We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mexican food.”
Review of Abuelo's

Abuelo's
Ranked #45 of 886 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Real Mexican food is a feast for the senses. From colorful peppers to the sounds of sizzling fajitas all the way to that incredible flavor. Each mouthful is just as much a result of the freshest ingredients as it is a result of the chef's expertise. Abuelo's offers diners the opportunity to experience real Mexican food, combining authentic, made from scratch classic dishes with the rich, subtle flavors of coastal and interior Mexican cuisine. Our executive Chef Luis Sanchez has spent decades perfecting our menu, and we boast a wide selection of wood-grilled fajitas, enchiladas, tacos, chile rellenos or Abuelo's unique House Specialties (depending on your location). To compliment your meal, our expert bartenders are masters at crafting signature favorites, including a wide variety of margaritas and swirls. Whatever the occasion, we'll stop at nothing to make your time at Abuelo's a memorable dining experience.
Longs, SC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent mexican food.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On New Year's Eve, had dinner for the first time at an Abuelo's Mexican Restaurant in Sterling Heights, Michigan. It was outstanding. On our return to Myrtle Beach, found out there was an Abuelo's here as well. Had lunch there this week. The nacho chips are thin, crisp, fresh, and delicious, complimented by three excellent salsa's. The entre's that use ground beef are the best that I've had at a Mexican restaurant. The only downside was just a little bit of tardy service on a refill, but that might have been due to inexperience on the part of the server, who was very pleasant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    243
    78
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“New Gluten Free Menu”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went for the first time yesterday after finding them in the GF Registry. The server was very well informed of GF needs and helped reinforce choices. Both my husband and I ordered GF so I could try more than one selection. We started with GF tortilla chips and dips, followed by GF fajitas with pork, bacon wrapped shrimp with cheese sauce and jasmine rice. Everything was excellent. The server, Jon, was very attentive and we will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiffSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, Food is delicious”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The decor and ceiling is absolutely beautiful. Love the salsas they bring to the table. The chips are light and delicious. Our food was hot and plentiful. They brought my entree and it was not the one I ordered. They quickly corrected the error and comped our bill for the mistake without us even having to ask. The service was great. Friendly and attentive. It was a little pricey but it is worth the cost.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brenda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth every calorie”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went out with friends today, who have been here before. It was my first time. I found the food amazing. The chips were obviously freshly made - so light & tasty. The dips were great & when we asked for more, it was brought with a smile from our very nice waiter.

The place is pretty, except for a wall mural which depicts some kind of gathering. Every face was sad. Certainly not the "mood" I'd want my customers to be in at my restaurant.

All in all, I enjoyed it & would go again in a nanosecond.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami ,florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great mexican american food!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

i love this place the food is great and very affordable i know their menu because i go very often and never get disappointed is mexican american so don't expect the real mexican flavor but still a good place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank charly1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing