We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Horn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Horn Motel
Ranked #133 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't stayed here for years but soooo glad I came back. Location is perfect. Staff is fantastic. I plan on continuing coming back for years. The 5 star hotels are nice but lacking in warmth. I'll stick with this good ole seahorn.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssEmmArr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    16
    9
    20
See reviews for
84
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've been going to the Sea Horn in Myrtle Beach for over 30 years. It's a clean, family-run business. You're not going to get luxurious accommodations, you will get a better-than-average rate. The location at the south end of town, you're out of traffic and closer to Murrles Inlet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Color-up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My first time staying there. Rooms were spacious and clean. They even wash the comforters which I know a lot of motels don't. Great balcony view. Great vacation motel.
I had left a pair of designer sunglasses there and they mailed it to me!!! Just received it a few days with all the other junk I left and everything was untouched!! Such honesty is unbelievable. First time staying there but will definitely not be my last.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson,South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this gem a couple years back when another hotel fell through. I have to say this has a awesome location and a great price. They are very easy to work with and they work hard to keep the rooms clean.

I walk in and smell clorox and clean I know I am in the right place. It may look a bit dated and rough around the edges but they are clean and very friendly staff.

These types of family owned and ran hotels are a dying breed. I have been to newer hotels that were nasty!! The only 2 gripes was the last day the elevator had a urine smell and DHEC shut the pools down for a couple of hours due to high PH. Which was just a chemical imbalance not because pool was dirty it was clean all week.

But overall it was a pleasant stay and I did not report elevator smell I am sure they would of addressed it if I would of they are willing to please. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank necrosys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found the Sea Horn after our reservation at another motel was unexpectedly cancelled. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has an indoor and outdoor pool and hot tub that were well maintained. The building needs some painting an updates. We were always able to find parking on the same side of the street as the hotel. The location was good because you are away from the crowds on the far south end of the beach. The price was $20-$50 cheaper a night than other hotels. Chairs were available around the pool in in the lawn area in front of the hotel. A charcoal grill and picnic table was also available for use. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 335AngelaL335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The pluses of this motel are the pool area and beach access and that it is out of the busy, crowded area of Myrtle Beach. It's proximity to Myrtle Commons and the cost were the reasons for our booking this motel. The room we stayed in was clean although the carpet was stained. We had to have the door lock replaced and also the exhaust fan in the bathroom replaced during our stay, but the staff was very accommodating and made the repairs very quickly. As with many of the older motels on the beach, the humidity caused the tile in the bathroom to sweat and stay wet. The bathroom was so small and the exhaust fan was not efficient enough to remove the moisture and I never felt dry. I would suggest to the management that they upgrade their linens as the fitted sheets came loose from the mattress and the towels were very small and thin. If you are looking for the "old Myrtle Beach experience" you will not be disappointed here; however if you are a creature of comfort I suggest you pay a little more and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older building - perhaps the newer building would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaye N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stay was great, we had two rooms side by side with family on the 2nd floor 212 & 214 Our housekeeper was Ashley, she was very friendly and my little ones loved her. Rooms were a bit outdated, only one pool overall it was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan0587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#129 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#95 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Sands South
Holiday Sands South
#67 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
0.6 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horn Motel

Property: Sea Horn Motel
Address: 2805 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4853
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Horn Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sea Horn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing