We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a ploace I would return to”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I find the picture interesting as it does not look anything like I remember which was last week. While location is good, and staff very friendly, there are areas that need improvememt, which are
check in; no room to park and chaos if it is busy
room not very clean, carpets need shampooing
clothes for washing dishes not available until 3 days into our stay
Wife phoned twice in one night and never got through to my room, but did speak with agent on desk; where did call go????

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron N, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Phil835,
Thank you for takign the time to leave a review. We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. We hope you will give us anotehr cahnce to show you the true Bay View experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,266 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a great stay during 4th of July week. The oceanfront condo was awesome with a fantastic view. We were on the 16th floor. Bay view is right on boardwalk so u can walk to everything from 2nd avenue pier to 14th ave pier. We loved our stay although the elevators were slow at times especially during check in and out times but not as bad as people say. We had all the time in the worldso it didnot ruin our stay. I would say the max wait was 5 minutes to get on it. We would definitely stay here again! Loved our stay and had no problems at all!:)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maupinvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron N, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear maupinvacation,
Thank you for choosing Bay View. We are happy that you enjoyed your condo and the fantastic view. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We chose Bayview because they have a discount for Sunday arrival. We were given an ocean view room because there weren't any ocean front rooms available. We agreed and went to our room. As others have said the wait for the elevator is terrible. The area for checking in is way too small. It is terrible trying to unload your car. We actually parked in the paid parking lot next door to unload our car. The parking garage is a block away. Now back to the room, it was so small you could barely turn around. The beds were very small and there was no place to put your luggage. The balcony was so small one person could barely fit. The bathroom seemed nice but wasn't very clean. We asked for a bigger room but were told none were available. We checked out without even unpacking. Bayview is certainly not what we expected. I would not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scompton04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron N, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear scompton04,
We are sorry to hear that Bay View did not meet your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the true experience Bay View has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was without a doubt the worst "Resort" stay for us. First and most important, the elevators are painfully slow. There are three and you can expect regular waits of 10 to 15 minutes, literally. One of the three was broken on 3 days during our one week stay. Waits are even worse around 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. because they are the check-in and check-out times respectively. The "Resort" has 19 floors so do the math. If you intend to ignore this review, be prepared to wait.
The unit we rented was filthy. Hair from previous renters on chairs, etc. The dirty conditions continued after the cleaning staff came in. The floors were dirty (we had to keep our shoes on to keep our feet or socks from getting black).
I also had to repair the toilet seat because it was falling off, and I had to remove the battery from the smoke detector because it was beeping when we arrived.
The last thing is the pools. They advertise indoor pools. What you'll get is something for tiny kids. Don't expect to "swim" - the pools are too small. And the pools make the elevator waiting area smell terribly like chlorine.
For the amount you'll spend for this place, look around.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron N, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Deat Tony D,
Than you for choosing Bay View and leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations. We would liek to talk to you more in person. Feel free to contact Aaron at 843-626-0000.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Definitely will be staying here again, we come every year and this is our favorite place so far!! The manager Steve really helped us a lot with finding the best family things to do in the area. This place is the beat bang for your buck!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raystallings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron N, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear raystallings,
Thank you for choosing Bay View on the Boardwalk and taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed our resort and we look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I were recently in Myrtle Beach for vacation. We have stayed at Bay View before and had a decent experience so we opted to stay there again. We ended up choosing an oceanfront room and they gave us the 19th floor. It was beautiful however the elevators are SLOW to say the least so being on the 19th floor was a bit much. However, we love that Starbucks is right underneath us and we can go there for coffee every morning. The new edition of the boardwalk with the flowers and palm trees is really nice as well. It leads right out onto the ocean. Also, we like that Bay View isn't far from a lot of the action down town. We walked to the SkyWheel area almost every evening to get ice cream or hear the free beach acts. Bay View is also close enough to the 2nd Pier Fishing and Restaurant that we were able to walk there one morning for breakfast and then hang out on the pier. There were fireworks over the 2nd pier one night too and that was beautiful to watch from the 19th floor. I will say, at least on the 19th floor, we were so far removed from the sound that we slept very well. The rooms were maintained nicely and we always had plenty of fresh towels. If you're looking for a great beach stay with nice indoor pools but close to the ocean, give Bay View Resort a try. We will definitely be gong back someday to Myrtle and when we do, we will most likely stay right here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilbertrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron N, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear dilbertrocks,
Thank you for choosing Bay View and leaving a review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your oceanfront room and found everything to be well maintained. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our location so much. We are always striving to provide the best experience possible. We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My 4 friends and I came to SC for long weekend getaway. This was my first time at this property.
From check-in to the completion of our stay, we had a great experience. We stayed in a 2 bdr oceanfront end unit with on the 14th floor. The building is quite big and bustling with families and singles. However, the "busy-ness" does not translate to "noisy." It was essentially the perfect balance.
We liked the convenience of an on property Starbucks as well as the free DVD rentals.
The location on the boardwalk makes Bay View very convenient to the pier or the downtown area.
The views of the ocean and the nightime views of the Sky-wheel were gorgeous! Our unit was spacious and clean. The staff was professional, yet approachable and friendly.
During my next visit to Myrtle Beach, I will stay at the Bay View Resort again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CurliSali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron N, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear CurliSali,
Thank you for choosing Bay View and taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our free DVD Now program as well as our Starbucks location. Thank you for the two thumbs up review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
1.9 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,189 reviews
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,622 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $61 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing