We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed & a little weird but perfect for us!”
Review of Riptide Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riptide Beach Club
Ranked #106 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed & a little weird but perfect for us!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Someone else said, "old school" which is a pretty accurate description. Nothing fancy at all. No maid service except they come to take the trash out. You have to request new towells and you have to sign out "beach towells". But the view and the proximity to the beach are excellent. I took my three children (13, 10, 9) and didn't have to worry about them wrecking anything. We stayed in C-23. Single bedroom (my daughter and I slept in one bed), living room with very uncomfortable pullout couch (but my sons didn't mind), small kitchenette, small bathroom. I could sit on my 2nd floor balcony and watch the kids run to the beach. It's a great location. Five minutes from Broadway at the Beach. Close to the boardwalk. Lots of mini golf and restaurants right around the corner. If you're looking for top notch ammenities or a romantic getaway...this is not the place for you. If you are looking to chill out for a couple of days with the kids....this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room!!! Otherwise, you are facing the road or another building. Don't stay on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
34
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed in the Riptide II building, which by my view seemed to be a bit newer. The amenities were great........separate living room, whirlpool tub, flat screen tv's, full kitchen with dishwasher, and balcony.

RIGHT on the beach, with excellent views. Walking distance to stores, bars, and dining. Would absolutely return to this property. By the way, no one gave us any high pressure timeshare sales pitch.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MrFlyHigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

It was a very nice stay in Myrtle Beach. Sits on beachfront property. Parking is the only problem. Good restaurants nearby. Staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeidiPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

this is a quaint 5 level beach condo it was very clean, the pools are great with a beach view, it is close to many attractions, dining, and watering holes, many destinations were within walking distance or a short drive had a blast. Spent endless hours at the pool, very relaxing. It isn't fancy but a nice beach retreat - go with some friends and create the best vacation ever, we did!

Room Tip: corner rooms are a bit larger if you have 4 people in a room it is comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xcheermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our unit was beautifully furnished with brand new furniture so I don't quite understand some of the other reviews unless there was a recent overhaul between their reviews and our stay. There were cameras in the common areas, hallways and stairs which I found comforting. Being right on the beach and able to see our room, my 'tween' could come and go from the room and I didn't worry. The staff was extremely helpful with information on area information and directions. Sometimes you check in to a resort and the staff isn't even from the same state. I would definitely recommend this location to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The buildings are right on the beach---we stayed in Riptide II, Building D, in D-16 in an ocean front condo. The bedroom had a picture window with a spectacular view of the ocean. There was also a balcony where you can sit and enjoy the ocean breeze and view. The parking is limited but there is a 7 story parking garage across the street where you can park. the building is only 5 stories so no waiting for elevators.
We had fresh towels every morning and the garbage was taken each morning.
There is a laundry room on the first floor---$1.00/washer; $.75/dryer.
Two good places to eat within walking distance were The Sea Captain's House & Spring House.
Remember you're at the beach---condo slightly dated but met our needs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TulsanTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markham, ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in a Town House overlooking a small courtyard in front of the office. The kitchen window opened to a view of the city street and the sidewalk was directly outside. As we entered the unit we noticed a foul order throughout the townhouse which we thought was pesticide. The smell persisted and it was probably sewer gas. The unit was large with dated uncomfortable furniture and the ambience was similiar to an old run down trailer. The bathroom floors were dirty, the top of the fridge has never been cleaned and when I tried to open the kitchen window to air out the unit it was covered in dirt and dead bugs. The only good thing about this place is the beach! They have two pools one unheated and one heated which looks like it has never been cleaned. I also noticed the caretaker pouring in bicarbonate of soda into the hot tub in lieu of proper chemicals and cleaning agents. This place was a disgrace! In over 40 years of travelling this is without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed making camping look good. This is an RCI site and it should be removed from RCI since it is a dump.

Room Tip: Stay down the road at Compass Cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank panamaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#82 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#117 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#59 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#91 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riptide Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Beach Club

Property: Riptide Beach Club
Address: 2804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3050
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riptide Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riptide Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riptide Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Riptide Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing