly recommend this resort. We have already decided that we will be staying there again next summer. Can't wait:)

Culpeper VA

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CulpeperTeethcleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, Property Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2008

We are so happy to read your review. Thank you for sharing your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

We had a very nice stay at the Grand Atlantic(August 7th and 8th). The curb appeal of the hotel is excellent with all the glass and how they light it up at night . Our only problem at this hotel was that we did not get the room we booked online. Our room had been switched upon arrival because the room we had paid the first night for was a double queen oceanview studio. We had been switched to a king oceanview studio. The view from this was amazing because it was on the 15th floor but the four of us can not fit into a king bed. So we went down to the front desk and the girl was very understanding and gave us a double queen oceanview studio. Again, the room was new and updated and most importantly clean but we had a problem with this room it did not appear oceanview. We looked at the wall of the hotel next door. We did get switched in the morning to an oceanfront Queen suite. The guy at the desk like the girl was helpful and nice. The view from this suite was awesome and the full kitchen was very useful. We really enjoyed the pools and lazy river. The mushrooms were nice for kids. All the pools were spotless and warm. My only disappointment of this hotel was that our room was switched and even was completely paid for. We tried to keep the oceanfront Queen suite for two more nights, but the entire hotel was booked. We had to move to another hotel. We had a wonderful time, but my advice is to not move guests to other rooms (i.e. double beds to one king bed) when they had completely paid for their first night stay. .

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cowgirl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, Property Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2008

Reviewer, we are sorry for the confusion regarding your room. I'd love to get more information from you to understand what we might have done wrong so that it doesn't happen again. We do have some units where the homeowner may have chosen to alter the bedding arrangements to something other than the standard advertised setup. Since the hotel was sold out, all rooms are assigned to reservations and if we have a 1 bedroom unit with a king bed instead of 2 doubles, we would find a reservation with the fewest people and place into that room. Regardless, we apologize for the inconvenience and are thankful that you were pleased with the service and we were able to accomodate you after you advised us of the problem. Thank you so much for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We just returned from a weeks stay at the Grand Atlantic. We booked our unit directly through the property owner. We had a 3 bedroom 3 bath unit. We had a beautiful ocean front view. The kitchen was large and stocked fairly well. We could've used some additional cookware pieces but we made it work. Upon arrival we found the unit to be clean and ready. The owner doesn't use the maid service which was ok with our family. Although we didn't have enough washcloths in the unit, we had a washer/dryer in the unit so it was not a problem to keep towels and washcloths clean. The living room furniture was not comfortable nor was the beds and pillows but it appears this may be the package offered by the resort. I'm not sure if the property owner has a say in the furniture. Although we didn't have any major issues during our stay, the staff at the resort were not very friendly. Check-out time is at 10:00 a.m. but it's impossible to actually leave by then. We waited for 35 mins to get on the elevator because everybody was trying to get out. This is the first condo I've stayed in that didn't have sound proof walls. Our neighbors, who were apparantly hard of hearing, slept all day and stayed up and watched tv all night. I asked the front desk one night to ask them to turn their tv down but I think they saw that as an opportunity to just turn it even louder. We can't say we got too much sleep during the week. The parking deck is tight so I wouldn't suggest driving a very large vehicle. We had a wonderful week and would consider staying at Grand Atlantic again but from all the reviews I've read on here I would definately book it directly through the property owner.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JPonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, Property Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2008

Check-out time for the actual resort is 11am. Units rented directly from the owner, as in this case, may have different check-in and check-out times. For all units rented througth the resort front office, check-in is 3pm, check-out is 11am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Just returned from our week stay at the Grand Atlantic. There were 7 of us in our family staying in room 1402, a three bedroom, oceanfront condo.

Checking in was a breeze. I think the entire process took only 5 minutes.

There was ample parking in the 6 floor garage which is attached to the hotel, so you never had to worry about carrying your luggage across Ocean Blvd. (as we've had to do in previous hotels). Parking spots can be a little tight if you have a big van or truck. But believe me, everyone did get their vehicles parked.

The condo was lovely!! Clean and modern. We loved the large balcony that overlooked the ocean and pools.

Maid service was generally not a problem, except for one day when the maid didn't show up. We called the front desk, and were told that the maids had already left for the day, but were very appologetic, and asked if we needed anything that they could get for us. We were running low on towels, and within minutes there was a knock on our door and clean towels were delivered. To be fair to the maid, she had knocked on our door early that morning and we were getting ready to go out. We asked her to come back, but I guess she just forgot. No biggie folks.

The pools are definately made for families with little kids. They're very nice. However, my kids are older and wanted a bigger pool and hot tubs. We asked at the desk if there were hot tubs, and they said no, but we have pool privileges next door at The Reef Hotel, and they do have hot tubs. Not only did they have 2 hot tubs, but their pool was twice as big. So we did spend all of our pool time next door at The Reef, but what a great choice we had.

All in all the only "complaint" I had about The Grand Atlantic is that their beds are extremely uncomfortable. But we were only there for a week, and we can put up with that. We totally enjoyed our stay at the Grand Atlantic and will definately be back!!

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elrfiore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews