We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Ranked #57 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
La Follette
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and Very Clean”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Atlantic in Sept 2013. We rented thru the owner and VRBO. Great room very clean, great pool and hot tub. We rented a 4 bedroom and had too much room (if that could be possible). Had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    159
    60
    43
    34
See reviews for
363
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erial, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 days with our 10 year old son and three of his friends. The location on the strip was good- not too much hustle and bustle of travelers and close to several supermarkets to stock up the condo.

The condo was very spacious, clean and stocked with all if the things we needed for our stay. The appliances were newer, the furniture was modern and the balcony offered excellent views of the pool area and ocean.

The pool area was clean and full of kids every day. It offered easy access to the beach and was secure. To improve the guests experience, I would recommend some entertainment. It was a little dull-no music, limited access to food/ snacks. Overall, the property was limited in terms of things to do on the site. But the kids enjoyed going back and forth from the lazy river to the pool... Then the beach.

The property is a 5 minute drive from the more happening area of the strip- and parking was easy to find.

Overall, I would recommend for the price, views and location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peeryprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I know this review is a little late. We were able to book this room through our Global Discovery Vacations travel club for the week of January 19th. Usually we would not go to the beach at this time of year, but it was such a good deal we could not pass it up and I'm so glad that we didn't.

We were located in unit 1505 on the 15th floor and our views of Myrtle Beach and the ocean were breathtaking. Our 2 bedroom unit was clean and spacious. The kitchen was larger than some other places that we have been to in Myrtle Beach and we had every necessary kitchen amenity that we could think of.

We had access to a heated indoor pool and of course the glorious beach. Thank goodness, the weather held up for us by staying in the mid 60s. There was also an adjacent restaurant with all sorts of food, deserts, etc, but it was closed for the winter. That didn't dampen our trip, we found a fantastic seafood spot called the Noisy Oyster about a mile away.

We plan on always going back here during the winter. Myrtle Beach was definitely not as busy as it is during the spring and summer, which gave us a little more time to enjoy ourselves and discover what Myrtle Beach and Grand Atlantic have to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 1505 located on the 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDiva422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a party of 5 that stayed at the Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort for this entire past week. I will NOT be returning back. They are hypocrites with all the rules! They state all these rules such as no smoking on the premisis or you will get a 150 dollar fine yet the pent house guests smoked from their balconey. No alchohol is allwoed in pool area, yet many people drank while in the pool. There were several attendants that worked there who looked after the lazy river and yet kids were jumping into this river and not using it as a lazy river disturbing guests who were trying to enjoy. There were kids who took the lazy river tubes into the small hot tub while adults were trying to enjoy themselves. A child even threw up into the pool.. and where was the attendant? At the desk, drawing on a latex glove, and taking pics of it on his cell phone.
All gates and doors are locked by 11pm. You must walk out around to the front of the hotel, thru the parking garage to get to a door that is key carded to enter. This is also where the smokers are allowed to smoke.
The elevators are sooo slow. When we entered our room, it smelled like garlic for the week. Dont think you will get anything from house keeping. I asked for a simple trash bag, and she had them.right there on her cart. She said what is your room number? I will make my way up. You couldnt get any more towels until your dirty ones were washed. They swapped out exact number of towels and would give anymore. To get a small towel after swimming, you had to give your room number, time, and how many towels you took. Same with returning them. This hotel is very strict with rules, to the point that it was like we were denied quite often. The personalities of staff were not happy, ever. Staff was constantly on their cell phones. We were an inconvenience to them. As far as our room goes, there were black marks from the suitcase cart that ran up and down the wall. The couch was torn quite a bit , furniture was hard as a rock. They offer no dishsoap only a small packet of powder dish washing detergent . The remote controls for the tv's were either broke or missing the battery lid. I can go on and on but i will stop there. I do NOT recommend this place. I wont be returning back. This was my first time at myrtle beach and do you know where i had fun?! Next door to the hotel at Mako's bar and grille. They are part of the reef hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cweekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are sincerely sorry that this reviewer did not enjoy their stay with us due to our rules and regulations. This guest did not bring up most of these concerns with us so we were not able to discuss them with her.

The Grand Atlantic prides itself in being a family-friendly resort. As such, we have policies in place that restrict certain activities that others may find offensive or unwelcoming. This guest came down shortly after checking in to issue a complaint about not being able to smoke on the balcony. We do our best to ensure that all guests are aware of our smoking policies prior to arriving at the resort. Unfortunately, not everyone will follow the rules we have in place so if another guests sees a rule being violated and feels inconvenienced by it, we welcome them to let us know so we can address it. If others were smoking on the balcony, we would have made them stop once made aware of it. Pool towels are complimentary, but to ensure that the towels are returned and available for other guests we do require them to be signed out.

Alcohol is not permitted to be visible in the pool area. To maintain a family friendly atmosphere, we require all alcoholic beverages to be in unlabeled discreet containers. If you are looking for a resort with a party atmosphere, then the Grand Atlantic is not the right place. However, we do have a relationship with the Reef Resort next door and they do have a pool-side bar and entertainment daily. All Grand Atlantic guests are invited to join in the festivities at the Reef Resort and Mako's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the resort. The room was great and had everything we needed. We loved the fact that we had a fantastic ocean view. We loved the little restauarant, Scoobys, the service was good and we really loved our Fishbowl drinks, brought to us where we were laying out at the pool. The one complaint I would have is the garage is too small for large vehicles. It was a real struggle parking and getting in and out. But it is an older place and not much they can do about that. We had a terrific time, laying out at the pool everyday and walking the beach in the morning. The beds were comfortable and the shower was perfect. Will go there again !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kduda64284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We come to Myrtle Beach often, and for the last 3 stays its been at this location. The property, staff and location is fabulous, and make the other "high end" resorts pale in comparison . My kids are older, and they love having "Scoobys" on property. The food is great BTW. I try not to come when it is over crowdwed in the area (big holidays etc) and that makes the stay even better for us. Always, clean, always courteous, always classy. We are already planning our 2nd trip this summer, and make no mistake we will be at the Grand Atlantic. Cheers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaptainkoolg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking a few moments to let others know about your experiences with us. As a repeat customer, your returning to our resort time and time again is the best compliment of all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here from June 29th to July 5th.We stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront room condo. This was my first time staying at the Grand Atlantic, as I stayed at the Hampton Inn the last time. I am partial to the Hampton Inn, but this resort wasn't all that bad. I am not one for complaining about silly little things like long elevator waits (because what do you expect at a resort with 20 floors on a busy week), so the only complaints I have are that we had multiple troubles with our room keys and the one lady at the front desk upon check-in was so beyond rude that it made me so angry. She kept talking to me like I was stupid when our room keys wouldn't work. However the maintenance men that came up to assist with the issue were so nice. Also, they let us know the keys needed to be reset, imagine that...but we still had issues throughout the week with the keys. The only other complaints I have was that the full size beds in our condo were hard as bricks, trying to control the room temp was difficult, and the parking in the garage was so tight (but I think most of them are at myrtle beach). The good things are that you have a nice kitchen and washer/dryer in the room, free DVD rentals, nice cleaning staff, nice pool area, and a nice balcony/view.

Room Tip: Let them know you want an upgraded room. I also recommend getting an oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
7.4 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
7.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Property: Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Address: 2007 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grand Atlantic Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing