We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I visit MB every year with friends (for spring break) and we normally stay on the southern end of the beach but due to availability during St. Patty's Day week, we ended up at the Schooner Beach and Raquet Club this year. It was obviously off season so the pool wasn't open and we didn't really go out to the beach but the location was still great! The laundry room was clean and the gym was adequate.

As for the room, it was OLD! There were water stains on the wall from an old leak, what appeared to be mold inside the glass of pictures on the wall, rust around the air returns and a strange clicking noise when the air/heat kicked on (loud enough to wake us up in the night). The furniture was also very outdated and not very comfortable. Overall some paint, updated furnishings and a little elbow grease to clean up would do wonders for this property.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKearnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We appreciate your feedback, and have addressed your concerns so they do not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

My father-in-law has a time share at Schooners and we have spending our family vacation at Schooners for the last 4 years and will be returning at the end of August.

Schooners is an older property, but clean and we have always had great service. Just know that if you are set on luxury accomodations, you will be disappointed. But how much time do you spend in your room when your at the beach?

Although the kitchen is small we have always managed to make dinners for 3 adults and two kids. You can't bet the views from the balconey, and every room has an oceanfront view.

You know the saying "location, location, location?" That is what brings us back year after year. The beach is 50ft from Schooners door, we can walk to our favorite restaurant "River City" and you are about as far north in Myrtle Beach as you can get, which is much less crowded than Central Myrtle Beach. There is plenty to do... Broadway on the Beach, Barefoot Landing etc.

My kids can't wait to come back! They start asking in Dec. "when are we going to the beach?"

We have been to Charleston, Hilton Head and the OuterBanks, and loved them all, but we NEVER run out of things to do with the kids in Myrtle Beach.

Head some of the reviews if you are looking for newer accomodations, but if you are looking for a "beach vacation" this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmcasanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We love reading that your family had such a wonderful vacation with us. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The building is older, but good for the price. I did not expect it to be a luxurious. Our unit had been updated with new carpet, paint, etc. This place has alot of families that stay there. The staff is very helpful. I do wish the pool was bigger, but we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. We hope that you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We traded our Marriott Resort Time Share in Orlando for The Schooner Beach and Racquet Club in Myrtle Beach. A few things.....

*The is no racquet club
*It was dirty
*It was horribly out of date
*No water pressure in the shower
*Only scalding hot or freezing cold water in the shower
*Tiny pool, gross
*Clammy, skeevy sheets, blankets, pillows and towels
*Tiny appliances
*Did I mention it was dirty and skeevy?

It is literally right on the beach, but that does not make up for such a horribly disappointing room and building. Needless to say, I will NEVER stay at The Schooner again. Awful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeffsto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to express your concern about these issues. We have addressed your concerns so they do not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Schooner over New Years Eve weekend. We had a great experience there - the Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful! We drove in from out of town, and they let us check in early. And, when they found out we were celebrating our anniversary, they even moved us to a room on the top floor with fantastic ocean views! Clean rooms, convenient location and right on the beach -- all these features make the Schooner a great place to stay in Myrtle Beach. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSB_and_DTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for writing such a positive review, We are happy that you loved your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

All the staff was very friendly. The size of unit was small, 4 adults could fit in comfortalbely. The kitchen was very small. No full size appliances. Very hard to fit items in the small refrigerator. There are restaurants walking distance of 3 blocks. I was very satisfied with this place. I would like to go back next year. It is a small place of only 9 floors. All rooms are ocean front with balcony or patio. Also all rooms are non smoking, if you smoke you can smoke on your balcony or patio. They also have wi fi in all the rooms.and by the pool. The ocean is just outside a few steps.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suem0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about our resort. We hope you can visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed the week with my parents at their timeshare, and we were very impressed with the accommodations. It has the convenience of a hotel but the feel of a condo. The staff was just amazing. The only bad part is that we drove 2 cars and there's only room in the parking lot for 1 car per room. There is parking on the street but there are parking meters. The staff had initially told us we could park there without paying because the city's website said they were taking the meters down after September 15. Well, we got a parking ticket, but the staff took care of it by calling the city for us!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wcladymacbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoonerI, Manager at Schooner Beach & Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about our resort. We love reading that your family had such a wonderful vacation with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.9 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#79 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#94 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#9 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
6,133 reviews
4 mi away
The Breakers Resort
The Breakers Resort
#29 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4,189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Beach & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Beach & Racquet Club

Address: 7050 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3642
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $68 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Schooner Beach & Racquet Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Schooner Beach & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Beach And Racquet Club
Schooner Beach & Racquet Club Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing