We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at Bay View from October 2 - 8. I chose the location based off of the good reviews I saw here on trip advisor. My stay wasn't completely pleasant but I will share both the good and then the issues I encountered. The location of the resort is excellent. It's right on the boardwalk and within walking distance to all of the attractions on the boardwalk. The hotel was clean and I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff at check in. We stayed in one of the ocean view 1 bedroom suites and the room was fantastic. It had all of amenities we needed and was very clean and new. The parking garage was across the street and a short walking distance from the resort and was gated so I didn't worry about my car being stolen or broken into the entire trip. It was nice having that peace of mind. I was also impressed that after we decided to stay one extra night, the female manager gave me the same room rate I paid through Priceline. I was very appreciative of this. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel itself was the small pool area. There was no outside pool, which would have been an issue if I had been staying there during the hot summer months.

The biggest issue I encountered with Bay View was being contacted by the resort to move my car because the resort had decided to block off the bottom level of the parking garage for motorcycles. There was a motorcycle rally of some sort being held over the weekend. I was not pleased with being asked to move my car, which had pretty much remained parked the entire trip. I felt it was poor service on the part of the resort to contact all of the guests parked in that area and ask them come move their vehicles, just to accommodate motorcycles that were coming to town. It was around 9PM when I was called as well and I refused to go move my car at that point. The manager I spoke with was Rude, Rude, Rude, and had a nasty attitude which I did not appreciate as a paying guest. He gave me the name of his manager but I never called the next day. I didn't want to and shouldn't have to deal with that type of drama while on vacation. The next day when I went out they had, at that point put up signs and caution tape saying the parking was for motorcycles only. I never complied with the hotel's parking request because I felt it was pretty ridiculous and mainly due to the jerk I spoke with. Second, I paid for my room through Priceline and when I got home I checked my credit card statement and I was also charged by the hotel. I called and spoke with someone at the hotel and was told to call Priceline. The issue is still not resolved and has been a huge pain. Thankfully I didn't use my debit card. I've never had issues with Priceline before and was told the resort didn't follow proper instructions. I wish everything had gone smooth but due to having to deal with these issues I will not stay there again. I had actually looked into the possibility of purchasing one of the condos at the resort. I even had my parents, who are retiring to Myrtle Beach come check out the rooms because they are looking to purchase as well. However, due to the above issues that will NOT be happening.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Ron B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are very happy to see that overall you had an excellent stay but do want to apologize about the issues you did experience. We are very sorry about any inconvenience the call to ask you to move your car had caused, during the bike rally's we do cordon off the garage so that the bikers have parking in one secure area rather than spread out throughout the garage. This isn't meant to give preferential treatment in any way it is merely for everyone's safety during those weekends. We also want to apologize immensely for any perceived rudeness from any person on our team, that is certainly not how we want to conduct ourselves with any guests. I also am very happy to see that we have resolved the issue regarding your account and want to apologize about any inconvenience that caused and do hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future so that we can try and make this previous stay up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    638
    290
    167
    148
See reviews for
1,072
572
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband, two year old son and I just returned from a great stay at Bayview Resort in Myrtle Beach! This is the first time we went off season and could afford to stay on the beach and after this wonderful stay, we look forward to doing it again. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Donfay (spelling?) He greeted us with a smile and assistance at check in and was a friendly face throughout our stay. The location is fabulous and my son absolutely loved the pools and sprinklers. We enjoyed strolling the boardwalk and playing on the beach! Thank you and your staff for assisting in our great getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Janice S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us and we are extremely happy that you and your family had a great stay with us and enjoyed our water amenities. I will be sure to let the Dontay and the staff aware that their hospitality was very much appreciated. We look forward to having you and yours with us again for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Everyone was extremely nice. Our room was clean and the views are great. The location is perfect for a family vacation or a singles weekend.
Everytime I stay at the Grand Strand from now on will be at Bay View.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear VernonLT,

Thank you for your recent review of the Bay View and the kind words. We are very happy that Bay View was is the perfect fit for your trips to Myrtle Beach and look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am a Grandmother who stayed the first week of October with two teenage grandsons and their friends. While the parking garage was off property they offered security to escort us after dark. The Bay View was in the middle of the boardwalk. The boys could walk in one direction to the sky wheel and 14th ave pier and in the other direction to the 2nd ave pier. They could walk a couple of blocks inland and play miniature golf or eat or shop. This was the perfect location for us. The rooms were great. Each bedroom had a balcony with an ocean view and the living room had an ocean front view. The accomodations were perfect for us. I would highly recomment the Bay View.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmyrnaGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Smyrnagran,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear that Bay View was the perfect fit for you and your family and that you were able to enjoy our excellent location in the heart of Myrtle Beach right on the brand new boardwalk. We look forward to having the opportunity to have you and your family back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Township, NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed 9/30-10/5/12. 10th floor, one bedroom unit. Nice sized bedroom with balcony access, full kitchen, washer, dryer, pull-out couch. Two small balconies. One accessed from bedroom and living room, the other smaller balcony accessed thru living room. A small lazy river, hot tub, mid-sized indoor pool - NO OUTDOOR POOL. Hotel was nice, clean and the staff was very helpful. We checked in about 3 hours early, even though they were full the night before. I placed a call to the hotel upon arriving in MB at noon. They called me back 10 minutes later and told us we were welcome to check in as our room was ready. Only three drawbacks that we encountered. #1 was that the kitchen was a bit lacking in supplies (i.e. limited silverware, plates, etc). #2 - there was no outdoor pool. #3 - parking garage was behind another hotel across the street. None of these were deal breakers, I would definitely return to this resort. I stayed at Forest Dunes in February and the kitchen was much better equipped. This one bedroom unit seemed to be smaller than the unit we rented at Forest Dunes, but it is much closer to shops, restaurants and everything you could really want or need in MB. A bit noisy towards the end of the week because Bike Week started, but again, not a deal breaker. We parked for the week on the first floor of the garage. On Thursday evening we received a call from the front desk asking us to move our car because they had reserved the first floor for the bikers. We refused to move the car as it had been parked there all week and we were leaving the next morning. They didn't argue with that. Again, we plan on returning next October.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean front room to avoid busy street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Carole C,

Thank you very much for your detailed review of your stay with us, we are very pleased that overall you had an excellent stay and are appreciative of the constructive criticism as we rely on guest feedback to be aware of not only what we are doing well but also where we can do better. We look forward to having you back with us again next October and hope that you and your family have a safe and happy fall season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Best location in Myrtle Beach. Close to restaurants and night life. Staff was excellent and very accommodating to our needs. Pool area clean and friendly. Rooms are very spacious and spotless. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear David R,

Thank you for review of your stay with us here at the Bay View. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our great location, excellent staff and wonderful amenities. We look forward to having you back for your next return trip to Myrtle Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo unit from 9/21 - 9/29/12. While we did rent this unit thru homeaway.com, we were so impressed with the Bayview. As many have stated, the parking garage is 1 block over but very few resorts in Myrtle Beach have an attached garage. While this was not a problem for us to walk to garage, I was impressed with security there. Had to use a card key to get in ...walking in or driving in.
Resort itself is right on the boardwalk and just wonderful.
Unit was extremely well equipped. Elevators were a tad slow at times. All in all we give this resort 5 stars. Hope to return at vacation time!

Room Tip: 5th floor corner unit....3 bedroom, 3 bath, just great and well equipped for larger group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dblbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayviewManagement, Manager at Bay View on the Boardwalk, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear dblbj,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay here with us. I am very happy that even though you didn't book directly through the property we were able to make a great impression on you and yours. I hope that we have the opportunity to have you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
983 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,056 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
5.2 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#39 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View on the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View on the Boardwalk

Property: Bay View on the Boardwalk
Address: 504 North Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#37 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View on the Boardwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The smoke-free Bay View Resort is located on the NEW oceanfront boardwalk promenade. Bay View features an array of water amenities from an indoor lazy river, pool, spa tub to a children's pool as well as an oceanfront splashdeck. Guests love starting their day with fresh brewed coffee and pastries from the on-site Starbucks. Guests take advantage of the preferred pricing offered by area attractions and golf courses. Accommodations - Select from a variety of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos featuring large, private balconies with either sunrise or sunset views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Vacatia, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Bay View on the Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View On The Boardwalk Hotel Myrtle Beach
Bay View Myrtle Beach
Bay View Hotel
Bayview Resort Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing