We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Refused to stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Ranked #36 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“" Refused to stay"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

Had reservations for a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo for 06/15/2008 to 06/22/2008, refused to stay. The layout on the web is nothing like shown on the website. After opening the door you walked into a very small foyer, then had to key into a small bedroom on the left and then key into the rest of the condo on the right. There was no way to open both doors. One might as well get two rooms and also the balconies were about the size of a good sized lawn chair and lets not even talk about the pool area, The parking garage is one block away, while the garage may be secure I wouldn't care to make the walk at midnight (check the crime rate). I will have to admit that they gave us back our deposit without too much hassle. We left and were in the parking lot at 21st Ave. and Hwy. 17 making calls at 11:00 p.m..( thank goodness for Garmin) trying to find another place to stay. Even called friends and advised not to bother, they were coming 06/16/2008.. Would highly recommend the Grand Atlantic @ 2007 So. Ocean Blvd., try to stay on no higher than the sixth floor; you can park just feet from your room door.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    631
    285
    165
    144
See reviews for
1,053
561
54
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

Bay view is great. The parking deck is a secured deck. You do have to cross two streets to get to the deck. The hotel is on one street and the deck is on the other. If you have been to Myrtle Beach, then you know that traffic on Ocean Blvd. is very slow. So, it is no problem crossing the streets.

The oceanview rooms do have two balconies. There is no such thing as an ocean front view room. It is either ocean front or ocean view. The one bedroom condo's with two balconies are ocean view. The ocean view is great and can be seen from any position on the ocean view balcony. The view was almost like getting ocean front. However, the lower you are the more likely your view is to be sacrificed. The street front balcony has plenty of room for four people (these rooms are designed for four people). The ocean view balcony sits two people but would easily accomodate four average sized adults (2 standing, 2 sitting). The furniture is your typical "family dollar" patio furniture but remember it is the beach and the furniture has to stand up to a lot of wear and tear. Plus, do you really expect the patio furniture to be from Smith and Haken's?

The beds are comfortable and the hotel and everything in it is less than two years old. So, the rooms are still like new and immaculate.

The pool does have chlorine in it and like all pools chlorine can be overwhelming at times, but do your really want to chance getting in a pool that does not have an adequate amount of chlorine in it. The lazy river is great and is perfect for adults!

The elevators are horrible. If you are a healthy adult taking the steps down isn't too bad.

I did not have a problem with the hallways. They were clean and seemed to be cool and well ventilated.

Also, when you book the website shows you a diagram of your room and shows the position of your room and balconies in relation to the ocean.

My husband and I went with three children and absolutely loved Bay View!!!!

  • Liked — Extremely clean
  • Disliked — Elevators
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lovestotravel079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2008

My family and I just got back tonight from Myrtle Beach and from staying at Bay View Resort.

I'm 31 years old and this was my very first trip to the ocean, the beach and to stay in a condo. I wouldn't stay at Bay View Resort again if they wanted to give me the whole building.

The parking garage is two streets over. You go out the main doors of the hotel, cross a street. Oh, there is no crosswalk so you are going to have to cross four lanes of traffic to cross the street which then puts you right in the parking lot of a couple older hotels. Then you cross another two lanes of traffic, which aren't really bad there and finally you're at the parking garage.

It kind of reminds me of that old video game Frogger.

The rooms! Oh we booked what was described as an oceanfront View, one bedroom condo. It was supposed to have two balconies. One with an ocean view and one with a city view. I have rented rooms at Days Inn that were the same quality as Bay View. The mattresses were God awful. We were taking Motrin before bed and taking Motrin when we woke up. Even the children woke up stiff and sore. The only couch in the place is a small two person love seat that folds out into a cot. The only living room chair is about what you would set in at a doctors office waiting room.

The balcony with the "ocean view" was ocean view as long as you sat in the corner of the balcony closest to the room. Whoever sat across from you got to see you and the city. If a third person decided to come out onto this balcony then they'd have to stand in the doorway. It's only big enough for two small plastic chairs that you can get at Family Dollar or Dollar General. The longest part was the railing and it was around 6' long with the sides around 3', now put that in triangle shape and you have the ocean view balcony. The city view balcony was fine. It viewed the city. It was however bigger than the ocean view balcony and it could hold at least four people.

The pools were cloudy and so full of chlorine that just the smell stung your eyes and irritated your sinuses. They are not near as big as what the photos make them out to be either. The main pool goes from 3ft to 4ft and is about 12' x 24'. There is a sign that says no more than 75 people allowed in the pool. If 75 people got in that pool together then a few public indecency laws would have to had been broken.

I wouldn't touch the hot tub with a 10ft. pole. The lazy river is ok for kids. It's not made for adults.

The staff is not exactly rude but they are aloof. They wouldn't answer direct questions about the hotel at all. We had to call to ask housekeeping to sweep the carpet and they never did. Had to call for toilet paper. Had to call for towels. It was more work than what should have been put into a hotel stay.

Finally on to the elevators. They are a NIGHTMARE! They have THREE elevators for 19 floors. You have to wait any where from 8 up to 15 minutes for an elevator. That is if you're lucky. It's faster to take the stairs. While we were there a group of people got stuck on the 12th floor on one elevator, EMS had the other one shut down so they could use it so that left only one working.

They also apparently do not believe in air conditioning in the hallways either. That way you can lose around 10lbs of water weight from sweating while you wait for an elevator.

If I had it to do again, I would have picked another place. I wouldn't stay here again if they GAVE me the whole Bay View Resort.

  • Liked — They weren't the cleanest, more like messy and they didn't have roaches.
  • Disliked — Elevator wait time, heat index in the halls, sand on the floor for three days, cloudy pools.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeBeanQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

First, I got a great price by finding an individual owner on VRBO.com. Therefore, the overpriced issue didn't come into play for me. That aside, the place was clean and you couldn't beat the secure feeling throughout. Sure you had to cross traffic to get to the garage, but knowing your car is in a locked area is sooo worth it. We went in October, so the elevator never became an issue as far as extended wait times. I do agree that the place is in huge need of an outside pool, but at no point did that deter from us having a good time indoors. I've been to Myrtle Beach on several occasions and so many places are getting run down and showing their age. It's nice to find a place that you don't have to keep your shoes on to keep from ruining your socks.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank finsfan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

We have stayed in this hotel three times so far but the last time was the worst experience. This is a relatively new hotel in Myrtle Beach and the rooms are well designed and well furnished.

It is a 19-story hotel but guess what, they have only 3 elevators. One on one side and two on the other! It took nearly 10 minutes solid to go up or down the elevator. Everyone's patience was running thin. And if you have kids, it is even worse to jam in the elevator and get nearly suffocated!

Whoever designed the hotel did not think this through. Even the hotel workers had to compete for the three elevators since there is no freight elevator. It was ridiculous. Folks tried to press button on the side where there is one elevator, got fed up and then went to the other side. Guess what happens, when that one elevator goes downward, it stops on every floor!

We will definitely re-think staying at this place again.

  • Liked — Clean and newer furnitures. Great view.
  • Disliked — Number of elevators available for a 19 story hotel.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halekala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed at the Bay View from June 5th through June 10th. The hotel room was very clean and well maintained. The beds were below average for a hotel in this price range IMHO. I travel a decent amount on business and the Hampton Inn has better beds. The pool area was too small. If more than a few people are in the pool at a time, then it becomes impossible to actually swim! There is a nice outside sprinkler setup for the small kids that shoots water in every possible direction and pattern so that was nice. We actually spent almost as much time in that area as we did the pool. There is a HUGE outside area that a pool should be, but instead its just grass with the perimiter lined with lawn chairs. Please ease our suffering and build a large pool there. The facility was very secure, including the parking deck, and you need a key to get just about anywhere. Crossing the street to get to the parking deck was only a minor hassle during the busiest times. It was worth the price knowin that my car was in a secure facility. There are a number of very old hotels surrounding the Bay view, and the police were at some of them on a couple of nights tending to disturbances. This hotel is too nice to be in what I consider a "seedy" part of town. Its very close to most of the major attractions and only 5 blocks from the strip. Staff was friendly and we had no problems during our stay.

Its too pricey for us and we will probably not stay there again in the near future. I have been going to myrtle beach for 27 years and there are better bang for the buck hotels down there.

  • Liked — Clean, Large Rooms
  • Disliked — Cheap Matresses, Microscopic Pool
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank itburnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

Several small problems that I did not like about bayview. For one, the staff was extremely rude on several occasions!!! I accidentally took a wrong turn into the parking garage where crotch-rockets were only to be parked. I assume he was a garage attendant, came to my car and yelled, " didnt you read the sign down there? Your not suppose to park here!" I apologized, but he was still rude. It was a simple mistake. Also, I went to the pool and forgot my room key, so I went to the front desk to ask if they would call my room to see if my wife would open our door. Where we were located at, you had to go out your door room and then out another door to get to the main hallway, so it would have been difficult for me to just knock on the door to get my wifes attention. The guy began to laugh, in a non-joking way and called my room and said( could you please open the common door outside of your room, there seems to be someone lost down here in your party) and then he snickered in a cocky manner) I will never stay there again and we visit Myrtle Beach quite a bit! Best I ever stayed at was Patricia Grand, but way down the street away from boardwalk and activities. I recommend to not stay at Bayview!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff-Rude!!!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elmerstudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayViewResortGM, General Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, June 3, 2008
Please accept our sincere apology. While we do train our staff in this important area, sometimes a staff member may say something incorrectly or with the wrong tone. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,730 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#21 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,053 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#27 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Property: Bay View on the Boardwalk
Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing