We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - would definitely return!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay - loved our view, room & staff. Everyone was very helpful and attentive to our needs. We really loved our balcony overlooking the beautiful beach!! Thank you for a great stay and we would definitely come back to this establishment. Also, a big thanks to Deb - her willingness to accommodate our crazy trip down and always with a smile!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selkefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We love reading that your family had such a wonderful vacation with us. We hope that you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a small and older resort. Nice place to stay and good management. Some rooms have Jaccusi tubs. All have kitchens and the resort has grills. Nice small pool and hot tub. The best thing about a small resort like this is after a few days everyone gets to know everyone and become one big family. Good beach front location and good for kids. Nice place

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flemingdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We really appreciate you kind words about our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Not the top of the line resort, but friendly , quiet, good location, comfortable. If you want to enjoy the ocean view, nicely priced, and don't need picture perfect ammenities. This is a nice place to stay, The staffs friendliness makes up for the age of the unit.

Room Tip: Up grade your room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We are beginning a renovation in March and hope that you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent the last week in September at Schooner Bay. The location (northern end of Myrtle Beach) was ideal with direct beach access. our 2 bedroom unit's 4th floor balcony overlooked the ocean, and the grounds were well-maintained. We were a bit off-season, so the resort was not crowded. The pool and hot tub are small, and may be inadequate for the busier summer season. The exterior is in the process of being painted, so the building has a fresh, clean appearance. The interior of our unit had been recently painted, and it was very clean. The beds were comfortable, although the pillows were VERY old, flat and badly in need of replacement. Old, stained pillows covered with zip-on pillow covers...ugh. There were plenty of towels, including 4 towels for the beach or pool, and towels could be exchanged whenever you wanted fresh ones. Plenty of hot water in the shower. The building is concrete and steel, so the rooms were very quiet, no noise from the other tenants. BUT...the interior furnishings and appliances were old, dated and faded... very unappealing. I read a few reviews where the kitchens had been updated this year in some units, so maybe they are doing a few at a time, but our kitchen was small, appliances old. The couch was old and sagging (cannot imagine sleeping on it), the chair in the master bedroom had a huge stain on it. There were 2 flat-screen TV's in the unit, but everything else was O-L-D. The floor plan was awkward, with the master bedroom's only window opening to the HALL! Since we had to keep that drape closed all week the room had a cave-like feeling with no natural light. The second bathroom opened onto the kitchen, and the kitchen was very narrow.
On the plus side, the staff get an A+ for friendliness, helpfulness, courtesy and accomodation. The helpfulness of the staff, the overall cleanliness of the unit and the resort, plus the wonderful beachfront location made our week a good one, but this timeshare resort needs to get busy and spend some of those maintenance fees on updating the interior of the units. Today's vacationing families are looking for a little more in accomodations than this resort is providing.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We are beginning a renovation of several rooms in March. We hope that you can visit our resort again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 with our two kids (5, 7). The place looks nice from the outside but inside it is very average - really dated. That said, it is right on the beach with a pool and hot tub, and in a good location for exploring the area (although a little north of many attractions).

Check-in (and check-out) were a breeze. The front desk staff was always helpful and friendly. Luggage carts are available. We got a beach-facing 1 bedroom on the 3rd floor right in front of the elevator and stairs. The room is quite odd in that the master bedroom has a window facing the HALLWAY. I mean, wtf? Who wants a window into the hallway? The drapes in that window were kept shut at all times. The stairs are steel and made a loud noise when stepped (or jumped) on by pounding feet. Luckily the hotel was very quiet by bedtime.

Unknown to us, the one bedroom suite comes with a small (large closet-sized) bunk-bed room. This was a huge bonus as the kids got to share the bunk beds instead of us having to open and close the pull-out sofa every day. That said, the bunk bed is ancient and squeaked horribly with any type of body movement (particularly on the top bunk).

The room is quite dated but is clean and relatively comfortable. There are ample pillows and blankets for everyone. We did get 4 "pool" towels for our stay. But we were told not to use them on the beach (so we bought cheapo towels that we left behind). Also, there was once-a-week "tidy-up" service. And bath towels could be replaced a couple of times a week.

The appliances were small (expected in a small kitchenette) but all worked properly. Our room didn't come with enough bowls however for all of us, though. Weird.

There were optional activities to sign up for during the week (e.g., water aerobics, sand art, BBQ, etc.). The sand art and BBQ cost a few dollars.

The Schooner is a "voluntary no-smoking" establishment. So you can guess how well that is followed. Unfortunately, our neighbors always seemed to be smoking on their balcony which made it impossible for us to enjoy ours.

The pool was small but clean. The hot tub was nice (but a little too hot). It was closed one day for maintenance. Also, there is a sign that kids under 14 are NOT allowed in the hot tub (regardless of parental supervision). I thought that was a little unfair as my kids like the hot tub as much as we do.

Beware that the early-morning lounger "reservations" were going on here. I'd see loungers untouched for hours except for the towel placed on it earlier. I really despise this practice.

The "gym" is mostly a joke - an elliptical and treadmill and an all-in-one exercise machine. The laundry has 3 washers and 6 dryers. A wash cost $1.50 (30 minutes) and the dryer $1.00 (40 minutes for a regular load). The front desk sells detergent (at $1 per) and fabric softener if needed.

Loungers and umbrellas are available for rent on the beach from the lifeguards. A half day is $15 or $20. I never got them for a full day. believe a weekly rental is also possible.

Starbucks is a couple blocks north as is the terrific River City Cafe (great onion rings and burgers). A Food Lion is a few minutes drive for groceries and there are too many beach stores on N. Kings Highway to name just one.

All-in-all it was an average (2.5 or 3 star) "resort". Rooms really need to be updated. They did have flat-screen TVs though (Dynex brand!). :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dms666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Total disappointment! The trip was for my son who had just undergone three eye surgeries. Imagine my horror having to clean the place after we arrived. The silverware was filthy. The Beds bits us, the air conditioner leaked soaking the carpet and we had to open the room door just to access the vegetable and fruit bin in the refrigerator. The apartment contained too much furniture as we had to put the coffee table on the patio for the duration of our stay just so we would not trip over it using the rest room at night. The pool was full of bugs and the hot tub desperately needed cleaning. Okay it has a great beach access and the outdoor patio chairs and tables were lovely. The people were very nice and the location was great, but the place was the pits. This place was definitely not a 3.5 star try a 1.5.star. Management should consider closing it and renovating the units to be more family friendly as one bath room really stinks for a family of four and it stinks even more when it is located off of the kitchen!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Shawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPMResorts, Public Relations Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Dear Shawn,
We apologize for the problems you experienced on your recent visit. We strive to ensure each and every guest has a positive experience. We have looked into this unit, as well as some of the issues you mentioned in your review. We routinely have the property inspected for bed bugs and pests, and this unit was inspected and approved shortly before your visit. Additionally, our maintenance staff continually cleans the pool to remove any debris or insects, so we apologize you experienced a problem in that area. We work hard to ensure each guest is greeted with a smile, and are glad you had a positive experience with our staff. Thank you for your review, and we hope your son is recovering nicely from his eye surgeries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Location, Location, Location!! We were on the 4th Floor and had a beautiful ocean view. All rooms in this 6 story hotel have a balcony ocean view. We had an efficiency kitchen which was fine for the 2 of us. The hotel needs refurbishing which they were doing at the time on the outside of the building. The staff was great and very helpful with suggesting activities. Also very quick with any problem in the room. Running toilet was repaired, mildew smell, and stuck door lock. All were fixed immediately. We were in the quiet area of Myrtle Beach which was fine with us and centrally located within 15-30 minutes of everything. Since it was Biker week we were especially glad to be away from the busy area. They could use a bigger and newer pool but the beach was only a few feet away. The one elevator was very slow for some reason. We chose to walk down the stairs. Great location.

Room Tip: Better view on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geri51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We really appreciate your kind words about our resort and staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.9 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#79 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#94 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#9 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
6,131 reviews
4 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4,188 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Beach & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Beach & Racquet Club

Address: 7050 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3642
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $68 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Beach & Racquet Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Schooner Beach & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Beach And Racquet Club
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing