We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“golf extravaganza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Ranked #47 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Minden, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“golf extravaganza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

8 guys booked a golf vacation, grand atlantic was the resort the package advertised. We were worried about the accommidations based on the price that we paid for the package but we couldn't have been happier. The hot tub and pool area was all new, the 3 bedroom condo's we stayedin had a fabulous view of the ocean, rooms were clean and updated only flaw was the couch an chair are dated and need to be replaced, however we will be rebooking again next year. The staff were accommidating and pleasent to deal with. location was close to most attractions and bars this is a 9 out of 10 resort!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygolfer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    147
    54
    40
    29
See reviews for
337
74
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
allendale, sc usa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Took a chance and booked this resort for my church seniors group because the nearby resort that I usually book for this group wanted a much higher amount for the same amenities on same dates. We were very pleased! Friendly staff accomodated my seniors group (11) in every possible way during our two night stay in the 4 bedroom condo. Rooms were clean and everything worked. Views of beach were great! Did not use pool so I can not rate, but pool area and water looked very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marysc0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this resort at the last minute and could not have been happier. My husband and I were meeting our granddaughter for a few days visit. We were greeted by friendly, helpful staff and allowed a very early check in. The place was spotless, very comfortable and quiet. It is centrally located to stores and restaurants. We liked it so much that we are coming back in a few weeks for a sisters weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaMz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I am staying here through vrbo. Before I booked the condo I checked the resort website, reviews, etc.
Everything sounded wonderful. We get here November 10 and get the kids ready to go to the "indoor" pool....and there is NONE! There is a covered pool area with heated pools but they do not put up the walls until December 1. The ocean breezes blow through the covered pool area and make you freeze. Nowhere on their website says that. It says "INDOOR " pool. The weather is very cold and we can't get in the pools. The kids are very disappointed and had the website clearly communicated the pool situation we would have definitely stayed elsewhere that knows the definition of an indoor pool. If you have children that want to swim do not stay here before December 1.
As far as the rest of the resort it is clean and would have been perfect for us if they would have had an indoor pool as the website had said.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvthebeachaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are sorry if this reviewer felt the way our pool area is described as false advertising. We certainly do not intend to mislead our guests in anyway. It is important to us that all guests are comfortable and feel confident in their travel decision. The pool has been managed in this way since the resort has opened and I do not recall any other concerns being raised about this.

The pool is fully enclosed for most of the year. During hurricane season we are required by federal regulations (as are other hotels/resorts in Myrtle Beach) to remove the glass wall that completes the enclosure of the pool. These regulations prohibit us from putting up the final wall until December first. Usually, this is not a problem as the pools are heated to between 88 and 90 degrees and the average high temp in Myrtle Beach in November is 65-70 degrees. Unfortunately, over the past few days we have had unseasonably cool weather with strong winds. Had the weather been more average, most likely the absence of the last wall would not have been a concern to this reviewer. As they were very pleased with the resort otherwise I am hopeful they will return. Should you have questions or concerns regarding our pools or any other resort amenities, please feel free to call us at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumter,sc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed here on a girly weekend with my mom(72), sister(50), and friend(31). We booked the 3 bedroom with 3 baths. The room exceeded our expectations. It is pretty much like the 3 bedroom condo that we usually book - just newer and nicer. The staff was great - housekeeping was awesome. I had a dead battery on Sat morning and the front end guy helped me find a jump off and even located the closest service center for me. The beds were comfy, the kitchen had everything you needed, the pools looked nice and clean, loved the balcony wall is made out of glass/plexi - so you can see right thru it. The only complaint I have - is the furniture in the living room was really hard and almost "trailer" like. It did not match with the other furniture that was throughout the rooms.
An added plus - is when you stay at this resort - you get a "customer appreciation" card that gives you 5 dollars off here -- free appetizer here -- and even free admission to Wild Water in Wheels.

We will def be back!

Room Tip: The higher you are - the better your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puppydogeyessc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Been staying here twice a year since 2010 on our semi annual golf trips. always been impressed with the amenities and up keep of the building. recently I left a parcel behind and they arranged to have it sent to me. no sweat. they went out of their way and it is greatly appreciated. Will be back in the spring.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best view. Room 1203 is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming_gnome999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your continued patronage of our resort. Repeat business is the highest compliment we can receive. It was our pleasure in assisting you in taking receipt of your parcel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ont.canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for the first time for the month of oct.after staying at another mb. hotel for the last 25+years.The move was a great one. The front end staff and gen.manager were just great and adressed all our needs.the 3br.unit we had left little else to want for.The pools and overall outside area were very well maintained and their was always lots of lounges available.parking in the ramp was great being able to park outside our room was a great plus.a great place to stay can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l-b_Baverstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
It was a pleasure having you as our guest for the past month. We appreciate your business and thank your for bringing many of your friends with you to the resort. October 2013 is a mere 11 months away, we'll be here ready to serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,039 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sandy Beach Resort
Sandy Beach Resort
#18 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,467 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#22 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Property: Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Address: 2007 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grand Atlantic Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing