We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Ranked #58 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Burlingham, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our first visit to Myrtle Beach and our last! Read all the great reviews about the Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort. When we arrived, our rooms were filthy. Floors had not been swept or mopped. Dust bunnies in the closet with the washer and dryer. Mold growing in sink in master bedroom. Spiders and spider webs. Called and complained at front desk. Housekeepers gone until morning, would clean top to bottom the following day. We were out all day got back and the room hadn't been touched. Called front desk, put on ignore. We took pictures and went down to front desk. The manager send two cleaning ladies up. I had to have them clean the sink in masterbedroom twice. The swept up a dustpan full of dirt. There were no hangers in the closets, had to ask for linens. In the middle of the night, the fire alarm went off, not once but twice. None of the firefighters or management came to check on guests. Several guests in our tower didn't even know the alarm had gone off. That God there wasn't a fire!! By the way this was a penthouse suite, I would hate to see what the regular rooms were like.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
I have attempted to reach out to this guest via the messaging function provided within Tripadvisor. The guest has not responded to my request for information. The guest mentions that they came down and spoke to a manager about their cleanliness issue and presented photos. I've spoken with our department heads and nobody including myself has been shown any photos by guests. Our housekeeping department does a superb job of ensuring that each guest arrives to a clean unit. The overwhelming majority of our reviews will reveal this to be the case. Of course, we are not perfect and in the event that we do not deliver on our promises, we will make every effort possible to correct the issue with the guest. However, we do ask to be given that opportunity. If the reviewer reads this response, I am hopeful they will contact me to discuss their situation. I will update this response should I hear from the guest to provide an accurate response based on all of the information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    157
    59
    42
    33
See reviews for
359
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Deux-Montagnes, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Myrtle Beach. Upon the recommendation from a friend, we booked at the Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort for the month of Feb. We were a little afraid of booking a hotel "sight unseen" for a full month, but after viewing the 1 bedroom condo on the hotel's web site "visual tour" and talking to Janice, one of the front desk employees, who eased all my fears.....we booked. The condo did not disappoint us. It was even better than expected. It was very clean, spacious, comfortable beds and the view from our balcony was gorgeous. The hotel itself was well maintained; pools and hot tub were always clean and warm. The attached garage was a big plus. The Management and Staff were always very friendly and helpful. We will be returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Pamela R. - With the wide range of resorts available in Myrtle Beach, I can certainly understand your trepidation in booking a resort sight unseen. I am so happy to hear that our online resources and helpful staff were able to ease your concerns. Even better, we were able to meet your expectations and earn your future business. On behalf of the entire staff, please accept our sincere thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending a week at your hotel. Fantastic hotel. Very clean.
Front desk and housekeeping very friendly. This was our first stay here. We checked out several other hotels while there but none were as nice. Hotel is new with great amenities. Rates are great also. All rooms have full kitchens and washer and dryer. We have already made reservation to return here in July with our grandchildren.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests. Many thanks as well for complimenting our housekeeping department and the cleanliness that they work so diligently to achieve. Your making of a follow-up reservation for July is the best compliment we could receive. Thanks again, and we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, ON
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Can't determine why all of the high ratings. It is old and tired. Cleanliness is not up to par, spider webs and dirty areas. Beds rock hard and bedding was stained and of the cheapest quality -- as were the towels. Condo unit had nothing but maintenance issues during our stay. Maybe this is what Myrtle Beach has to offer in terms of accommodations, but was not impressed. Location was pretty good. I would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelhoney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We regret that this guest did not have a satisfactory experience at our resort. We operate the on-site rental office and using the information provided by the guest in their review, we were unable to determine what room this guest was renting. After a thorough check of our maintenance logs, guest lists, and housekeeping reports, we were still unable to figure out the unit so we reached out to the guest using tripadvisor. We did not receive a response from the guest. It is quite possible that this guest rented directly through an owner or another rental agency. If they did rent through our office, it is our hope that they brought any concerns to our attention so that we could quickly address them and limit their impact on their stay. We work hard to provide excellent service to our guests and if for any reason there is an issue, we will do everything we can to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Myrtle Beach for a Valentine Weekend getaway, and we once again stayed at the Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort. When we checked in the front desk assigned us to a room on the 11th floor. At first, we were going to accept this, although our preference is as high a floor as possible. My husband returned to the office, and asked if we could possibly get a suite on a higher floor. Not only did the front desk person not hesitate to say that she would certainly try, she ended up giving us a suite on the 21st floor, which is considered the "penthouse suite". We had actually stayed in this suite before, and we absolutely love it. The view is amazing, and the suite is beautiful. They had actually upgraded some of the flooring and counter tops, and it was certainly appreciated by us. I can not emphasis enough how well the staff at Grand Atlantic goes above and beyond to try to accommodate their guest. We also enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool and relaxing in the lazy river. The pool area was very clean, as well as the halls, lobby area, and grounds. It was the perfect weekend thanks to a staff that listens and a view that was heavenly!

Room Tip: All the rooms have awesome views, and to date, we have never had a room that we were not happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mewing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A great location on the beach and close to the airport & market common. We booked or golf vacation with mb golf wizard - so lots of choices of golf & condos. We,ve been going for 5 years and haven't been disappointed. Really how could it be bad golfing @ mb and a condo @ beach :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here Thanksgiving 2012 in 2 bedroom condo and the 4 of us had plenty of room. The unit was clean and priced reasonable. The only complaint we had was the indoor pool area is cold because it is not enclosed this time of year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
7.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,544 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Property: Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Address: 2007 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Vacatia so you can book your Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grand Atlantic Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing