We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach trip in April”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St. Clements Suites
Ranked #84 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We liked the location (on the beach) and it was quieter than north myrtle. We stayed in room 304 in st Clements tower for 2 days and nights. The room was clean as it could be but it is extremely dated. Straight out of 1985. When I booked the room on line in was listed as king/queen. The main bed was a queen and needs updated. The bathroom was tiny as well and everything in it needs replaced including the shower head. Not sure how it would work for a family but was ok for my wife and I. I had read the rooms are all independently owned so some are nicer than others so room 304 would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayandlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for St. Clements Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband and I just bought our first condo in St. Clements, which is a sister hotel to The Caravelle in Myrtle Beach. This hotel/condo is directly on the beach, and I mean LITERALLY on the beach (no road in front at all). We are so happy we did this. Allow me to tell you why: location location LOCATION! If you are looking to be amidst the frantic all night noise and lights of the main strip in Myrtle Beach, this is not for you. If, like us, you are looking to be near everything, but removed from the teen scene with the surf crashing and the ability to keep your balcony doors open all night, you found the place.
We own condo unit 308, and it is very new to us. It has gorgeous views of the beach right under our huge floor to ceiling windows, with a nice balcony to enjoy the sunrise. When you first walk into the lobby, there is an extremely clean laundry area to the right with new state of the art facilities. Two elevators are available to transport you to this unit, which is a one bedroom, one bath, dining area/living room combo. To be honest, the rental agency states that the room sleeps 6, and it can, but we honestly found that four is a more comfortable number of people for this updated unit. It has two flat screens, one in the small bedroom and one in the living room, as well as a queen bed in the bedroom and a king in the living room. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room (which is how it can be rented for six). A fully functioning kitchen comes complete with dish ware.
At night, it is hard to describe the beautiful sounds of that surf!
The people at the St. Clements were so friendly. From reception (Marshall) to the wonderful cleaning crew, right outside to Luke, the bartender of The Beach Bar and Grille - this is truly one happy place. An added bonus is that guests of the St. Clements are also free to use the amenities of The Caravelle right next door, which has restaurants, a shop, inside and outside pools, etc.
We would encourage anyone visiting the Myrtle Beach area to consider renting any of the units at St. Clements. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: This hotel is set up as a half circle, so while some rooms have a straight on view, others have what...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mercedesbenz514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed in one of the few larger units (301) that had a private bedroom in addition to a King Bed and Sofa-bed. You could tell right away that a lot of money had been put into it to modernize it and give it that "clean" look. We let our 4 kids take the King and Sofa-bed, and we stayed in the bedroom and watched movies on the big screen from bed after the kids went down. Normally, this condo only has 1 or 2 beds, so if you have more than 4 people, ask for 301. And even if you have 4, you will have limited privacy in the other rooms.

With the 4 different pool options (some heated) and the beach, our kids were in the water even when it was cool over our early spring break. There was no traffic at all to deal with as this is right between downtown Myrtle and North Myrtle. We went to attractions both directions and even tried the locals favorites just on the outskirts but minutes away.

Really a great place any time of year!

Room Tip: 301 is the largest unit and has been recently remodeled
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The St. Clements is one of the buildings in the Caravelle Resort at the northern end of Myrtle Beach. This is our preferred section of the beach as it is not nearly as congested or noisy as the more central location with should-to-shoulder high-rise hotels. The St. Clements unusual semicircular shape and pink color make it stand out. The curved facade makes for a great view from the balcony. Each unit is individually owned and therefore the furnishings vary by unit.

My wife and I stayed three nights in room 505. The furnishings were in good condition. The bathroom sink drained very slowly but this was the only mechanical issue encountered.

The cable TV is pretty basic but our room had a DVD player. And I do want to note that we had the best wifi signal that we've ever had in any hotel --- period. The network was not congested and it never went down.

The housekeeping staff looked a bit overwhelmed. They came rather late each afternoon and were very hurried. We sometimes had to ask for specific items that the housekeeper did not have on the cart, e.g. a dish towel for the kitchen.

Parking is interesting as the lot is partly beneath the building and you have to maneuver around the building's columns. Large trucks and SUVs might have a bit of trouble, but our Honda CR-V had no problems.

Be aware that the front desk for all of the Caravelle properties is across the street (North Ocean Blvd.) from the St. Clements, so you'll have to stop there to check in.

This was our first stay at any of the Caravelle properties. We go to Myrtle Beach 2-3 times per year and have our favorite rooms at the nearby Ocean Reef and Forest Dunes, but they were not available for our travel dates. So this trip we tried the St. Clements and were very pleased. We've added it to our list of favored Myrtle Beach accommodations.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Came down for my kids birthday March 31-April3, 2014. The room looked nice, but had a bad sewage smell (st. Clemens Rm (101). When we arrived at the room my 4 year old instantly brings me a pair of ladies eyelash strips that we visible and used on the living area table. When it came to taking showers it was four of us and had to wait a hour in between to take showers because the water got cold after about 2-3 mins. I was told that it was because the room only had 30 gal tanks and that only the main hotel had a boiler system. The stay at would have been so much better if they could have had hot water and done something about the smell, I do not think it was work the money even with a discount. Mind you that the bed was terrible. My body is still aching from the hard bed that was located in this room (king).

Room Tip: Check the room before checking in
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsTae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days and three nights with the most awesome view ever of the ocean and beach. We had a 5th floor room. The space was perfect for the two of us. It had 2 Queen beds, one in a separate area with a TV and an armoire, one bath, which was a bit small but doable, a small kitchen with microwave on top of refrigerator, a toaster, sink, no dishwasher, (but who wants to cook at the beach), a table for 4 and a sofa, TV, and another Queen bed beside a large wall of glass doors, perfect for sleeping and listening to the ocean. I loved the view from a generous sized balcony with a reclining lounger and chair and table. The view is what I love most! The parking was a little tight, due to poles that you have to maneuver around to park, but there is a lot directly behind the St. Clemens where one could park if they have a longer, bigger vehicle. Luggage carts are very convenient as is elevators with a small seating area, and a laundry room beside elevators. The customer service personnel were awesome. They let us look at other room we might want to use in the future to see what's available. Try it out and enjoy the view!!

Room Tip: Small pool outside, but access to all other Caravell Resort amenities, which are many!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mefohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Booked a good rate at the St. Clements. Had not been to Myrtle Beach before, but we found great flight rates, so decided to go. My daughter and her friends were also going. They accidentally booked the wrong Caravelle Property but when we called there was no problem getting it switched so we could be together. When we arrived and checked in, one of our rooms was great, but the other wasn't quite up to our standard. Marsellis at the front desk was super helpful and found us another unit on that property that we liked. Note for management - we were about to go find another property and Marsellis convinced us to stay and look at other rooms until we were happy. A desk clerk like this is worth his weight in gold. Anyway, had a beautiful view and all of the amenities we needed. Beach was gorgeous and the outdoor pools and hot tubs were wonderful. We used all of them. They were never too crowded. A lot of families at this resort from little kids to teenagers. Everyone was fun and friendly. Front office staff was great with suggestions of things to do (because it rained 3 days) and anytime we needed anything they were right on it. Mavis was wonderful to us. Loved the staff. Housekeeping was great. Would clean when we wanted and skip it when we didn't. Made sure we had everything we needed. Beds and sheets were comfy and both units clean. I am super picky about clean. While this is an older property, they have maintained it well and it's in a super location. We would go back. Also decided to add another day at the last minute and they were able to work that our for us. Called maintenance once to help us with the thermostat. He was very cool and showed us what we were doing wrong without making us feel stupid. Then he offered to check back up with us later. Parking was at a premium on this property and I am not a good enough driver to get my car down under the building. It was too tight. Maybe consider parking elsewhere on their properties if you are like me. But most nights we could find outdoor parking right near the door.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Get a balcony room. Balconies are big, plenty of room t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debntodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#88 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,181 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#66 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carolina Dunes
Carolina Dunes
#10 of 34 in Myrtle Beach
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Clements Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Clements Suites

Address: 70th Avenue North, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All units are individually owned. Certain amenities (fitness center, business center, etc) are shared facilities at our sister properties next door. (The Caravelle). Each unit in this building is individually owned, therefore decor and interior upgrades will vary by unit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
St. Clements Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing