We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent server”

Amici's Brick Oven & Italian Bistro
Ranked #19 of 886 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Amici's Brick Oven & Italian Bistro we proudly serve Traditional Italian Specialties with Authentic Wood Fired Flavor, Fresh, Handmade Pasta Dishes, Hand Tossed Tuscan-style Brick Oven Pizza. We have fish, seafood, and steak specials daily. Buon Appetito!
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent server”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I gave a 5 star rating because of the service received & tasty food. Rita, was our server, & she anticipated our needs before we had to ask. She came to our table repeatedly to inquire how everything was. An excellent server helps to make the experience a great one! The tomato sauce is quite tasty. We definitely will be return customers & will share our experience with others,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    251
    88
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
“Seriously”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Seriously people are calling this the best Italian they ever had???

Pizza sauce as thin as water and a burnt crust.

It was as is there was no respect for the Italian theme. With the decor obviously updater recently they completely forgot to do the bathrooms. I mean come on the only reason you paint a bathroom black is to hide how dirty it is.

As for the food it was obvious that there is quite a bit then comes in pre-made. We were a party of 8 and the verdict was split 50/50 on if we would return.

As for our server and the cook in the back, can we say slovenly? Both had dirty shirts. the cook seemed to be perpetualy pissed (with all the swearing) off and judging by his attire a it hasn't been laundry day for a while. As for our server, not the smartest cookie in the box judging by his lack of knowledge.

Needless to say I do not recommend and will never be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tooloose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Amicis, Owner at Amici's Brick Oven & Italian Bistro, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We have shared it with our management and wait staff with the goal of it making us a better operation.

A bit of clarification may help in regard to your review. Our pizza sauce is typically well received; it is made according to written "Methods of Preparation" and then sits overnight in order for the flavors to blend. We make it as well as the vast majority of our menu’s items using fresh ingredients.

Our managers check on our diners during the meal, which includes our offer to replace anything that does not meet your satisfaction. As one can see from our positive reviews, we take our guest's satisfaction seriously. We wish that you had availed yourself of that option.

As for our "theme," we are always working to improve our aesthetic image. We are currently installing colorful runners on the tables this weekend, which match the Tuscan earth tones and window treatments currently in place. Our lady’s room was heavily remodeled in 2012; both restrooms are painted a matching green with white trim. It is the ceiling tiles that are black, as was recommended by our licensed interior designer. Our written protocols clarify how often they are cleaned.

Chef Jim is actually of a much higher caliber than the one you painted in your review- we consider him to be a professional in every sense of the word. His love and support for his fellow family members is tinged with a touch of silliness that makes working here so much fun, and is one of the reasons that so many of our staff members return year after year.

All wait staff members must pass with high marks a test on our menu’s items, their ingredients and sauces, as well as our wines by the glass. To state otherwise in the less-than-considerate terms you used is not accurate. We have a staff line up before each shift to confirm professional standards are met.

We always work to improve our operation, would certainly be willing to discuss your experience in more detail should you desire to do so.

Sincerely yours,

Blake Hallman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great brick oven pizza. Fresh ingredients with a light and crispy crust. Shane, our waiter, was wonderful. Great, friendly, quick service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Bistro at Broadwalk”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is the first time we went to this Bistro.....we were greeted and seated right away.....our order was taken quickly and fresh bread was brought to the table....our server Shane did a great job....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have eaten here twice on 2 different vacations to Myrtle Beach, the first time was August 2012, it was myself, my husband, his sister and her husband (before heading to the Broadway bars), we had a great time and the food was GREAT! We didn't expect such big portions and I think we ordered a little bit more food then we needed! The second time was in July 2013, AMAZING! We went as a family, with more of our family, including my in-laws and all of the kiddies, everyone loved it and my in-laws couldn't stop talking about how good it was! Portions are great, service is excellent! I will go there on every Myrtle Beach trip I go on! You don't have to wait for a table which is nice after knowing people are waiting over an hour to two to get into Margaritaville. (Although if I had to wait, I would, because it's worth it!) Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Amicis, Owner at Amici's Brick Oven & Italian Bistro, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Heather,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your family's dining experience with us and for returning for dinner. We read our guest's comments to the family/staff with the intent to show them that their desire to please is recognized.

You touched on a secret of ours; we slightly expanded our seating last summer in conjunction with the kitchen staff's operating capacity. In doing so, we found out that our wait times were shorter than ever.

Please introduce yourself and your family on your next visit to warm & sunny Myrtle Beach- we look forward to having y'all join our extended family!

Very sincerely yours,

Blake, Chuy, Chris, Jake, Quinn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici's Brick Oven & Italian Bistro also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Amici's Brick Oven & Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing