We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Value for Money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Horn Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Horn Motel
Ranked #144 of 216 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a great family-run hotel with very friendly owners/staff. Very reasonably priced and great value for money. It's a no-frills, older hotel, and the elevator needs a refurb, but small things like this can be overlooked when you have clean rooms with great views of the ocean. We paid the extra $5 for an ocean-front room with balcony and we loved having the door open listening to the waves crashing on to the beach. The rooms are equipped with a small kitchen containing a large fridge, microwave and cooker so you can be easily self-sufficient.

2 pools (one indoor and one outdoor), 2 spas - all very clean.

A great motel and we hope to visit again.


The outdoor pool was very clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Ocean-front room with balcony was a fabulous choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    35
    16
    9
    23
See reviews for
86
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Rude wants to start trouble beware checked in at 8:20 stayed an hour were asked to check out because our dog was in the van and were called a liar and charged $50 bacause they said the dog had been in the room and when confronted got in my face trying to fight. Said the $50 was to baum the room sister stayoing across the hall said it never happened. Rooms are nasty and in need of repair furniture was old and out dated. Military and pet unfriendly

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Armyssg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband, son and I spent 5 days at the Sea Horn after my sister-in-law recommended it to us. We stayed in a beachfront efficiency room on the 9th floor. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and had our morning coffee and cereal sitting on the balcony.
This is an older hotel with few frills but it was exceptionally clean. I had no problem walking around the unit without shoes and it seems like the bed spreads are washed after each person's stay as I saw bedspreads on the floor outside neighboring units twice during our stay while rooms were being cleaned. The frig., stove and drawers and cabinets were all clean and there were no old food odors. The cabinets were stocked with bowls,plates,cups and mugs. Utensils were also provided along with a plastic pitcher and a large serving spoon, knife and spatula.A coffee maker is also available in the unit.
The outdoor pool was very clean and well kept. The grounds around the pool and beach were cared for regularly. We had rain a few days and were happy to use the heated indoor pool and hot tub. I did note a few drips from the windows/roof above the indoor pool.
We are already planning our stay for next year.

Room Tip: I'm glad we spent the little extra for an oceanfront room instead of an oceanview room. Being u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank norfinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

My first stay was a spur-of-the-moment two night weekend stay. There were no rooms available where I usually stay. I found The Sea Horn online and it had good reviews so I thought I'ld give them a call. I live two hours away, but the lady I spoke with assured me there would be rooms when I got there...to come on down. If you want a clean, quiet basic motel room that's reasonably priced, this is the place for you. My only complaint is that the elevator is VERY slow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mematosix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I always stay at the Sea Horn Motel. It is clean and the staff are very friendly. It is very convenient to get to the beach from the motel. It is not a fancy resort, but it is very practical and comfortable, and the price is very reasonable. Amenities are not that great, but I only go to the beach for peace and quiet, and rest and relaxation...and at the Sea Horn that is exactly what you get. No parties, no alcohol, and a very respectful family atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are nice, but the ocean view rooms have more room and the view is just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

The rooms are very spacious and have a fantastic view. I like the price and the seperate bedroom. While the motel lacks in amenities, it is good if you don't plan to spend much time in the room and more exploring the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Clifton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Like most people say it is not huge resort. It's a mom and pop motel very warm and friendly my family and i love it!! Very reasonably priced this was our second visit and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luvredhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#113 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#97 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#150 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#138 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#96 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#46 of 216 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Horn Motel

Property: Sea Horn Motel
Address: 2805 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4853
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Horn Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sea Horn Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing