We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful and Safe for all!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riptide Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riptide Beach Club
Ranked #111 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Safe for all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our unit was beautifully furnished with brand new furniture so I don't quite understand some of the other reviews unless there was a recent overhaul between their reviews and our stay. There were cameras in the common areas, hallways and stairs which I found comforting. Being right on the beach and able to see our room, my 'tween' could come and go from the room and I didn't worry. The staff was extremely helpful with information on area information and directions. Sometimes you check in to a resort and the staff isn't even from the same state. I would definitely recommend this location to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    25
    16
    6
    11
See reviews for
33
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

The buildings are right on the beach---we stayed in Riptide II, Building D, in D-16 in an ocean front condo. The bedroom had a picture window with a spectacular view of the ocean. There was also a balcony where you can sit and enjoy the ocean breeze and view. The parking is limited but there is a 7 story parking garage across the street where you can park. the building is only 5 stories so no waiting for elevators.
We had fresh towels every morning and the garbage was taken each morning.
There is a laundry room on the first floor---$1.00/washer; $.75/dryer.
Two good places to eat within walking distance were The Sea Captain's House & Spring House.
Remember you're at the beach---condo slightly dated but met our needs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank TulsanTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markham, ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in a Town House overlooking a small courtyard in front of the office. The kitchen window opened to a view of the city street and the sidewalk was directly outside. As we entered the unit we noticed a foul order throughout the townhouse which we thought was pesticide. The smell persisted and it was probably sewer gas. The unit was large with dated uncomfortable furniture and the ambience was similiar to an old run down trailer. The bathroom floors were dirty, the top of the fridge has never been cleaned and when I tried to open the kitchen window to air out the unit it was covered in dirt and dead bugs. The only good thing about this place is the beach! They have two pools one unheated and one heated which looks like it has never been cleaned. I also noticed the caretaker pouring in bicarbonate of soda into the hot tub in lieu of proper chemicals and cleaning agents. This place was a disgrace! In over 40 years of travelling this is without a doubt the worst place I have ever stayed making camping look good. This is an RCI site and it should be removed from RCI since it is a dump.

Room Tip: Stay down the road at Compass Cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank panamaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Flatwoods, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

I have been going to Riptide since I was 1 and I am now 30. My parents have 3 weeks here and we have went the same time every year so I have watched the same people grow up with me. This is an older place Iwill admit, but this place holds so much value that it hurts to see people downing this place. I wish these people would know how to talk to the people that work there cause they have always been nothing but helpful. They know my brothers and me by name or better yet we are Dennie Whitts kids. I just want everone to know that this place HAS been fixed up and u will nothing but a good time if u stay here, the games and places u go with your kids and the things the office gets for u to have a better vacatin in great! I highly recomend this place to anyone looking to have some good family fun without the hassel of it being to crowded,or to much money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NancyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high point nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

Riptide 1 is an older motel turned timeshare in the 80's. It is RIGHT on the beach, and only a few blocks to Broadway at the Beach, as well as a short walk to the new downtown boardwalk. The staff is very attentive, and very friendly. We had two units. One was small and very dark, with no balcony or view of the beach, however we knew this before going. We had adequate room, brand new sleeper sofa, and bed. The bed however, was terribly hard and uncomfortable (a common complaint here for YEARS). We had a larger corner unit, also without a view or balcony, but much bigger and brighter. Accommodations were just fine! The pools are small, but they were very clean and well maintained while we were there. The beach is so close you can run back and forth for lunch, bathroom, etc. There are two gas grills for your use, pool towels for exchange daily, and room towels refreshed each day. Maid service is only once a week, but if you need them, they are there lickity split. I requested my room be vacuumed and they asked me every day if I wanted them to come back and do it.
Parking is across the street, which isn't bad, except in 100 degree heat..which unfortunately we experienced. Lets face it we all need to walk a little more anyhow!
We stay usually at Wyndham resorts in Myrtle Beach, and have owned at Riptide for years. I had not been in years, but can honestly say I really enjoyed the stay. Had 5 kids ages 11-17 with us. The 17 year old was less than impressed, but the others had a blast, and have asked to go back. They LOVED the proximity to the beach and boardwalk! I agree with those that say some people cannot be happy with anything. It is not a 5 star resort, so don't go there expecting one, and enjoy what the area has to offer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bucspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Save your money. The Riptide is the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in my life. The rooms are old, dirty, and outright unsanitary. Picture an old run down trailer park and imagine what it would look like in one of the trailers. With that in mind, now picture a room that is 10X worse. That is what you are going to get if you decide to stay here!

Trust me, you do NOT want to stay here, it is a completely low, I mean LOW class place.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoytravel1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed on the fourth floor of the Riptide II building overlooking Cameron Park. Our room was ocean view to the left and street view to the right. Our room was very clean and well appointed with a very unique floor plan. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Second and third floors may not have an ocean view because of the palm trees in the park. We enjoyed late afternoons on the balcony watching the beach and street activity! Internet was available in the room using the hotel next door's server. The Riptide server is located on the first floor in the lounge and generally not available in the rooms. Our jetted tub was the largest we have ever seen! The resort is located within walking distance to several great restaurants and liquor store.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nothome-OnaVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#126 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#89 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Camelot By The Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.2 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#41 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riptide Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riptide Beach Club

Property: Riptide Beach Club
Address: 2804 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3050
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Riptide Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Riptide Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing