We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort and accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Ranked #57 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
PA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome resort and accomodations”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We just returned from our stay in unit 1907 and loved it! The living room was just updated with lovely new furniture and a flat screen tv. The oceanfront view was spectacular and 3 out of 4 bedrooms also had a beautiful ocean view. One of the bedrooms was equiped with a microwave and mini fridge and all of the bedrooms had flat screen televisions.
Josh, the general manager and front desk staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. They catered to our every need.We really appreciated receiving fresh towels from housekeping daily. The pool area was terrific and steps from the beach. A small grill and mini mart was very convenient. Also, we were able to view the Second Ave.Pier /Boardwalk fireworks display from our balcony on Wednesday night.WOW! Overall, the Grand Atlantic Resort is terrific and we will definitely return!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort.. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to unit 1907 this past week. Be sure to request that unit on your next visit as its always good to return to a familiar place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    160
    60
    44
    34
See reviews for
366
80
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have stay at the Grand Atlantic every year since being built. My family and friends love coming here. From the manager to the cleaning staff we have nothing but good to say. Our rooms were very clean and beds slept great. The grandchildren loved the many pools and the lazy river. Also, the little restaurant has good food. We stayed the last week of June and had great weather. Looking forward to our trip next year. If traveling to Myrtle Beach andyou want a great place to stay then you should check out this hotel!!!!!.

Room Tip: We like the 6th floor because of parking. Also, if you have several people the 3 bedroom 3 bath is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandAtlanticManager, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We absolutely love our repeat guests. Nothing serves as a better acknowledgement of your satisfaction than to return again. Our repeat guests know us better than anyone and can provide truly valuable reviews about why they choose our resort Thanks for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family stayed the week of July 4th, and had excellent service the whole time from checking in to checking out, the rooms were clean, had everything we needed. Upon check in we had requested a room on the higher floors, but were given a room on the 9th floor, that was not what we were looking for, (higher floor less noise) thanks to Kaylee she got us on the 18th floor. This was our 2nd trip to Grand Atlantic. We booked our room through the resort, which makes a difference. there is nothing negative to say about this resort, all good. Looking forward to our trip next year during the 4th.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed our week at Grand Atlantic from checkin to check out everyone we meet was so nice and helpful. Room was very large and very clean. The resort pools are very nice and we enjoyed the new hot tubs, the grounds was clean and the area was a great area to be in. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdicg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this location the week of July 4th to try something different, but this place is not worth the money. The front desk people are just rude, no customer service skills at all but I understand why because the manager is very rude as well.(try leading by example) We had soooo many problem staying here; we could not get the hot water "HOT",had a problem with water not draining in the bath tub, the furniture was very nasty (I would rather sit on the floor than sit on the couch). I started itching as soon as I got to the room. It's amazing to me that this hotel say they do not have "BEDBUGS" but I found dead ones on the edge of the mattress. THIS IS NOT A PLACE I WOULD STAY A SECOND TIME....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
It is our opinion that this review is written by the same guests as the prior review. We can not find any guests with the same initials as this reviewer or that was from florida during the 4th of July week. Surely if it was a different guest, they would never have left without telling us they found bed bugs in their room. This guest is following through on their promise to defame our hotel on the internet after they were denied a full refund. Staff and managment at any hotel are often accussed of being rude simply because you deny a request for refund. We strive to ensure that all of our guests are satisfied and when a valid complaint is made, we make it right. In this case, we had a professional pest control company verify that the room was free of any bugs. What more can we do if we have a professional company telling us that they don't exist and putting it in writing that there is nothing that needs to be done. I'm sorry to all those that are reading this and may consider allowing it to alter their opinion of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Bed bugs found!!! We stayed in a 4 bedroom condo. Family members had been itching, and scratching but we just blamed it on the chlorine. Got ready for bed on the 5th night, and my aunt found a live bed bug crawling on my cousin pillow. It was fully developed, and that’s how we were able to capture it and put it in a ziplock bag. By this being an adult bedbug, it had definitely being there for a while. We then started checking the other beds and found dead ones in the master bed room. We took the live bed bug down to the front desk, and the staff was so rude. They could have cared less that we had been bitten or anything. We asked for our money back and he said that it would not be possible because the rooms are individually owned. At this point, it not about the money, we just wanted to get out of there. My daughter that is 6 had bite marks on her back and her sides. Two other family members had bites on their hand, arm, and face. We even tried to show the staff the bite marks on our family. We packed up our luggage and put them in trash bags. The next day, I called the room back at the resort to see if a new family had checked in and, they had already given the room to new guest. I warned the family about the bed bugs and they checked out. The General Manager finally called us after 2 days and threatened us for telling the guests about the bedbugs. After arguing with the General Manager, he told us that Pest Control had checked the room and did not find anything. Wow! He did not even show the Pest Control the Bed bug that we took to the front office. This is not over due to this Health and Safety concern. I know that there are bed bugs in that room and I took evidence to them and have bite marks to prove this case. Just don’t want other families to go through what we went through. Not once, have the hotel apologized or even acknowledged that our vacation was ruined. Not to mention what we had to do, once we got home. I hate that we chose this hotel. I will never stay here again. The General Manager and the staff need training on customer service and communication.

Room Tip: Check the room for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
This guest has made a claim that they their condo had bed bugs in it. We had a professional pest control company come in and they spent 3 hours searching the room for any signs of bed bugs and found none. We contacted the guest and told them we had a report from a pest control company saying the room did not have any bed bugs in it and they proceeded to tell us that the pest control company didn't know how to do their job. If a professional company tells us that there is nothing for us to worry about or do, what else are we to do? This guest was refunded nearly $500 and they were still wanting more even after the room was found to be bug free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Would not stay here again! Very old dirty room! Room was very dark and beds not comfortable at all! I would not stay in this section of mrytle beach again very run down and doesn't seem very safe . Not worth the price!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tcsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
This reviewer did not provide enough information to adequately respond to their concerns. Our location on the south end of the beach is very safe and we are lucky to be on part of the widest section of beach in the area. If the condo was not very clean at check-in, it is more than likely that they rented through an off-site agency or individual owner. Our on-site office has a stellar reputation for arrival cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,407 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#136 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort

Property: Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort
Address: 2007 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Atlantic Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Ocean Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Grand Atlantic Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing