We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it here but can get expensive”
Review of Paradise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paradise Resort
Ranked #22 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I have been here 5 times since 2008..mostly because my Dad used to own one of the condos on the 5th floor. This place is beautiful and the room are very updated and clean, staff is friendly and views are beautiful. BUT..the rooms are a lot more pricey than surrounding resorts which is why I cant give it 5 stars. I paid out of pocket to go last year and it is much more expensive to go this year on the same dates. They wanted over 800 dollars for 5 nights on dates that are considered off season! I couldnt afford that because I'm a student. I went next door to The Reef and saved almost 400 dollars for the same 5 nights...im not kidding!! Ive heard The Reef is little bit outdated but I dont go on vacation for the room. If you have the money...go to the Paradise but they are one of the more expensive resorts in the area. I wish I could go there this year but they asked for too much money!

Room Tip: make reservations through their own website
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singerchic519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,991)
There are newer reviews for Paradise Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,556 - 1,562 of 1,991 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed on the 19th floor after booking on hotels.com (cheapest site for this hotel). The hotel is a driving distance from most of the myrtle beach attractions, but it is a nice hotel. The lazy river is small but fun. There are some weird bugs on their deck with the outdoor hotel bar. The bugs are everywhere and come from some asian plant they imported. I found that annoying. Otherwise I liked the hotel and the staff, safe, friendly, nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

couldn't enjoy the pool or balcony due to bugs everywhere, management
didn't care nor would they compensate for any inconvience. would not
recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

George L,

First, please let me apologize regarding your stay here at Paradise. You are absolutely correct, the Kudzu bug is a problem here in Myrtle Beach. The Kudzu is an invasive species from Asia that has been recently discovered in North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia and they are found at almost every property on the Grand Strand. We can spray in the early morning and they return by the afternoon. Colder temperatures and rain certainly hinder their existence at the property. After speaking with a few professionals, they are saying that the Kudzu population should start diminishing in the next few weeks. The Kudzu has no known predators and are not harmful to humans. Local pest elimination services do not have a long term solution but are researching how to control the population of Kudzu bugs. I certainly understand your frustrations and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly about returning to Paradise in the future. You can reach me at 843-916-9500.

Thank you and I look forward to speaking with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Hands down the best place I have stayed at in Myrtle for the price. Clean room and nicely furnished....... will be back for another guys week.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Nicholas B,

Thank you for your recent stay at Paradise Resort. We certainly appreciate the great comments and cannot wait to see you again in the future. Our housekeeping department strives to give you the most comfortable, clean room on the beach, I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make a future stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My daugter and grand children and I stayed in a 3 bedroom condo.It was very nice, well equipped place. The property was well maintained and all employees were very helpful and friendly. My bed was not very comfortable but everything else was fine. They give you 2 breastfast buffet tickets per day which I think is unfair with a 3 bedroom condo versus a room for 2 people. The breakfast was ok,it was very covenient but it is not worth $9. for an adult and $6 for a child,still it beats getting dressed and going out to eat breakfast. I will stay at this place mext time I come to Myrtle Beach

Room Tip: We ate at a place called Chicgo East which was a cross between a CC's and Chuckie Cheese. I thou...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachnut7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear beachnut7,

Thank you for your recent stay at Paradise. Your comments are very important to us and help identify the areas that we excel and the areas that need improvement. I am happy to see that the staff and property met your expectations. I do understand that there are a number of places to eat breakfast in Myrtle Beach and thank you for staying on property. You are correct, when you book the breakfast package, you receive two tickets for each morning. I understand your frustration with only receiving two tickets. We are now offering additional breakfast tickets available at check in at a discounted price.

Once again, thank you for staying with Paradise and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Paradise Resort what can I say, I was actually looking to book a room for a fall getaway and I was just curious as to what the reviews of the resort was and when I saw that 16 ppl found it terrible I was like WHAT!!!!!!! so I decided to give my two cents. First off, my first trip to the beach we stayed at another hotel which was ok, but we decided that we would make this a yearly family getaway and the next year we decided to try Paradise Resort because they were better equipped to accommodate our semi large family and we were blown away!!!!!!!!! Needless to say, three years since we decided to make going to the beach our annual family getaway we haven't stayed anywhere else but at Paradise Resort!!!! See you guys in June!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisegm, General Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Ms_Lamb_12,

Thank you so much for staying at Paradise. I certainly appreciate your repeat business and cannot wait to see you and your family in June. Please contact the hotel directly at 843-916-9500 if you have any questions or suggestions regarding your upcoming stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing Paradise and I look forward to seeing you in June!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We plan a guy's golf trip every year in Myrtle Beach and Paradise Resort is always one of the first hotels we check out. They offer very competitive rates and we've never had a bad stay. The best part for us are the oceanfront suites the hotel has available which allows us to all be in the same room. The hotel amenities are great as well. We really enjoyed the new basketball pool and the new lap pool. The breakfast buffet and tiki hut are always nice too with good food and drinks. I think this was our third stay at the hotel and service from the front office to housekeeping has always been top notch on every stay. If you have a big group and are looking for an affordable oceanfront hotel, I would highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: 3 & 4 bedroom suites are on each end of the hotel and the best! Higher rooms offer great views!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slamo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,249 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,179 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Address: 2201 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#25 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $72 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Myrtle Beach
Paradise Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing